Are Decathlon electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
The law in the UK, in short
- Motor: 250 W max2
- Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
- Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
- Rider age: 14 or over2
- Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2
How I check Decathlon e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Decathlon's own product page for all 13 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Decathlon's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Decathlon's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202631; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202632. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Decathlon's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Decathlon e-bikes sold in the UK

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Btwin E-Three 500 longtail cargo
£2,499.99
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated5
Specs
| Price | £2,499.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 6 km/h5 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page4. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Elops LD 500 E
£1,299.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated7
Specs
| Price | £1,299.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “250 Watt Motor”, 45 Nm7 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page6. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Elops LD 500 E step-through
£1,299.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated7
Specs
| Price | £1,299.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “250 Watt Motor”, 45 Nm7 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page8. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Btwin E-Fold 500
£999.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £999.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “Höchstleistung von 250 W” (maximum power 250 W)10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h10 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page9. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Van Rysel E-GRVL AF HD X30
£2,499.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,499.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mahle X30, 250 W12 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h12 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page11. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Van Rysel E-EDR CF Ultegra Di2
£5,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mahle X20, “Dauerleistung 250 W”14 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h14 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page13. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Van Rysel E-GRVL AF MD Brose
£3,500
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,500 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Brose Drive T Mag, “Dauerleistung 250 W”16 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h16 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 6 km/h16 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page15. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Van Rysel E-EDR CF 105 Di2
£3,700
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,700 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mahle X20, “Dauerleistung 250 W”18 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h18 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page17. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-EXPL 100
£999.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £999.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W hub motor (“Leistung: 316 W Max”)20 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h20 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page19. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-ACTV 900 (Owuru)
£2,699.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated22
Specs
| Price | £2,699.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W rated, 600 W peak22 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page21. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-EXPL 140
£1,399.99
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 550 W peak, rated power not stated24; the limit is 250 W2
Specs
| Price | £1,399.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mid-drive, “550 W max. Leistung”; rated power not stated24 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h24 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page23. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-ACTV 100
£999.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £999.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “Max. Leistung: 250 W” rear hub26 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h26 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page25. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-EXPL 700
£2,199.99
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 460 W peak, rated power not stated28; the limit is 250 W2
Specs
| Price | £2,199.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Brose T mid-drive, “Max. Leistung: 460 W”; rated power not stated28 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h28 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page27. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power33
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling33
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)34
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval33
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer35
How I check Decathlon e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Decathlon's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Decathlon's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Decathlon's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202631; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202632. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Decathlon's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Decathlon e-bikes sold in the EU

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-EXPL 100
€999.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €999.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W hub motor (“Leistung: 316 W Max”)20 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h20 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page20. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Elops LD 500 E
€1,289.99
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated7
Specs
| Price | €1,289.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “250 Watt Motor”, 45 Nm7 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page7. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Btwin E-Fold 500
€999.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €999.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “Höchstleistung von 250 W” (maximum power 250 W)10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h10 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page10. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-EXPL 140
€1,499
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 550 W peak, rated power not stated24; the limit is 250 W33
Specs
| Price | €1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mid-drive, “550 W max. Leistung”; rated power not stated24 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h24 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page24. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-EXPL 700
€2,499
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 460 W peak, rated power not stated28; the limit is 250 W33
Specs
| Price | €2,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Brose T mid-drive, “Max. Leistung: 460 W”; rated power not stated28 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h28 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page28. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Rockrider E-ACTV 100
€999.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €999.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | “Max. Leistung: 250 W” rear hub26 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h26 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page26. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Van Rysel E-EDR CF 105 Di2
€4,199
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €4,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mahle X20, “Dauerleistung 250 W”18 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h18 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page18. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Van Rysel E-GRVL AF MD Brose
€3,499
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €3,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Brose Drive T Mag, “Dauerleistung 250 W”16 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h16 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 6 km/h16 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page16. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.

Photo: Decathlon
Decathlon Van Rysel E-EDR CF Ultegra Di2
€5,459.99
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €5,459.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mahle X20, “Dauerleistung 250 W”14 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h14 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Decathlon's product page14. “Not stated” means Decathlon doesn't publish it.
Decathlon has no US store1. The rules there are on the California page.
Decathlon has no US store1. The rules there are on the New York City page.
Decathlon has no US store1. The rules there are on the Florida page.
Decathlon has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Decathlon electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Decathlon e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Decathlon, as of the last check.31, 32
Decathlon has 2 other regulator records, none about fire:
- Decathlon Van Rysel RCR PRO Ultegra and Dura Ace road bikes (non-electric): UK OPSS product recall 2508-0206, 15 Oct 2025, recorded as “serious risk of injuries”. The Swiss Side wheel rims could fail in use, on bikes sold from 1 August 2024 with DT Swiss ID wheel numbers of 2740000 or higher29.
- Decathlon Van Rysel GRVL AF gravel bikes (non-electric): US CPSC recall, 8 Oct 2026, recorded as “crash hazard”. The front lock nut could loosen and let the front wheel dislodge. About 1,150 were sold in the US; the electric E-GRVL AF is a different model30.
Are Decathlon batteries certified?
What Decathlon's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 13; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 13.
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate36.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to37.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark38.
Questions people ask about Decathlon
Are Decathlon e-bikes legal in the UK?
Of the 13 e-bikes on Decathlon's UK store, 7 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1. For 6 more, a figure the law depends on, such as a throttle's top speed or the motor's rated power, isn't published1.
Has Decathlon had a recall or a safety report?
In the UK, OPSS product recall 2508-0206 (15 October 2025) recorded “serious risk of injuries”: the Swiss Side wheel rims could fail in use, on bikes sold from 1 August 2024 with DT Swiss ID wheel numbers of 2740000 or higher29. In the US, CPSC recall (8 October 2026) recorded “crash hazard”: the front lock nut could loosen and let the front wheel dislodge30. About 1,150 were sold in the US; the electric E-GRVL AF is a different model30.
Do Decathlon e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Decathlon, as of the last check.31, 32
Are Decathlon e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 13; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 13. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Decathlon) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Decathlon's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Decathlon publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK | the EU |
|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 7 of 13 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 6 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found OPSS product recall 2508-0206, Decathlon Van Rysel RCR PRO Ultegra and Dura Ace road bikes (non-electric), 2025-10-15: “serious risk of injuries”29 |
✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
| Total | 1.5 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Decathlon data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Decathlon, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Decathlon EU store, e-bikes
- Decathlon UK, Btwin E-Three 500 longtail cargo product page
- Decathlon Germany, Btwin E-Three 500 longtail cargo product page (“Elektrische Unterstützung bis 25 km/h, Anfahrhilfe bis 6 km/h”)
- Decathlon UK, Elops LD 500 E product page
- Decathlon Germany, Elops LD 500 E product page (“Der 250 Watt Motor (Drehmoment 45 Nm)”)
- Decathlon UK, Elops LD 500 E step-through product page
- Decathlon UK, Btwin E-Fold 500 product page
- Decathlon Germany, Btwin E-Fold 500 product page (“Beim Treten unterstützt der Motor bis zu einer Geschwindigkeit von 25 km/h”)
- Decathlon UK, Van Rysel E-GRVL AF HD X30 product page
- Decathlon Germany, Van Rysel E-GRVL AF HD X30 product page (“Mahle X30 36V – 250 W … Geschwindigkeit begrenzt auf 25 km/h”)
- Decathlon UK, Van Rysel E-EDR CF Ultegra Di2 product page
- Decathlon Germany, Van Rysel E-EDR CF Ultegra Di2 product page (“Dauerleistung 250 W … Unterstützung bis 25 km/h”)
- Decathlon UK, Van Rysel E-GRVL AF MD Brose product page
- Decathlon Germany, Van Rysel E-GRVL AF MD Brose product page (“Dauerleistung 250 W … Unterstützung bis 25 km/h, Unterstützung im Walk Modus bis 6 km/h”)
- Decathlon UK, Van Rysel E-EDR CF 105 Di2 product page
- Decathlon Germany, Van Rysel E-EDR CF 105 Di2 product page (“Dauerleistung 250 W … Unterstützung bis 25 km/h”)
- Decathlon UK, Rockrider E-EXPL 100 product page
- Decathlon Germany, Rockrider E-EXPL 100 product page (“Radnabenmotor mit 43 Nm und 250 W … Abschaltung der elektrischen Unterstützung bei über 25 km/h”)
- Decathlon UK, Rockrider E-ACTV 900 (Owuru) product page
- Decathlon Germany, Rockrider E-ACTV 900 (Owuru) product page (“Nennleistung: 250 W. Spitzenleistung: 600 W.”)
- Decathlon UK, Rockrider E-EXPL 140 product page
- Decathlon Germany, Rockrider E-EXPL 140 product page (“550 W max. Leistung … Abschaltung … bei über 25 km/h”)
- Decathlon UK, Rockrider E-ACTV 100 product page
- Decathlon Germany, Rockrider E-ACTV 100 product page (“Max. Leistung: 250 W … schaltet sich gemäß den europäischen Vorschriften bei über 25 km/h aus”)
- Decathlon UK, Rockrider E-EXPL 700 product page
- Decathlon Germany, Rockrider E-EXPL 700 product page (“Max. Leistung: 460 W Abschaltung der elektrischen Unterstützung bei über 25 km/h”)
- OPSS, Product Recall: RCR PRO Ultegra & RCR PRO Dura Ace Bikes sold by Decathlon (2508-0206)
- CPSC, Decathlon America Recalls Van Rysel GRVL AF Bicycles Due to Risk of Serious Injury or Death from Crash Hazard
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "decathlon"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "decathlon"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW