Are Freedare electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Freedare has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Freedare has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max7
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph7
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph7
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike8
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on9
How I check Freedare e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freedare's own product page for all 2 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freedare's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freedare's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20265; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 20266. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freedare's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freedare e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freedare
Freedare FD Eden Step-thru Electric Bike
$1,399
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 2,000 W peak, rated power not stated3; the limit is 750 W7
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 2,000 W peak; rated power not stated3 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated3 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freedare's product page3. “Not stated” means Freedare doesn't publish it.
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets10
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph10
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery11
- Rider age: 16 or over10
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 310
How I check Freedare e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freedare's own product page for all 2 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freedare's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freedare's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20265; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 20266. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freedare's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freedare e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freedare
Freedare FD Eden Step-thru Electric Bike
$1,399
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated3
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 2,000 W peak; rated power not stated3 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated3 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freedare's product page3. “Not stated” means Freedare doesn't publish it.
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W12
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph12
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed13
- Helmet: Under 16s14
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage13
How I check Freedare e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freedare's own product page for all 2 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freedare's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freedare's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20265; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 20266. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freedare's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freedare e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freedare
Freedare FD Eden Step-thru Electric Bike
$1,399
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 2,000 W peak, rated power not stated3; the limit is 750 W12
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 2,000 W peak; rated power not stated3 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated3 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freedare's product page3. “Not stated” means Freedare doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freedare
Freedare FD Saiga All-terrain Fat Tire Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirmFreedare has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Freedare electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Freedare e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Freedare, as of the last check.5, 6
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Freedare batteries certified?
What Freedare's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 1 of 2; UL 2271 (the battery) on 1 of 2.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate15.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to8.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark16.
Questions people ask about Freedare
Are Freedare e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 1 of the 2 models on Freedare's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 11. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Freedare had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked5, 6.
Do Freedare e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Freedare, as of the last check.5, 6
Are Freedare e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 1 of 2; UL 2271 (the battery) on 1 of 2. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Freedare) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Freedare's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Freedare publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 2 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 2 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 2 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 1 of 2 models4 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 1 of 2 models4 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 1 of 2 models4 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 1 of 2 models4 |
◐ partly Claimed on 1 of 2 models4 |
◐ partly Claimed on 1 of 2 models4 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-266 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-266 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-266 |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Freedare data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Freedare, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Freedare US, FD Eden Step-thru Electric Bike product page
- Freedare US, FD Saiga All-terrain Fat Tire Electric Bike product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "freedare"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "freedare"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW