Are Ride1Up electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Ride1Up has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Ride1Up has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max21
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph21
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph21
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike22
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on23
How I check Ride1Up e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Ride1Up's own product page for all 15 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Ride1Up's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Ride1Up's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202619; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202620. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Ride1Up's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Ride1Up e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Prodigy v2 ECO
$1,295
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found4; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here22

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Portola 02
$895
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 EVO
$2,395
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 FS
$2,095
✗Not legal as listedThrottle listed to 28 mph7; the throttle limit is 20 mph21
Specs
| Price | $2,095 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Ride1Up's product page7. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 HT
$1,795
✗Not legal as listedThrottle listed to 28 mph8; the throttle limit is 20 mph21
Specs
| Price | $1,795 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)8 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph8 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated8 |
From Ride1Up's product page8. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 DRT
$1,995
✗Not legal as listedThrottle listed to 28 mph10; the throttle limit is 20 mph21
Specs
| Price | $1,995 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated10 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)10 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph10 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated10 |
From Ride1Up's product page10. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Vorsa
$1,395
✗Not legal as listedThe brand's page says it can go faster when unlocked or in another mode11; a bike intended to be modifiable past the limits can't be sold as an e-bike here21

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Roadster v3
$1,295
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated12. The throttle limit is 20 mph21

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up LMT’D V2
$1,595
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found13; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here22

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up CF Racer1
$2,195
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found14; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here22

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Turris
$1,395
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found15; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here22

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Cafe Cruiser
$1,395
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found16; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here22
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets24
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph24
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery25
- Rider age: 16 or over24
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 324
How I check Ride1Up e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Ride1Up's own product page for all 15 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Ride1Up's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Ride1Up's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202619; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202620. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Ride1Up's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Ride1Up e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Prodigy v2 ECO
$1,295
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Portola 02
$895
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 EVO
$2,395
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”6. Unlocked, it is outside the law24.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 FS
$2,095
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”7. Unlocked, it is outside the law24.
Specs
| Price | $2,095 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Ride1Up's product page7. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 HT
$1,795
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph8; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”8. Unlocked, it is outside the law24.
Specs
| Price | $1,795 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)8 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph8 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated8 |
From Ride1Up's product page8. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up TrailRush
$1,995
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 DRT
$1,995
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph10; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”10. Unlocked, it is outside the law24.
Specs
| Price | $1,995 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated10 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)10 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph10 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated10 |
From Ride1Up's product page10. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Vorsa
$1,395
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph11; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”11. Unlocked, it is outside the law24.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Roadster v3
$1,295
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up LMT’D V2
$1,595
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph13; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up CF Racer1
$2,195
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Turris
$1,395
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph15; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Cafe Cruiser
$1,395
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph16; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Prodigy XC
$2,195
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph17; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph24
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W26
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph26
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed27
- Helmet: Under 16s28
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage27
How I check Ride1Up e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Ride1Up's own product page for all 15 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Ride1Up's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Ride1Up's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202619; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202620. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Ride1Up's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Ride1Up e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Prodigy v2 ECO
$1,295
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Portola 02
$895
?Can't confirm
Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 EVO
$2,395
✗Not legal as listedThrottle listed to 28 mph6; the throttle limit is 20 mph26 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”6. Unlocked, it is outside the law26.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 FS
$2,095
✗Not legal as listedThrottle listed to 28 mph7; the throttle limit is 20 mph26 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”7. Unlocked, it is outside the law26.
Specs
| Price | $2,095 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Ride1Up's product page7. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 HT
$1,795
✗Not legal as listedThrottle listed to 28 mph8; the throttle limit is 20 mph26 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”8. Unlocked, it is outside the law26.
Specs
| Price | $1,795 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)8 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph8 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated8 |
From Ride1Up's product page8. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Revv1 DRT
$1,995
✗Not legal as listedThrottle listed to 28 mph10; the throttle limit is 20 mph26 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”10. Unlocked, it is outside the law26.
Specs
| Price | $1,995 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 52 V Bafang RM G0F4 geared hub, described as “sustained”; wattage not stated10 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (“28+ MPH* on throttle & pedal assist”)10 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 28 mph10 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated10 |
From Ride1Up's product page10. “Not stated” means Ride1Up doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Vorsa
$1,395
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W11; the law says less than 750 W26 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”11. Unlocked, it is outside the law26.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Roadster v3
$1,295
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated12. The throttle limit is 20 mph26

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up LMT’D V2
$1,595
?Can't confirm
Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up CF Racer1
$2,195
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Turris
$1,395
?Can't confirm
Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up Cafe Cruiser
$1,395
?Can't confirm
Photo: Ride1Up
Ride1Up 700 Series
$1,595
?Can't confirmRide1Up has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Ride1Up electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Ride1Up e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Ride1Up, as of the last check.19, 20
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Ride1Up batteries certified?
What Ride1Up's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 7 of 15; UL 2271 (the battery) on 11 of 15.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate29.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to22.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark30.
Questions people ask about Ride1Up
Are Ride1Up e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 7 of the 15 models on Ride1Up's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 111. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Ride1Up had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked19, 20.
Do Ride1Up e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Ride1Up, as of the last check.19, 20
Are Ride1Up e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 7 of 15; UL 2271 (the battery) on 11 of 15. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Ride1Up) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Ride1Up's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Ride1Up publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 1 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✗ not found Ride1Up Revv1 EVO (US), Ride1Up Revv1 FS (US), Ride1Up Revv1 HT (US), Ride1Up Revv1 DRT (US), Ride1Up Vorsa (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode6, 7, 8, 10, 11 |
✗ not found Ride1Up Revv1 EVO (US), Ride1Up Revv1 FS (US), Ride1Up Revv1 HT (US), Ride1Up Revv1 DRT (US), Ride1Up Vorsa (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode6, 7, 8, 10, 11 |
✗ not found Ride1Up Revv1 EVO (US), Ride1Up Revv1 FS (US), Ride1Up Revv1 HT (US), Ride1Up Revv1 DRT (US), Ride1Up Vorsa (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode6, 7, 8, 10, 11 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 7 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 7 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 7 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 11 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 |
◐ partly Claimed on 11 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 |
◐ partly Claimed on 11 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2520 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2520 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2520 |
| Total | 2.5 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Ride1Up data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Ride1Up, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Ride1Up US, Prodigy v2 ECO product page
- Ride1Up US, Portola 02 product page
- Ride1Up US, Revv1 EVO product page
- Ride1Up US, Revv1 FS product page
- Ride1Up US, Revv1 HT product page
- Ride1Up US, TrailRush product page
- Ride1Up US, Revv1 DRT product page
- Ride1Up US, Vorsa product page
- Ride1Up US, Roadster v3 product page
- Ride1Up US, LMT’D V2 product page
- Ride1Up US, CF Racer1 product page
- Ride1Up US, Turris product page
- Ride1Up US, Cafe Cruiser product page
- Ride1Up US, Prodigy XC product page
- Ride1Up US, 700 Series product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "ride1up"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "ride1up"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW