Are EMOKO electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
EMOKO has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
EMOKO has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max14
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph14
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph14
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike15
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on16
How I check EMOKO e-bikes
- The bikes. I read EMOKO's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in EMOKO's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If EMOKO's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202612; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202613. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means EMOKO's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
EMOKO e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO 24 Inch C93 Moped Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated3
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h3 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page3. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO EC23 Folding Ebike 48V 20Ah
$1,099
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found4; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here15
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page4. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO EC20
$1,699
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated5
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page5. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C94 Long-Range Cargo Electric Bike (48V 35Ah / Dual 35Ah
$1,799
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated6
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h6 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page6. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C99 Electric Bike
$1,099
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found7; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here15
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W7 |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page7. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C91 Dual Motor Ebike
$1,299
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W8; the limit is 750 W14
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h8 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page8. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C93 Dual Motor Ebike
$1,499
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated9
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h9 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page9. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C91 48V 1000W Fat Tire Ebike
$1,099
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W10; the limit is 750 W14
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h10 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page10. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C93 Moped Electric Bike
$1,299
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated11
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h11 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page11. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets18
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph18
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery17
- Rider age: 16 or over18
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 318
How I check EMOKO e-bikes
- The bikes. I read EMOKO's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in EMOKO's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If EMOKO's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202612; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202613. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means EMOKO's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
EMOKO e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO 24 Inch C93 Moped Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found3; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h3 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page3. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO EC23 Folding Ebike 48V 20Ah
$1,099
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found4; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page4. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO EC20
$1,699
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found5; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page5. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C94 Long-Range Cargo Electric Bike (48V 35Ah / Dual 35Ah
$1,799
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found6; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h6 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page6. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C99 Electric Bike
$1,099
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found7; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W7 |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page7. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C91 Dual Motor Ebike
$1,299
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h8 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page8. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C93 Dual Motor Ebike
$1,499
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found9; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h9 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page9. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C91 48V 1000W Fat Tire Ebike
$1,099
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found10; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h10 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page10. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C93 Moped Electric Bike
$1,299
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found11; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here17
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h11 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page11. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W19
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph19
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed20
- Helmet: Under 16s21
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage20
How I check EMOKO e-bikes
- The bikes. I read EMOKO's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in EMOKO's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If EMOKO's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202612; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202613. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means EMOKO's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
EMOKO e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO 24 Inch C93 Moped Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated3
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h3 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page3. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO EC23 Folding Ebike 48V 20Ah
$1,099
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page4. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO EC20
$1,699
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated5
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page5. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C94 Long-Range Cargo Electric Bike (48V 35Ah / Dual 35Ah
$1,799
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated6
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h6 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page6. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C99 Electric Bike
$1,099
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W7 |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page7. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C91 Dual Motor Ebike
$1,299
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W8; the limit is less than 750 W19
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h8 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page8. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C93 Dual Motor Ebike
$1,499
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated9
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h9 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page9. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C91 48V 1000W Fat Tire Ebike
$1,099
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 1,000 W10; the limit is less than 750 W19
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h10 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page10. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.

Photo: EMOKO
EMOKO C93 Moped Electric Bike
$1,299
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated11
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h11 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From EMOKO's product page11. “Not stated” means EMOKO doesn't publish it.
EMOKO has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are EMOKO electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have EMOKO e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for EMOKO, as of the last check.12, 13
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are EMOKO batteries certified?
What EMOKO's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 9; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 9.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate22.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to15.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark23.
Questions people ask about EMOKO
Are EMOKO e-bikes UL certified?
None of EMOKO's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has EMOKO had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked12, 13.
Do EMOKO e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for EMOKO, as of the last check.12, 13
Are EMOKO e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 9; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 9. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (EMOKO) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
EMOKO's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what EMOKO publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2613 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2613 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2613 |
| Total | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (EMOKO data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- EMOKO, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- EMOKO US, 24 Inch C93 Moped Electric Bike product page
- EMOKO US, EC23 Folding Ebike 48V 20Ah product page
- EMOKO US, EC20 product page
- EMOKO US, C94 Long-Range Cargo Electric Bike (48V 35Ah / Dual 35Ah product page
- EMOKO US, C99 Electric Bike product page
- EMOKO US, C91 Dual Motor Ebike product page
- EMOKO US, C93 Dual Motor Ebike product page
- EMOKO US, C91 48V 1000W Fat Tire Ebike product page
- EMOKO US, C93 Moped Electric Bike product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "emoko"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "emoko"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW