Which e-bikes are legal in Europe?
Legal e-bike checker · EU
In the EU an e-bike counts as a bicycle, with no type approval, if it is pedal-assisted, its motor has a maximum continuous rated power of 250 W or less, and the motor cuts out when you stop pedalling and before 25 km/h1. Anything faster or more powerful is a powered cycle or moped in EU law and needs type approval1.
Which e-bike brands are legal in the EU?
Brompton
8 of 9 EU models legal as listed; 1 can't confirm.

Engwe
19 of 25 EU models legal as listed; 6 can't confirm.

Eskute
3 of 6 EU models legal as listed; 3 can't confirm.
Fiido
16 of 18 EU models legal as listed; 2 can't confirm.
Himiway
1 of 8 EU models legal as listed; 7 can't confirm.

Mokwheel
6 of 8 EU models legal as listed; 2 can't confirm.

PVY
3 of 8 EU models legal as listed; 4 can't confirm; 1 not legal as listed. F20 (trike) (EU) and A20 (EU): the brand's page says the speed “can be unlocked”7, 8. Unlocked, a bike is outside the law.

Samebike
9 of 12 EU models legal as listed; 3 not legal as listed.

Super73
7 of 9 EU models legal as listed; 2 can't confirm.

Tenways
10 of 11 EU models legal as listed; 1 can't confirm.

VanMoof
1 of 3 EU models legal as listed; 2 can't confirm.

Macfox
0 of 3 EU models legal as listed; 3 can't confirm. For example, X7L (EU): Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated9. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2.
Which e-bikes are illegal in the EU?
- Continuous rated power above 250 W1
- Motor help above 25 km/h, or that carries on when you stop pedalling1
- A throttle that moves the bike beyond a start-up or push assist1, 2
Those are powered cycles (L1e-A) or mopeds (L1e-B) in EU law, which need type approval before they can be sold for the road1.
What's changed, and what's coming
Which e-bikes catch fire?
EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate6.
None of the brands on this page has a fire-related regulator record here.
Questions people ask
Which e-bikes are legal in Europe?
Pedal-assisted e-bikes with a motor of 250 W or less continuous rated power that stops helping at 25 km/h and when you stop pedalling1. Countries add their own rules on age, helmets and where you can ride.
Is a 500 W e-bike legal in the EU?
Not as an ordinary e-bike. Above 250 W continuous it is a powered cycle or moped in EU law and needs type approval1.
Are throttles legal on e-bikes in Europe?
Only as a start-up or push assist: the motor has to cut out when you stop pedalling1. Germany allows that assist up to 6 km/h2.
Are e-bikes legal in Germany?
Yes: a pedelec of up to 0.25 kW that cuts out at 25 km/h, or when you stop pedalling, is legally a bicycle in Germany2.
What changes for e-bike batteries in 2027?
From 18 February 2027 batteries and their cells must be replaceable by an independent professional, and spares must stay on sale for five years after the last bike3.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026: not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
E-bike law in the EU, in full
| Motor power | Maximum continuous rated power of 250 W or less1 |
|---|---|
| Motor cut-off | Output progressively reduced and cut off before 25 km/h1 |
| Pedalling | The motor must cut out when the rider stops pedalling1 |
| Start-up assist | Germany, for example, allows a push or start-up assist up to 6 km/h without pedalling2 |
| Outside those limits | An L1e-A powered cycle (motor cuts out at 25 km/h, up to 1,000 W) or an L1e-B moped, both needing EU type approval1 |
| In Germany | An e-bike within these limits is legally a bicycle, and the bicycle rules apply2 |
| Batteries | From 18 Feb 2027, e-bike batteries and their cells must be replaceable by an independent professional, spare batteries must stay available for five years after the last bike is sold, and software must not block a compatible replacement3 |
Certifications
| Standard | Status | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| EN 15194 (EPAC) | Recognised | The European safety standard for e-bikes, harmonised under the Machinery Directive5. The usual way a maker shows its e-bike meets EU safety law. |
| CE marking | Required to sell | Batteries sold in the EU must carry the CE marking3. |
| EN 50604-1 (battery) | Recognised | The European standard for light electric vehicle lithium batteries. Not named in the e-bike rules. |
ADO: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Air Carbon Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Air 20 Ultra (2026) (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Air 20 Pro (2026) (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Air 20S (2026) (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Air 28 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated (Two versions listed: 250 W, 25 km/h, no throttle; or 350 W, 30 km/h, with throttle)21. Top assisted speed not stated21. |
| Air 28 Pro & Ultra (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Air 30 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Air One Ultra (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Air One Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
ADO's paperwork for the EU: 2 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 8 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly EN 15194 claimed on 3 of 9 models21, 22, 23 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Ampler: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Curt (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Nova Pro high-step (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Nova high-step (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Nova low-step (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Nova Pro low-step (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Ampler's paperwork for the EU: 2 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 5 of 5 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Aventon: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Current LTD (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Naro ADV (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Current EXP (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Current ADV (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Current REC (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Trava EXP (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Trava ADV (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Aventon's paperwork for the EU: 3 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 7 of 7 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✓ EN 15194 claimed on 7 of 7 models24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Brompton: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Electric G Line with Roller Frame and Handlebar Control (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated31. |
| Electric G Line City+ with Advance Roller Frame and Handlebar Control (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Electric T Line 1-speed (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Electric T Line 4-speed (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Electric T Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Brompton's paperwork for the EU: 1.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 8 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Cowboy: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Cruiser (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Cruiser ST (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Cross (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Cross ST (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Cowboy's paperwork for the EU: 2 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 4 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Engwe: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| E26 3.0 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| O20 Boost (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated32. |
| T14 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Zip (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated33. |
| LE20 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| EP-2 3.0 Boost (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated34. |
| Engine Pro 3.0 Boost (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated35. |
| L20 3.0 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| P275 SE (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| EP-2 Boost (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| L20 3.0 Boost (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| N1 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| N1 Air (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| X26/X24/X20 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor listed at 1,200 W, not labelled rated or peak36; the limit is 250 W1. |
| P275 ST (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| P275 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| E26 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| EP-2 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| P20 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Engine X (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Engine Pro 2.0 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated37. |
| L20 Boost (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| L20 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| M20 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| M1 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Engwe's paperwork for the EU: 3.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 19 of 25 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly EN 15194 claimed on 6 of 25 models38, 32, 33, 34, 35, 39 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ◐ partly Engwe P20: Clause 4.2.15 (EMC) only; "does not allow for CE marking"40 |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on Safety Gate, checked 2026-09-246 |
Eskute: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| C202 Step-Over (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated41. |
| C100 Plus (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| T302 Pro (trike) (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated42. |
| V202 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated43. |
| C202 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| D202 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Eskute's paperwork for the EU: 1.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 3 of 6 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Fiido: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| T3 Max (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| T3 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Nomads Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Nomads (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| C700 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| D3 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| C11 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| X (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Titan (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Air (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| T2 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| C22 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated44. |
| C11 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| C21 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| D21 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| D11 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| M1 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| T1 Pro (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated45. |
Fiido's paperwork for the EU: 2 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 16 of 18 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly EN 15194 claimed on 10 of 18 models46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Freego: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| X1 SE (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| FTW-01 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| F2 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Freego's paperwork for the EU: 2 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 3 of 3 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Heybike: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| EC Compact City (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| EC 1 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Helio U (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Helio F Vintage Edition (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Helio F Artists Limited Edition (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| EC 1-ST (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Heybike's paperwork for the EU: 2 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 6 of 6 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Himiway: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A7 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated56. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| D5 2.0 Series (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| D5 2.0 20" (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated57. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| D5 2.0 ST (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated58. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| D5 2.0 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated (750 W in the title, 250 W in the spec table)59. |
| Escape Pro (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated60. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| C5 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated61. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| A7 Pro (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated62. |
Himiway's paperwork for the EU: 1.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 1 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Mokwheel: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| FLINT (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| FLINT ST (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| FLINT PRO (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| FLINT PRO ST (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Asphalt (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor listed at 250 W peak, rated power not stated63; the limit is 250 W1. |
| Asphalt ST (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor listed at 250 W peak, rated power not stated64; the limit is 250 W1. |
| Granite (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Slate (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Mokwheel's paperwork for the EU: 1.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 6 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
PVY: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Z20 Ultra (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| LIBON (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 32 km/h65; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| F20 (trike) (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. The page says the speed “can be unlocked”7. Unlocked, it is outside the law1. |
| A20 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. The page says the speed “can be unlocked”8. Unlocked, it is outside the law1. |
| Z20 Pro (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated (250 W in the spec list; "500W geared hub motor" elsewhere on the page)66. Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated66. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| Z20 Max (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated67. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| M29 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated (250 W in the spec table; "1000W" in the page copy)68. |
| Z20 Pro Evo (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated69. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
PVY's paperwork for the EU: 1.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 3 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✗ not found PVY LIBON (EU), PVY F20 (trike) (EU), PVY A20 (EU), PVY M29 (EU), PVY Z20 Pro Evo (EU): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode65, 7, 8, 68, 69 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✓ EN 15194 claimed on 8 of 8 models70, 65, 7, 8, 66, 67, 68, 69 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Samebike: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| M20-III (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 2,000 W71; the limit is 250 W1. |
| EBE2 Commuting Mountain (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| CY20 Pro Portable Commuter (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| CY20 250W Portable Folding (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| XD26-II Urban Commuting (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| SY26-II Mountain (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| M20 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 1,000 W72; the limit is 250 W1. |
| C05 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| RS-A07 250W Step-through City (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| RS-A01 Pro Commuter (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| LO26-II-YD (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 500 W73; the limit is 250 W1. |
| 20LVXD30-II 250W Folding (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Samebike's paperwork for the EU: 0.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 9 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✗ not found Samebike M20-III (EU): page advertises unlocking or a faster mode71 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Super73: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Z Miami SE (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Z Miami Core (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| ZX SE (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| ZX Core (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Z Adventure Series SE (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Z Adventure Series Core (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| S2 SE (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| R Adventure Series SE (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Top assisted speed not stated74. |
| R Adventure Series Core (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated75. Top assisted speed not stated75. |
Super73's paperwork for the EU: 1.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 7 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Tenways: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| AGO Performance (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor listed at 600 W peak, rated power not stated76; the limit is 250 W1. |
| AGO Air (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| CGO009 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| AGO X (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| CGO Compact (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| CGO600 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Longtail (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| CGO600 Pro (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| CGO800S (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| Cargo One (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| AGO T (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
Tenways's paperwork for the EU: 1.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 10 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
VanMoof: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| S6 (EU) | ✓Legal as listed | Inside the limits. |
| S5 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated77. |
| A5 (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Motor power not stated78. |
VanMoof's paperwork for the EU: 1.5 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 1 of 3 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Macfox: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| X7L (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated9. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| X1S x Bs.zay (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated79. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
| X1S Commuter (EU) | ?Can't confirm | Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated80. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2. |
Macfox's paperwork for the EU: 1 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 3 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
Lankeleisi: every model, checked for the EU
| Model | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| DUKAWEY Silvertip8 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 52 km/h in “unlocked”10; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| DUKAWEY DM530 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 52 km/h in “unlocked”81; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| KETT-8 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 48 km/h in “unlocked”82; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| DUKAWEY BST-6 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 2,000 W83; the limit is 250 W1. Listed at 42 km/h in “unlocked”83; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| RX600PRO (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 40 km/h in “unlocked”84; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| GOLF-X (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 46 km/h in “unlocked”85; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| Wombat-1 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 46 km/h in “unlocked”86; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| MG800MAX (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 2,000 W87; the limit is 250 W1. Listed at 48 km/h in “unlocked”87; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| X2000MAX (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 2,000 W88; the limit is 250 W1. Listed at 48 km/h in “unlocked”88; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| GT800 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 500 W89; the limit is 250 W1. Listed at 40 km/h in “unlocked”89; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| XT750 Sports (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 35 km/h in “unlocked”90; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| ES500PRO (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 35 km/h in “unlocked”91; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| X-Black Knight (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 2,000 W92; the limit is 250 W1. Listed at 48 km/h in “unlocked”92; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| G660 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 35 km/h in “unlocked”93; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| G650 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 35 km/h in “unlocked”94; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| MX600PRO (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 40 km/h in “unlocked”95; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| X3000MAX (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 2,000 W96; the limit is 250 W1. Listed at 48 km/h in “unlocked”96; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| RV800PLUS (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 52 km/h in “unlocked”97; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| MG740PLUS (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Motor listed at 2,000 W98; the limit is 250 W1. Listed at 51 km/h in “unlocked”98; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| XC4000 (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 45 km/h in “unlocked”99; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| X3000PLUS-UP (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 45 km/h in “unlocked”100; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
| XT750PLUS (EU) | ✗Not legal as listed | Listed at 45 km/h in “unlocked”101; the limit is 25 km/h1. |
Lankeleisi's paperwork for the EU: 0 of 6
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what the brand publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 22 models listed inside the limits |
|---|---|
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✗ not found Lankeleisi DUKAWEY Silvertip8 (EU), Lankeleisi DUKAWEY DM530 (EU), Lankeleisi KETT-8 (EU), Lankeleisi DUKAWEY BST-6 (EU), Lankeleisi RX600PRO (EU), Lankeleisi GOLF-X (EU), Lankeleisi Wombat-1 (EU), Lankeleisi MG800MAX (EU), Lankeleisi X2000MAX (EU), Lankeleisi GT800 (EU), Lankeleisi XT750 Sports (EU), Lankeleisi ES500PRO (EU), Lankeleisi X-Black Knight (EU), Lankeleisi G660 (EU), Lankeleisi G650 (EU), Lankeleisi MX600PRO (EU), Lankeleisi X3000MAX (EU), Lankeleisi RV800PLUS (EU), Lankeleisi MG740PLUS (EU), Lankeleisi XC4000 (EU), Lankeleisi X3000PLUS-UP (EU), Lankeleisi XT750PLUS (EU): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode10, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from EU law (Regulation 168/2013 and the Batteries Regulation) and, where shown, national law, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026, and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1230 on machinery: applies, and repeals Directive 2006/42/EC, from 14 January 2027 (EUR-Lex)
- Estonian Centre for Standardisation, EVS-EN 15194:2017+A1:2023 (harmonised under Directive 2006/42/EC)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- PVY EU, F20 (trike) product page
- PVY EU, A20 product page
- Macfox EU, X7L product page
- Lankeleisi UK, DUKAWEY Silvertip8 product page
- Addmotor, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Euybike, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Jasion, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Jetson, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Lectric, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Priority, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Rad Power Bikes, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Ribble, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Ride1Up, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- Velotric, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- ADO US, Air 28 product page
- ADO US, Air 28 Pro & Ultra product page
- ADO US, Air 30 product page
- Aventon EU, Current LTD product page
- Aventon EU, Naro ADV product page
- Aventon Germany, Current EXP product page (“Motorleistung: 250 W (Peak bis 750 W und bis zu 850 W im Boost Modus)”)
- Aventon Germany, Current ADV product page (“Motorleistung: 250 W (Peak bis 750 W und bis zu 850 W im Boost Modus)”)
- Aventon EU, Current REC product page
- Aventon EU, Trava EXP product page
- Aventon EU, Trava ADV product page
- Brompton EU, Electric G Line with Roller Frame and Handlebar Control product page
- Engwe EU, O20 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, Zip product page
- Engwe EU, EP-2 3.0 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, Engine Pro 3.0 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, X26/X24/X20 product page
- Engwe EU, Engine Pro 2.0 product page
- Engwe EU, E26 3.0 Pro product page
- Engwe EU, L20 3.0 Boost product page
- TÜV SÜD Product Service, Attestation of Conformity No. E8A 122594 0007, Engwe P20, 13 Nov 2024 (copy hosted by les-velos-electriques.com)
- Eskute EU, C202 Step-Over product page
- Eskute EU, T302 Pro (trike) product page
- Eskute EU, V202 product page
- Fiido EU, C22 product page
- Fiido EU, T1 Pro product page
- Fiido EU, Nomads Pro product page
- Fiido EU, Nomads product page
- Fiido EU, C700 product page
- Fiido EU, C11 Pro product page
- Fiido EU, X product page
- Fiido EU, Titan product page
- Fiido EU, Air product page
- Fiido EU, C21 product page
- Fiido EU, D11 product page
- Fiido EU, M1 Pro product page
- Himiway EU, A7 product page
- Himiway EU, D5 2.0 20" product page
- Himiway EU, D5 2.0 ST product page
- Himiway EU, D5 2.0 product page
- Himiway EU, Escape Pro product page
- Himiway EU, C5 product page
- Himiway EU, A7 Pro product page
- Mokwheel EU, Asphalt product page
- Mokwheel EU, Asphalt ST product page
- PVY EU, LIBON product page
- PVY EU, Z20 Pro product page
- PVY EU, Z20 Max product page
- PVY EU, M29 product page
- PVY EU, Z20 Pro Evo product page
- PVY EU, Z20 Ultra product page
- Samebike EU, M20-III product page
- Samebike EU, M20 product page
- Samebike EU, LO26-II-YD product page
- Super73 EU, R Adventure Series SE product page
- Super73 EU, R Adventure Series Core product page
- Tenways EU, AGO Performance product page
- VanMoof EU, S5 product page
- VanMoof EU, A5 product page
- Macfox EU, X1S x Bs.zay product page
- Macfox EU, X1S Commuter product page
- Lankeleisi UK, DUKAWEY DM530 product page
- Lankeleisi UK, KETT-8 product page
- Lankeleisi UK, DUKAWEY BST-6 product page
- Lankeleisi UK, RX600PRO product page
- Lankeleisi UK, GOLF-X product page
- Lankeleisi UK, Wombat-1 product page
- Lankeleisi EU, MG800MAX product page
- Lankeleisi UK, X2000MAX product page
- Lankeleisi UK, GT800 product page
- Lankeleisi UK, XT750 Sports product page
- Lankeleisi UK, ES500PRO product page
- Lankeleisi UK, X-Black Knight product page
- Lankeleisi EU, G660 product page
- Lankeleisi UK, G650 product page
- Lankeleisi UK, MX600PRO product page
- Lankeleisi UK, X3000MAX product page
- Lankeleisi UK, RV800PLUS product page
- Lankeleisi UK, MG740PLUS product page
- Lankeleisi UK, XC4000 product page
- Lankeleisi UK, X3000PLUS-UP product page
- Lankeleisi UK, XT750PLUS product page








