Are DYU electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
The law in the UK, in short
- Motor: 250 W max2
- Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
- Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
- Rider age: 14 or over2
- Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2
How I check DYU e-bikes
- The bikes. I read DYU's own product page for all 4 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in DYU's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If DYU's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202623; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202624. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means DYU's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
DYU e-bikes sold in the UK

Photo: DYU
DYU C6 26 Inch City Electric Bike
£499
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W rated, 500 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page4. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU M20 All-Terrain Long-Range Electric Bike
£799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page5. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU T1 20 Inch Foldable Electric Bike
£699
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W6 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h6 |
| Throttle | None stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page6. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU D3F 14 Inch Mini Folding Electric Bike
£359
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £359 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W7 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page7. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power25
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling25
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)26
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval25
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer27
How I check DYU e-bikes
- The bikes. I read DYU's own product page for all 15 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in DYU's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If DYU's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202623; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202624. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means DYU's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
DYU e-bikes sold in the EU

Photo: DYU
DYU C7 Lite 26 Inch Electric Bike
€399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 20 mph8; the limit is 25 km/h25
Specs
| Price | €399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,000 W peak; rated power not stated8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page8. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C5 Lite 26 Inch Electric Bike
€399
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 500 W9; the limit is 250 W25
Specs
| Price | €399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 1,000 W peak9 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph9 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page9. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C4 MINI 14 Inch Foldable Electric Bike
€299
✗Not legal as listedListed at 19.8 mph10; the limit is 25 km/h25
Specs
| Price | €299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W rated, 500 W peak10 |
| Top assisted speed | 19.8 mph10 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page10. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU X1 mini 14 Inch Folding Electric Bike
€329
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 350 W11; the limit is 250 W25
Specs
| Price | €329 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W rated, 500 W peak11 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph11 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page11. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU SP1 20" Removable Power Bank Folding Ebike
€1,280
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,280 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W12 |
| Top assisted speed | 24 km/h12 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | EN 15194 stated12 |
From DYU's product page12. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C9 Foldable 20" Long-Range E-Bike
€779
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €779 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W13 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h13 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page13. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C5 27.5in City E-Bike
€931
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €931 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W14 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h14 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page14. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C1 26in City E-Bike
€931
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 350 W15; the limit is 250 W25
Specs
| Price | €931 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W15 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h15 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page15. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C2 16in Folding E-Bike
€651
?Can't confirmHas a throttle; its top speed isn't stated16. The throttle limit is 6 km/h26
Specs
| Price | €651 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W rated, 500 W peak16 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h16 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated16 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page16. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU D3F 14in Mini Folding E-Bike
€299
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page17. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C3 14in Folding E-Bike
€259
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €259 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W18 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h18 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page18. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C6 Pro 26in City E-Bike
€1,047
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €1,047 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W rated, 500 W peak19 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h19 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page19. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU C6 26in City E-Bike
€884
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €884 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W20 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h20 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page20. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU T1 20" Foldable E-Bike
€814
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €814 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W21 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h21 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page21. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.

Photo: DYU
DYU Stroll 1 700C City E-Bike
€1,164
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated22
Specs
| Price | €1,164 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h22 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From DYU's product page22. “Not stated” means DYU doesn't publish it.
DYU has no US store1. The rules there are on the California page.
DYU has no US store1. The rules there are on the New York City page.
DYU has no US store1. The rules there are on the Florida page.
DYU has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are DYU electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have DYU e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for DYU, as of the last check.23, 24
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are DYU batteries certified?
What DYU's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 4; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 4.
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 1 of 15; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 15.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate28.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to29.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark30.
Questions people ask about DYU
Are DYU e-bikes legal in the UK?
Of the 4 e-bikes on DYU's UK store, 4 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1.
Has DYU had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked23, 24.
Do DYU e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for DYU, as of the last check.23, 24
Are DYU e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 4; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 4. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 1 of 15; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 15. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (DYU) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
DYU's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what DYU publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK | the EU |
|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 4 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 8 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
◐ partly EN 15194 claimed on 1 of 15 models12 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2623 |
✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 2 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (DYU data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- DYU, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- DYU EU store, e-bikes
- DYU UK, C6 26 Inch City Electric Bike product page
- DYU UK, M20 All-Terrain Long-Range Electric Bike product page
- DYU UK, T1 20 Inch Foldable Electric Bike product page
- DYU UK, D3F 14 Inch Mini Folding Electric Bike product page
- DYU EU, C7 Lite 26 Inch Electric Bike product page
- DYU EU, C5 Lite 26 Inch Electric Bike product page
- DYU EU, C4 MINI 14 Inch Foldable Electric Bike product page
- DYU EU, X1 mini 14 Inch Folding Electric Bike product page
- DYU EU, SP1 20" Removable Power Bank Folding Ebike product page
- DYU EU, C9 Foldable 20" Long-Range E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, C5 27.5in City E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, C1 26in City E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, C2 16in Folding E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, D3F 14in Mini Folding E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, C3 14in Folding E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, C6 Pro 26in City E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, C6 26in City E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, T1 20" Foldable E-Bike product page
- DYU EU, Stroll 1 700C City E-Bike product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "dyu"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "dyu"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW