Are Mokwheel electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Mokwheel has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power33
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling33
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)34
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval33
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer35
How I check Mokwheel e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Mokwheel's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Mokwheel's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Mokwheel's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202631; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202632. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Mokwheel's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Mokwheel e-bikes sold in the EU

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT
€1,499.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,499.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W23 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h23 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page23. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT ST
€1,499.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,499.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W24 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h24 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page24. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT PRO
€1,699.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,699.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W25 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h25 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page25. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT PRO ST
€1,699.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,699.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W26 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h26 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page26. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Asphalt
€1,399.99
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 250 W peak, rated power not stated27; the limit is 250 W33
Specs
| Price | €1,399.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “Peak Power 250 W”27 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h27 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page27. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Asphalt ST
€1,399.99
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 250 W peak, rated power not stated28; the limit is 250 W33
Specs
| Price | €1,399.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “Peak Power 250 W”28 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h28 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page28. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Granite
€1,999.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,999.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W29 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h29 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page29. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Slate
€1,499.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,499.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W30 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h30 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page30. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max36
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph36
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph36
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike37
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on38
How I check Mokwheel e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Mokwheel's own product page for all 17 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Mokwheel's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Mokwheel's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202631; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202632. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Mokwheel's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Mokwheel e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Scoria 2.0
$1,699.99
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,100 W peak5; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT
$1,199.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT PRO
$1,399.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated8
Specs
| Price | $1,399.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page8. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT PRO ST
$1,399.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT ST
$1,299.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated10
Specs
| Price | $1,299.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page10. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Onyx ST
$3,299.99
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated11
Specs
| Price | $3,299.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page11. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tarmac ST
$1,599.99
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 920 W peak12; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tarmac
$1,599.99
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 920 W peak13; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0
$2,099.99
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak14; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian ST 2.0
$2,099.99
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak15; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian
$1,699.99
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak16; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Basalt 2.0
$1,599.99
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated17
Specs
| Price | $1,599.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page17. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Asphalt ST
$1,499.99
?Can't confirmRated 500 W but listed at 860 W peak18; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Asphalt
$1,399.99
?Can't confirmRated 500 W but listed at 860 W peak19; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Basalt ST 2.0
$1,699.99
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,100 W peak20; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tor Plus
$1,199.99
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,100 W peak21; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets39
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph39
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery40
- Rider age: 16 or over39
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 339
How I check Mokwheel e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Mokwheel's own product page for all 17 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Mokwheel's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Mokwheel's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202631; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202632. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Mokwheel's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Mokwheel e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Scoria 2.0
$1,699.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT
$1,199.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT PRO
$1,399.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated8
Specs
| Price | $1,399.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page8. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT PRO ST
$1,399.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT ST
$1,299.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated10
Specs
| Price | $1,299.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page10. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Onyx ST
$3,299.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated11
Specs
| Price | $3,299.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page11. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tarmac ST
$1,599.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tarmac
$1,599.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph13; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0
$2,099.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian ST 2.0
$2,099.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph15; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian
$1,699.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph16; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Basalt 2.0
$1,599.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated17
Specs
| Price | $1,599.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page17. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Asphalt ST
$1,499.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph18; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Asphalt
$1,399.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph19; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Basalt ST 2.0
$1,699.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph20; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tor Plus
$1,199.99
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph21; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Slate
$1,499.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W41
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph41
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed42
- Helmet: Under 16s43
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage42
How I check Mokwheel e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Mokwheel's own product page for all 17 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Mokwheel's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Mokwheel's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202631; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202632. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Mokwheel's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Mokwheel e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Scoria 2.0
$1,699.99
?Can't confirm
Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT
$1,199.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT PRO
$1,399.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated8
Specs
| Price | $1,399.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page8. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT PRO ST
$1,399.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel FLINT ST
$1,299.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated10
Specs
| Price | $1,299.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page10. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Onyx ST
$3,299.99
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated11
Specs
| Price | $3,299.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page11. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tarmac ST
$1,599.99
?Can't confirm
Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tarmac
$1,599.99
?Can't confirm
Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0
$2,099.99
?Can't confirm
Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian ST 2.0
$2,099.99
?Can't confirm
Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Obsidian
$1,699.99
?Can't confirm
Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Basalt 2.0
$1,599.99
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated17
Specs
| Price | $1,599.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Mokwheel's product page17. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Asphalt ST
$1,499.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Asphalt
$1,399.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Basalt ST 2.0
$1,699.99
?Can't confirm
Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Tor Plus
$1,199.99
?Can't confirm
Photo: Mokwheel
Mokwheel Slate
$1,499.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Mokwheel has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Mokwheel electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Mokwheel e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Mokwheel, as of the last check.31, 32
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Mokwheel batteries certified?
What Mokwheel's own product pages claim, model by model:
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 8; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 8.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 13 of 17; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 17.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate44.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to37.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark45.
Questions people ask about Mokwheel
Are Mokwheel e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 13 of the 17 models on Mokwheel's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 03. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Mokwheel had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked31, 32.
Do Mokwheel e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Mokwheel, as of the last check.31, 32
Are Mokwheel e-bike batteries certified?
EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 8; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 8. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 13 of 17; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 17. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Mokwheel) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Mokwheel's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Mokwheel publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 6 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 17 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 3 of 17 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 5 of 17 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 13 of 17 models5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 13 of 17 models5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 13 of 17 models5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2532 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2532 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2532 |
| Total | 1.5 of 6 | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Mokwheel data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Mokwheel, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Mokwheel US store, e-bikes
- Mokwheel EU store, e-bikes
- Mokwheel US, Scoria 2.0 product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Mokwheel US, FLINT product page
- Mokwheel US, FLINT PRO product page
- Mokwheel US, FLINT PRO ST product page
- Mokwheel US, FLINT ST product page
- Mokwheel US, Onyx ST product page
- Mokwheel US, Tarmac ST product page
- Mokwheel US, Tarmac product page
- Mokwheel US, Obsidian 2.0 product page
- Mokwheel US, Obsidian ST 2.0 product page
- Mokwheel US, Obsidian product page
- Mokwheel US, Basalt 2.0 product page
- Mokwheel US, Asphalt ST product page
- Mokwheel US, Asphalt product page
- Mokwheel US, Basalt ST 2.0 product page
- Mokwheel US, Tor Plus product page
- Mokwheel US, Slate product page
- Mokwheel EU, FLINT product page
- Mokwheel EU, FLINT ST product page
- Mokwheel EU, FLINT PRO product page
- Mokwheel EU, FLINT PRO ST product page
- Mokwheel EU, Asphalt product page
- Mokwheel EU, Asphalt ST product page
- Mokwheel EU, Granite product page
- Mokwheel EU, Slate product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "mokwheel"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "mokwheel"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW