Are Priority electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Priority has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Priority has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max10
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph10
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph10
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike11
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on12
How I check Priority e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Priority's own product page for all 4 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Priority's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Priority's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 20268; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 20269. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Priority's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Priority e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Priority
Priority Glide
$1,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Priority
Priority Current Plus
$3,299
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found5; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here11
Specs
| Price | $3,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (ships as Class 2 at 20 mph; “can increase to Class 3, 28MPH setting”)5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph5 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Priority's product page5. “Not stated” means Priority doesn't publish it.

Photo: Priority
Priority E-Coast
$1,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Priority
Priority Skyline Smart.Shift
$3,999
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,056 W peak7; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak10
Specs
| Price | $3,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,056 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (ships as Class 2 at 20 mph; “can increase to Class 3, 28MPH setting”)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph7 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Priority's product page7. “Not stated” means Priority doesn't publish it.
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets13
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph13
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery14
- Rider age: 16 or over13
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 313
How I check Priority e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Priority's own product page for all 4 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Priority's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Priority's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 20268; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 20269. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Priority's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Priority e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Priority
Priority Glide
$1,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.

Photo: Priority
Priority Current Plus
$3,299
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph13
Specs
| Price | $3,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (ships as Class 2 at 20 mph; “can increase to Class 3, 28MPH setting”)5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph5 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Priority's product page5. “Not stated” means Priority doesn't publish it.

Photo: Priority
Priority E-Coast
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph13

Photo: Priority
Priority Skyline Smart.Shift
$3,999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph13
Specs
| Price | $3,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,056 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (ships as Class 2 at 20 mph; “can increase to Class 3, 28MPH setting”)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph7 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Priority's product page7. “Not stated” means Priority doesn't publish it.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W15
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph15
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed16
- Helmet: Under 16s17
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage16
How I check Priority e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Priority's own product page for all 4 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Priority's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Priority's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 20268; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 20269. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Priority's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Priority e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Priority
Priority Glide
$1,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Priority
Priority Current Plus
$3,299
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $3,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (ships as Class 2 at 20 mph; “can increase to Class 3, 28MPH setting”)5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph5 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Priority's product page5. “Not stated” means Priority doesn't publish it.

Photo: Priority
Priority E-Coast
$1,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Priority
Priority Skyline Smart.Shift
$3,999
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W7; the law says less than 750 W15
Specs
| Price | $3,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,056 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (ships as Class 2 at 20 mph; “can increase to Class 3, 28MPH setting”)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph7 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Priority's product page7. “Not stated” means Priority doesn't publish it.
Priority has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Priority electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Priority e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Priority, as of the last check.8, 9
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Priority batteries certified?
What Priority's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 3 of 4; UL 2271 (the battery) on 3 of 4.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate18.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to11.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark19.
Questions people ask about Priority
Are Priority e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 3 of the 4 models on Priority's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 31. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Priority had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked8, 9.
Do Priority e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Priority, as of the last check.8, 9
Are Priority e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 3 of 4; UL 2271 (the battery) on 3 of 4. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Priority) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Priority's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Priority publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 2 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 1 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 3 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 3 of 4 models3, 6, 7 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 3 of 4 models3, 6, 7 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 3 of 4 models3, 6, 7 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 3 of 4 models3, 6, 7 |
◐ partly Claimed on 3 of 4 models3, 6, 7 |
◐ partly Claimed on 3 of 4 models3, 6, 7 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-259 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-259 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-259 |
| Total | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Priority data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Priority, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Priority US, Glide product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Priority US, Current Plus product page
- Priority US, E-Coast product page
- Priority US, Skyline Smart.Shift product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "priority"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "priority"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW