Are Samebike electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Samebike has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power18
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling18
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)19
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval18
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer20
How I check Samebike e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Samebike's own product page for all 12 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Samebike's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Samebike's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202616; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202617. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Samebike's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Samebike e-bikes sold in the EU

Photo: Samebike
Samebike M20-III
€1,599
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 2,000 W4; the limit is 250 W18 The page says the speed “can be unlocked”4. Unlocked, it is outside the law18.
Specs
| Price | €1,599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 2000 W4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)4 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page4. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike EBE2 Commuting Mountain
€599
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page5. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike CY20 Pro Portable Commuter
€699
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W6 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)6 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page6. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike CY20 250W Portable Folding
€659
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €659 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W7 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page7. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike XD26-II Urban Commuting
€859
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €859 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)8 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page8. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike SY26-II Mountain
€659
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €659 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)9 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page9. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike M20
€1,299
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W10; the limit is 250 W18
Specs
| Price | €1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)10 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated10 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page10. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike C05 Pro
€859
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €859 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W11 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)11 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page11. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike RS-A07 250W Step-through City
€899
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W12 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)12 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page12. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike RS-A01 Pro Commuter
€699
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W13 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)13 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page13. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike LO26-II-YD
€899
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 500 W14; the limit is 250 W18
Specs
| Price | €899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W14 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)14 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page14. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Samebike
Samebike 20LVXD30-II 250W Folding
€699
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W15 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)15 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Samebike's product page15. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.
Samebike has no US store1. The rules there are on the California page.
Samebike has no US store1. The rules there are on the New York City page.
Samebike has no US store1. The rules there are on the Florida page.
Samebike has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Samebike electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Samebike e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Samebike, as of the last check.16, 17
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Samebike batteries certified?
What Samebike's own product pages claim, model by model:
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 12; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 12.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate21.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to22.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark23.
Questions people ask about Samebike
Has Samebike had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked16, 17.
Do Samebike e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Samebike, as of the last check.16, 17
Are Samebike e-bike batteries certified?
EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 12; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 12. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Samebike) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Samebike's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Samebike publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the EU |
|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 9 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✗ not found Samebike M20-III (EU): page advertises unlocking or a faster mode4 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
| Total | 0.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Samebike data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Samebike, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Samebike EU store, e-bikes
- Samebike EU, M20-III product page
- Samebike EU, EBE2 Commuting Mountain product page
- Samebike EU, CY20 Pro Portable Commuter product page
- Samebike EU, CY20 250W Portable Folding product page
- Samebike EU, XD26-II Urban Commuting product page
- Samebike EU, SY26-II Mountain product page
- Samebike EU, M20 product page
- Samebike EU, C05 Pro product page
- Samebike EU, RS-A07 250W Step-through City product page
- Samebike EU, RS-A01 Pro Commuter product page
- Samebike EU, LO26-II-YD product page
- Samebike EU, 20LVXD30-II 250W Folding product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "samebike"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "samebike"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW