Are Freego electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Freego has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power20
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling20
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)21
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval20
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer22
How I check Freego e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freego's own product page for all 3 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freego's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freego's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202618; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202619. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freego's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freego e-bikes sold in the EU

Photo: Freego
Freego X1 SE
€999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W15 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h15 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page15. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego FTW-01
€999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W16 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h16 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page16. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego F2 Pro
€1,899
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page17. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max24
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph24
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph24
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike23
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on25
How I check Freego e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freego's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freego's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freego's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202618; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202619. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freego's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freego e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freego
Freego Maxx M3
$999
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found5; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here23
Specs
| Price | $999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 600 W rated, 750 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (pedal assist; “The throttle is limited to 20 mph”)5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph5 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page5. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego X1 SE
$1,549
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found6; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here23
Specs
| Price | $1,549 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W6 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“Class 3: Pedal assist up to 28 MPH”)6 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph6 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page6. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego City Flow A1
$1,999
?Can't confirmAssists to 28 mph but doesn't say whether it has a throttle or how fast it goes7; throttles must stop at 20 mph24
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page7. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego E7
$1,399
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found8; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here23
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W rated, 500 W peak8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page8. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego eFlex Lite B-20B
$799
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated9
Specs
| Price | $799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page9. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego eFlex Lite B-20A
$799
?Can't confirmRated 500 W but listed at 800 W peak10; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak24
Specs
| Price | $799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 800 W peak10 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page10. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Shotgun Lite F0
$1,299
✗Not legal as listedThe brand's page says it can go faster when unlocked or in another mode12; a bike intended to be modifiable past the limits can't be sold as an e-bike here24
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH, “Adjustable to 28 MPH”)12 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph12 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law11) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page12. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Flash F3 Pro Max
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,500 W13; the limit is 750 W24
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W × 2 rear hub (1,000 W × 2 peak)13 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph13; 35 mph in “Off-Road Mode”13 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page13. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro
$1,699
✗Not legal as listedThe brand's page says it can go faster when unlocked or in another mode14; a bike intended to be modifiable past the limits can't be sold as an e-bike here24
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,400 W peak14 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH, “Adjustable to 28 MPH”)14 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph14 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law11) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page14. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets27
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph27
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery26
- Rider age: 16 or over27
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 327
How I check Freego e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freego's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freego's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freego's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202618; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202619. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freego's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freego e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freego
Freego Maxx M3
$999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
Specs
| Price | $999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 600 W rated, 750 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (pedal assist; “The throttle is limited to 20 mph”)5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph5 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page5. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego X1 SE
$1,549
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
Specs
| Price | $1,549 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W6 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“Class 3: Pedal assist up to 28 MPH”)6 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph6 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page6. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego City Flow A1
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page7. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego E7
$1,399
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here26
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W rated, 500 W peak8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page8. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego eFlex Lite B-20B
$799
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated9
Specs
| Price | $799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page9. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego eFlex Lite B-20A
$799
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated10
Specs
| Price | $799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 800 W peak10 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page10. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Shotgun Lite F0
$1,299
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”12. Unlocked, it is outside the law27.
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH, “Adjustable to 28 MPH”)12 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph12 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law11) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page12. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Flash F3 Pro Max
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 35 mph in ““Off-Road Mode””13; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”13. Unlocked, it is outside the law27.
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W × 2 rear hub (1,000 W × 2 peak)13 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph13; 35 mph in “Off-Road Mode”13 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page13. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro
$1,699
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”14. Unlocked, it is outside the law27.
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,400 W peak14 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH, “Adjustable to 28 MPH”)14 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph14 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law11) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page14. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W28
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph28
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed29
- Helmet: Under 16s30
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage29
How I check Freego e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freego's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freego's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freego's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202618; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202619. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freego's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freego e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freego
Freego Maxx M3
$999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 600 W rated, 750 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (pedal assist; “The throttle is limited to 20 mph”)5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph5 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page5. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego X1 SE
$1,549
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W6; the law says less than 750 W28
Specs
| Price | $1,549 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W6 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“Class 3: Pedal assist up to 28 MPH”)6 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph6 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page6. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego City Flow A1
$1,999
?Can't confirmAssists to 28 mph but doesn't say whether it has a throttle or how fast it goes7; throttles must stop at 20 mph28
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page7. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego E7
$1,399
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W rated, 500 W peak8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page8. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego eFlex Lite B-20B
$799
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated9
Specs
| Price | $799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page9. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego eFlex Lite B-20A
$799
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated10
Specs
| Price | $799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 800 W peak10 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page10. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Shotgun Lite F0
$1,299
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W12; the law says less than 750 W28 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”12. Unlocked, it is outside the law28.
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH, “Adjustable to 28 MPH”)12 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph12 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law11) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page12. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Flash F3 Pro Max
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,500 W13; the limit is less than 750 W28 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”13. Unlocked, it is outside the law28.
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W × 2 rear hub (1,000 W × 2 peak)13 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph13; 35 mph in “Off-Road Mode”13 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page13. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro
$1,699
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W14; the law says less than 750 W28 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”14. Unlocked, it is outside the law28.
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,400 W peak14 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH, “Adjustable to 28 MPH”)14 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph14 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law11) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's product page14. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Freego electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Freego e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Freego, as of the last check.18, 19
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Freego batteries certified?
What Freego's own product pages claim, model by model:
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 9; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 9.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate31.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to23.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark32.
Questions people ask about Freego
Are Freego e-bikes UL certified?
None of Freego's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Freego had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked18, 19.
Do Freego e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Freego, as of the last check.18, 19
Are Freego e-bike batteries certified?
EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 9; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 9. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Freego) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Freego's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Freego publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 3 of 3 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✗ not found Freego Shotgun Lite F0 (US), Freego Flash F3 Pro Max (US), Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode12, 13, 14 |
✗ not found Freego Shotgun Lite F0 (US), Freego Flash F3 Pro Max (US), Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode12, 13, 14 |
✗ not found Freego Shotgun Lite F0 (US), Freego Flash F3 Pro Max (US), Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode12, 13, 14 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
| Total | 2 of 6 | 1 of 6 | 1 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Freego data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Freego, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Freego US store, e-bikes
- Freego EU store, e-bikes
- Freego US, Maxx M3 product page
- Freego US, X1 SE product page
- Freego US, City Flow A1 product page
- Freego US, E7 product page
- Freego US, eFlex Lite B-20B product page
- Freego US, eFlex Lite B-20A product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Freego US, Shotgun Lite F0 product page
- Freego US, Flash F3 Pro Max product page
- Freego US, Shotgun Prime F2 Pro product page
- Freego EU, X1 SE product page
- Freego EU, FTW-01 product page
- Freego EU, F2 Pro product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "freego"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "freego"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW