Are Macfox electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Macfox has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power16
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling16
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)15
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval16
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer17
How I check Macfox e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Macfox's own product page for all 3 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Macfox's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Macfox's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202613; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202614. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Macfox's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Macfox e-bikes sold in the EU

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X7L
€1,899
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated10. The throttle limit is 6 km/h15
Specs
| Price | €1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W rated, 750 W peak10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h10 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated10 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Macfox's product page10. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X1S x Bs.zay
€1,499
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated11. The throttle limit is 6 km/h15
Specs
| Price | €1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W rated, 750 W peak11 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h11 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated11 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Macfox's product page11. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X1S Commuter
€1,499
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated12. The throttle limit is 6 km/h15
Specs
| Price | €1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W rated, 750 W peak12 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h12 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated12 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Macfox's product page12. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max18
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph18
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph18
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike19
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on20
How I check Macfox e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Macfox's own product page for all 4 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Macfox's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Macfox's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202613; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202614. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Macfox's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Macfox e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Macfox
Macfox M16
$1,099
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak6 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph (Class 2)6 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph6 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law5) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated (UL 2849 “in the single-battery configuration”)6 |
From Macfox's product page6. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X7
$1,599
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.
Specs
| Price | $1,599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph (Class 2)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph7 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law5) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated (UL 2849 “in the single-battery configuration”)7 |
From Macfox's product page7. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X1S x Bs.zay
$1,399
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found8; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here19
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets21
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph21
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery22
- Rider age: 16 or over21
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 321
How I check Macfox e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Macfox's own product page for all 4 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Macfox's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Macfox's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202613; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202614. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Macfox's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Macfox e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Macfox
Macfox M16
$1,099
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak6 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph (Class 2)6 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph6 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law5) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated (UL 2849 “in the single-battery configuration”)6 |
From Macfox's product page6. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X7
$1,599
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.
Specs
| Price | $1,599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph (Class 2)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph7 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law5) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated (UL 2849 “in the single-battery configuration”)7 |
From Macfox's product page7. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X1S x Bs.zay
$1,399
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W23
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph23
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed24
- Helmet: Under 16s25
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage24
How I check Macfox e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Macfox's own product page for all 4 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Macfox's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Macfox's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202613; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202614. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Macfox's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Macfox e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Macfox
Macfox M16
$1,099
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak6 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph (Class 2)6 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph6 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law5) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated (UL 2849 “in the single-battery configuration”)6 |
From Macfox's product page6. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X7
$1,599
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $1,599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph (Class 2)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph7 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law5) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated (UL 2849 “in the single-battery configuration”)7 |
From Macfox's product page7. “Not stated” means Macfox doesn't publish it.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X1S x Bs.zay
$1,399
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Macfox
Macfox X1S Commuter
$1,399
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Macfox has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Macfox electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Macfox e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Macfox, as of the last check.13, 14
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Macfox batteries certified?
What Macfox's own product pages claim, model by model:
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 2 of 4; UL 2271 (the battery) on 2 of 4.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate26.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to19.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark27.
Questions people ask about Macfox
Are Macfox e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 2 of the 4 models on Macfox's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 23. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Macfox had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked13, 14.
Do Macfox e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Macfox, as of the last check.13, 14
Are Macfox e-bike batteries certified?
EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 2 of 4; UL 2271 (the battery) on 2 of 4. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Macfox) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Macfox's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Macfox publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 3 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
✓ 4 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 2 of 4 models6, 7 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 2 of 4 models6, 7 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 2 of 4 models6, 7 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
◐ partly Claimed on 2 of 4 models6, 7 |
◐ partly Claimed on 2 of 4 models6, 7 |
◐ partly Claimed on 2 of 4 models6, 7 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2514 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2514 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2514 |
| Total | 1 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 | 4 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Macfox data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Macfox, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Macfox US store, e-bikes
- Macfox EU store, e-bikes
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Macfox US, M16 product page
- Macfox US, X7 product page
- Macfox US, X1S x Bs.zay product page
- Macfox US, X1S Commuter product page
- Macfox EU, X7L product page
- Macfox EU, X1S x Bs.zay product page
- Macfox EU, X1S Commuter product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "macfox"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "macfox"
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW