Are CYKE electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
CYKE has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
CYKE has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max13
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph13
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph13
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike14
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on15
How I check CYKE e-bikes
- The bikes. I read CYKE's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in CYKE's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If CYKE's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202611; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202612. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means CYKE's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
CYKE e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Kingfisher Mid-Drive Folding eBike
$1,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 360 W3 |
| Top assisted speed | 32 km/h3 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated3 |
From CYKE's product page3. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon X Full Suspension Ebike
$3,399
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W4; the limit is 750 W13
Specs
| Price | $3,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W rated, 1,100 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated4 |
From CYKE's product page4. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon S Full Suspension Ebike
$3,399
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W5; the limit is 750 W13
Specs
| Price | $3,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W rated, 1,100 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated5 |
From CYKE's product page5. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon A Full Suspension Ebike
$2,815
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated6. The throttle limit is 20 mph13

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Lynx Commuter Ebike
$1,899
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated7
Specs
| Price | $1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated7 |
From CYKE's product page7. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Cheetah Hunting Ebike
$1,899
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated8
Specs
| Price | $1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated8 |
From CYKE's product page8. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets16
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph16
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery17
- Rider age: 16 or over16
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 316
How I check CYKE e-bikes
- The bikes. I read CYKE's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in CYKE's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If CYKE's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202611; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202612. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means CYKE's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
CYKE e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Kingfisher Mid-Drive Folding eBike
$1,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for New York City.
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 360 W3 |
| Top assisted speed | 32 km/h3 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated3 |
From CYKE's product page3. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon X Full Suspension Ebike
$3,399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
Specs
| Price | $3,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W rated, 1,100 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated4 |
From CYKE's product page4. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon S Full Suspension Ebike
$3,399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
Specs
| Price | $3,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W rated, 1,100 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated5 |
From CYKE's product page5. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon A Full Suspension Ebike
$2,815
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Lynx Commuter Ebike
$1,899
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
Specs
| Price | $1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated7 |
From CYKE's product page7. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Cheetah Hunting Ebike
$1,899
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph8; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
Specs
| Price | $1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated8 |
From CYKE's product page8. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Grizzly Foldable Ebike
$1,799
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph9 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated9 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated9 |
From CYKE's product page9. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Collie Cargo Ebike
$1,799
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph10; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph10 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated10 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated10 |
From CYKE's product page10. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W18
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph18
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed19
- Helmet: Under 16s20
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage19
How I check CYKE e-bikes
- The bikes. I read CYKE's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in CYKE's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If CYKE's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202611; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202612. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means CYKE's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
CYKE e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Kingfisher Mid-Drive Folding eBike
$1,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 360 W3 |
| Top assisted speed | 32 km/h3 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated3 |
From CYKE's product page3. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon X Full Suspension Ebike
$3,399
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W4; the limit is less than 750 W18
Specs
| Price | $3,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W rated, 1,100 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated4 |
From CYKE's product page4. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon S Full Suspension Ebike
$3,399
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W5; the limit is less than 750 W18
Specs
| Price | $3,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W rated, 1,100 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated5 |
From CYKE's product page5. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Falcon A Full Suspension Ebike
$2,815
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated6. The throttle limit is 20 mph18

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Lynx Commuter Ebike
$1,899
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated7
Specs
| Price | $1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated7 |
From CYKE's product page7. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Photo: CYKE
CYKE Cheetah Hunting Ebike
$1,899
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated8
Specs
| Price | $1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated8 |
From CYKE's product page8. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.
CYKE has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are CYKE electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have CYKE e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for CYKE, as of the last check.11, 12
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are CYKE batteries certified?
What CYKE's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 8; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 8.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate21.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to14.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark22.
Questions people ask about CYKE
Are CYKE e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 8 of the 8 models on CYKE's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 01. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has CYKE had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked11, 12.
Do CYKE e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for CYKE, as of the last check.11, 12
Are CYKE e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 8; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 8. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (CYKE) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
CYKE's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what CYKE publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 1 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 1 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 1 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✓ UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 |
✓ UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 |
✓ UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2612 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2612 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2612 |
| Total | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (CYKE data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- CYKE, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- CYKE US, Kingfisher Mid-Drive Folding eBike product page
- CYKE US, Falcon X Full Suspension Ebike product page
- CYKE US, Falcon S Full Suspension Ebike product page
- CYKE US, Falcon A Full Suspension Ebike product page
- CYKE US, Lynx Commuter Ebike product page
- CYKE US, Cheetah Hunting Ebike product page
- CYKE US, Grizzly Foldable Ebike product page
- CYKE US, Collie Cargo Ebike product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "cyke"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "cyke"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW