Are Lectric electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Lectric has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Lectric has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max23
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph23
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph23
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike24
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on25
How I check Lectric e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Lectric's own product page for all 15 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Lectric's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Lectric's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202621; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202622. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Lectric's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Lectric e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress Lite
$1,099
?Can't confirmRated 500 W but listed at 864 W peak4; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 864 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page4. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress2 Cruiser
$1,399
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak5; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress2 Commuter
$1,399
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak6; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 750
$1,299
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak7; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 750 Step-Thru
$1,299
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak8; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4
$999
?Can't confirmRated 500 W but listed at 1,092 W peak9; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 Step-Thru
$999
?Can't confirmRated 500 W but listed at 1,092 W peak10; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 High-Step
$1,499
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak11; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru
$1,499
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak12; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range
$1,699
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak13; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range
$1,699
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak14; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPedition2
$1,399
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak16; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,310 W peak16 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (listed as “Class 1, 2, or 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law15)16 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated16 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page16. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPedition2 Dual-Battery
$1,799
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak17; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,310 W peak17 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (listed as “Class 1, 2, or 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law15)17 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated17 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page17. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP Lite2
$799
?Can't confirmRated 300 W but listed at 819 W peak18; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets26
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph26
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery27
- Rider age: 16 or over26
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 326
How I check Lectric e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Lectric's own product page for all 15 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Lectric's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Lectric's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202621; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202622. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Lectric's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Lectric e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress Lite
$1,099
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 864 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page4. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress2 Cruiser
$1,399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress2 Commuter
$1,399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 750
$1,299
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 750 Step-Thru
$1,299
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph8; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4
$999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 Step-Thru
$999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph10; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 High-Step
$1,499
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph11; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru
$1,499
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range
$1,699
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph13; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range
$1,699
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPedition2
$1,399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph16; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,310 W peak16 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (listed as “Class 1, 2, or 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law15)16 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated16 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page16. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPedition2 Dual-Battery
$1,799
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph17; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,310 W peak17 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (listed as “Class 1, 2, or 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law15)17 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated17 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page17. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP Lite2
$799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range
$999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W28
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph28
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed29
- Helmet: Under 16s30
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage29
How I check Lectric e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Lectric's own product page for all 15 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Lectric's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Lectric's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202621; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202622. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Lectric's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Lectric e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress Lite
$1,099
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated4. The throttle limit is 20 mph28
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 864 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page4. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress2 Cruiser
$1,399
?Can't confirm
Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress2 Commuter
$1,399
?Can't confirm
Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 750
$1,299
?Can't confirm
Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 750 Step-Thru
$1,299
?Can't confirm
Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4
$999
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated9. The throttle limit is 20 mph28

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 Step-Thru
$999
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated10. The throttle limit is 20 mph28

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 High-Step
$1,499
?Can't confirm
Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru
$1,499
?Can't confirm
Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range
$1,699
?Can't confirm
Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range
$1,699
?Can't confirm
Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPedition2
$1,399
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W16; the law says less than 750 W28
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,310 W peak16 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (listed as “Class 1, 2, or 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law15)16 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated16 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page16. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPedition2 Dual-Battery
$1,799
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W17; the law says less than 750 W28
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,310 W peak17 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (listed as “Class 1, 2, or 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law15)17 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated17 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's product page17. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP Lite2
$799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range
$999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Lectric has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Lectric electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Lectric e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Lectric, as of the last check.21, 22
Lectric has 1 other regulator record, none about fire:
- Lectric XP 3.0 and XP Step-Thru 3.0 (previous generation): US CPSC recall alert, 7 Sept 2023, recorded as “crash and injury hazards”. The mechanical disc brake calipers could fail. About 45,000 bikes were covered; Lectric had four reports of lost braking, including two injuries20.
Are Lectric batteries certified?
What Lectric's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 12 of 15; UL 2271 (the battery) on 12 of 15.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate31.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to24.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark32.
Questions people ask about Lectric
Are Lectric e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 12 of the 15 models on Lectric's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 123. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Lectric had a recall or a safety report?
In the US, CPSC recall alert (7 September 2023) recorded “crash and injury hazards”: the mechanical disc brake calipers could fail20. About 45,000 bikes were covered; Lectric had four reports of lost braking, including two injuries20.
Do Lectric e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Lectric, as of the last check.21, 22
Are Lectric e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 12 of 15; UL 2271 (the battery) on 12 of 15. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Lectric) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Lectric's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Lectric publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
◐ partly Claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
◐ partly Claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2522 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2522 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2522 |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Lectric data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Lectric, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Lectric US store, e-bikes
- Lectric US, XPress Lite product page
- Lectric US, XPress2 Cruiser product page
- Lectric US, XPress2 Commuter product page
- Lectric US, XP4 750 product page
- Lectric US, XP4 750 Step-Thru product page
- Lectric US, XP4 product page
- Lectric US, XP4 Step-Thru product page
- Lectric US, XPeak2 High-Step product page
- Lectric US, XPeak2 Step-Thru product page
- Lectric US, XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range product page
- Lectric US, XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Lectric US, XPedition2 product page
- Lectric US, XPedition2 Dual-Battery product page
- Lectric US, XP Lite2 product page
- Lectric US, XP Lite2 Long-Range product page
- CPSC, Lectric Ebikes Recalls Disc Brake Calipers Sold on Lectric E-Bicycles Due to Crash and Injury Hazards (Recall Alert)
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "lectric"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "lectric"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW