Are Bluvall electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Bluvall has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Bluvall has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max11
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph11
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph11
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike12
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on13
How I check Bluvall e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Bluvall's own product page for all 5 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Bluvall's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Bluvall's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20269; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202610. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Bluvall's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Bluvall e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 1500W 48V Long Range All-Terrain eBike
$1,063
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 Pro 1800W 60V 30Ah All-Terrain Electric Bike
$1,299
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 1500W 52V Long Range All-Terrain eBike
$1,119
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall SU8 48V 1000W Full Suspension eBike
$799
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 1,500 W peak, rated power not stated6; the limit is 750 W11

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall B1 2000W Dual Motor Electric Bike
$1,298
✗Not legal as listedListed at 35 mph7; the limit is 28 mph11
Specs
| Price | $1,298 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 35 mph7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Bluvall's product page7. “Not stated” means Bluvall doesn't publish it.
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets14
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph14
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery15
- Rider age: 16 or over14
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 314
How I check Bluvall e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Bluvall's own product page for all 5 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Bluvall's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Bluvall's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20269; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202610. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Bluvall's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Bluvall e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 1500W 48V Long Range All-Terrain eBike
$1,063
✗Not legal as listedListed at 35 mph3; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph14

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 Pro 1800W 60V 30Ah All-Terrain Electric Bike
$1,299
✗Not legal as listedListed at 40 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph14

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 1500W 52V Long Range All-Terrain eBike
$1,119
✗Not legal as listedListed at 35 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph14

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall SU8 48V 1000W Full Suspension eBike
$799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall B1 2000W Dual Motor Electric Bike
$1,298
✗Not legal as listedListed at 35 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph14
Specs
| Price | $1,298 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 35 mph7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Bluvall's product page7. “Not stated” means Bluvall doesn't publish it.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W16
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph16
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed17
- Helmet: Under 16s18
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage17
How I check Bluvall e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Bluvall's own product page for all 5 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Bluvall's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Bluvall's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20269; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202610. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Bluvall's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Bluvall e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 1500W 48V Long Range All-Terrain eBike
$1,063
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 Pro 1800W 60V 30Ah All-Terrain Electric Bike
$1,299
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall R700 1500W 52V Long Range All-Terrain eBike
$1,119
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall SU8 48V 1000W Full Suspension eBike
$799
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 1,500 W peak, rated power not stated6; the limit is 750 W16

Photo: Bluvall
Bluvall B1 2000W Dual Motor Electric Bike
$1,298
✗Not legal as listedListed at 35 mph7; the limit is 28 mph16
Specs
| Price | $1,298 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 35 mph7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Bluvall's product page7. “Not stated” means Bluvall doesn't publish it.
Bluvall has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Bluvall electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Bluvall e-bike batteries caught fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Bluvall.
- Bluvall Folding electric bike (model Z01), as imported into the UK: UK OPSS product safety report 2510-0219, 10 Nov 2025, recorded as “serious risk of fire”. OPSS found no evidence of sufficient battery protection or of UK conformity assessment, a speed above the legal maximum and a plug that didn't meet BS 1363; the import was rejected at the border and destroyed8.
Are Bluvall batteries certified?
What Bluvall's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 5 of 5; UL 2271 (the battery) on 5 of 5.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate19.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to12.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark20.
Questions people ask about Bluvall
Are Bluvall e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 5 of the 5 models on Bluvall's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 51. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Bluvall had a recall or a safety report?
In the UK, OPSS product safety report 2510-0219 (10 November 2025) recorded “serious risk of fire”: oPSS found no evidence of sufficient battery protection or of UK conformity assessment, a speed above the legal maximum and a plug that didn't meet BS 1363; the import was rejected at the border and destroyed8.
Do Bluvall e-bikes catch fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Bluvall.
Are Bluvall e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 5 of 5; UL 2271 (the battery) on 5 of 5. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Bluvall) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Bluvall's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Bluvall publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 5 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 1 of 5 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 5 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✓ UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 5 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7 |
✓ UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 5 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7 |
✓ UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 5 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✓ Claimed on 5 of 5 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7 |
✓ Claimed on 5 of 5 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7 |
✓ Claimed on 5 of 5 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2610 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2610 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2610 |
| Total | 4 of 6 | 4.5 of 6 | 4 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Bluvall data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Bluvall, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Bluvall US, R700 1500W 48V Long Range All-Terrain eBike product page
- Bluvall US, R700 Pro 1800W 60V 30Ah All-Terrain Electric Bike product page
- Bluvall US, R700 1500W 52V Long Range All-Terrain eBike product page
- Bluvall US, SU8 48V 1000W Full Suspension eBike product page
- Bluvall US, B1 2000W Dual Motor Electric Bike product page
- OPSS, Product Safety Report: Bluvall Folding Electric Bike (2510-0219)
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "bluvall"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "bluvall"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW