Are Rad Power Bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Rad Power Bikes has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Rad Power Bikes has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max16
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph16
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph16
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike17
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on18
How I check Rad Power Bikes e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Rad Power Bikes's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Rad Power Bikes's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Rad Power Bikes's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202614; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202615. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Rad Power Bikes's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Rad Power Bikes e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail
$2,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 4
$1,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.
US regulator record: CPSC recall, about 29,300 bikes, 3 Nov 2022, recorded as “fall and crash hazards”. A misaligned rim strip could pop the inner tube and damage the tyre, and the ribbed-sidewall tyres could go flat; owners were offered a free repair13.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner
$1,499
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Plus
$1,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Max
$2,299
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 Plus
$1,899
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5
$2,399
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes Radster Road
$1,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 mph as Class 1/2; 25 mph "limited" or 28 mph as Class 3)12 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph12 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated12 |
From Rad Power Bikes's product page12. “Not stated” means Rad Power Bikes doesn't publish it.
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets19
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph19
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery20
- Rider age: 16 or over19
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 319
How I check Rad Power Bikes e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Rad Power Bikes's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Rad Power Bikes's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Rad Power Bikes's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202614; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202615. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Rad Power Bikes's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Rad Power Bikes e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail
$2,000
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph19

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 4
$1,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.
US regulator record: CPSC recall, about 29,300 bikes, 3 Nov 2022, recorded as “fall and crash hazards”. A misaligned rim strip could pop the inner tube and damage the tyre, and the ribbed-sidewall tyres could go flat; owners were offered a free repair13.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner
$1,499
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Plus
$1,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Max
$2,299
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph19

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 Plus
$1,899
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5
$2,399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph11; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph19

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes Radster Road
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph19
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 mph as Class 1/2; 25 mph "limited" or 28 mph as Class 3)12 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph12 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated12 |
From Rad Power Bikes's product page12. “Not stated” means Rad Power Bikes doesn't publish it.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W21
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph21
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed22
- Helmet: Under 16s23
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage22
How I check Rad Power Bikes e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Rad Power Bikes's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Rad Power Bikes's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Rad Power Bikes's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202614; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202615. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Rad Power Bikes's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Rad Power Bikes e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes Radster Trail
$2,000
?Can't confirm
Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 4
$1,799
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W6; the law says less than 750 W21
US regulator record: CPSC recall, about 29,300 bikes, 3 Nov 2022, recorded as “fall and crash hazards”. A misaligned rim strip could pop the inner tube and damage the tyre, and the ribbed-sidewall tyres could go flat; owners were offered a free repair13.

Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner
$1,499
?Can't confirm
Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Plus
$1,799
?Can't confirm
Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadRunner Max
$2,299
?Can't confirm
Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 Plus
$1,899
?Can't confirm
Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 5
$2,399
?Can't confirm
Photo: Rad Power Bikes
Rad Power Bikes Radster Road
$1,999
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W12; the law says less than 750 W21
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 mph as Class 1/2; 25 mph "limited" or 28 mph as Class 3)12 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph12 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated12 |
From Rad Power Bikes's product page12. “Not stated” means Rad Power Bikes doesn't publish it.
Rad Power Bikes has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Rad Power Bikes electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Rad Power Bikes e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Rad Power Bikes, as of the last check.14, 15
Rad Power Bikes has 1 other regulator record, none about fire:
- Rad Power Bikes RadWagon 4: US CPSC recall, about 29,300 bikes, 3 Nov 2022, recorded as “fall and crash hazards”. A misaligned rim strip could pop the inner tube and damage the tyre, and the ribbed-sidewall tyres could go flat; owners were offered a free repair13.
Are Rad Power Bikes batteries certified?
What Rad Power Bikes's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 8; UL 2271 (the battery) on 7 of 8.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate24.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to17.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark25.
Questions people ask about Rad Power Bikes
Are Rad Power Bikes e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 8 of the 8 models on Rad Power Bikes's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 73. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Rad Power Bikes had a recall or a safety report?
In the US, CPSC recall, about 29,300 bikes (3 November 2022) recorded “fall and crash hazards”: a misaligned rim strip could pop the inner tube and damage the tyre, and the ribbed-sidewall tyres could go flat; owners were offered a free repair13.
Do Rad Power Bikes e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Rad Power Bikes, as of the last check.14, 15
Are Rad Power Bikes e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 8; UL 2271 (the battery) on 7 of 8. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Rad Power Bikes) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Rad Power Bikes's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Rad Power Bikes publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 8 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 4 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✓ UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
✓ UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
✓ UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 7 of 8 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 |
◐ partly Claimed on 7 of 8 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 |
◐ partly Claimed on 7 of 8 models5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2515 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2515 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2515 |
| Total | 4.5 of 6 | 4 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Rad Power Bikes data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Rad Power Bikes, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Rad Power Bikes US store, e-bikes
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Rad Power Bikes US, Radster Trail product page
- Rad Power Bikes US, RadWagon 4 product page
- Rad Power Bikes US, RadRunner product page
- Rad Power Bikes US, RadRunner Plus product page
- Rad Power Bikes US, RadRunner Max product page
- Rad Power Bikes US, RadExpand 5 Plus product page
- Rad Power Bikes US, RadWagon 5 product page
- Rad Power Bikes US, Radster Road product page
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Rad Power Bikes Recalls RadWagon 4 Electric Cargo Bikes Due to Fall and Crash Hazards
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "rad power bikes"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "rad power bikes"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW