Are Freesky electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Freesky has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Freesky has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max18
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph18
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph18
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike19
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on20
How I check Freesky e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freesky's own product page for all 12 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freesky's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freesky's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202616; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202617. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freesky's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freesky e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Cheetah Ultra MT-380
$2,099
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Warrior Pro M-530
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 3,000 W4; the limit is 750 W18
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 3000 W rated, 4,500 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 40 mph4 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 40 mph4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freesky's product page4. “Not stated” means Freesky doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Warrior Ultra M-530 Camo
$2,049
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Alaska Pro M-520 Camo
$2,049
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Eurostar Turbo M-410
$1,399
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Rocky Pro A-320
$1,499
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Ranger Plus M-540
$1,849
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Ranger Air M-540
$1,399
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Cheetah MT-380
$1,899
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Alaska Pro M-520
$1,949
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Warrior Ultra M-530
$1,949
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Swift Horse Ultra X-6E
$1,599
✗Not legal as listedThe law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets21
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph21
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery22
- Rider age: 16 or over21
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 321
How I check Freesky e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freesky's own product page for all 12 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freesky's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freesky's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202616; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202617. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freesky's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freesky e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Cheetah Ultra MT-380
$2,099
✗Not legal as listedListed at 45 mph3; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Warrior Pro M-530
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedListed at 40 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 3000 W rated, 4,500 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 40 mph4 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 40 mph4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freesky's product page4. “Not stated” means Freesky doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Warrior Ultra M-530 Camo
$2,049
✗Not legal as listedListed at 45 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Alaska Pro M-520 Camo
$2,049
✗Not legal as listedListed at 40 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Eurostar Turbo M-410
$1,399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 34 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Rocky Pro A-320
$1,499
✗Not legal as listedListed at 33 mph8; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Ranger Plus M-540
$1,849
✗Not legal as listedListed at 40 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Ranger Air M-540
$1,399
✗Not legal as listedListed at 34 mph10; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Cheetah MT-380
$1,899
✗Not legal as listedListed at 40 mph11; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Alaska Pro M-520
$1,949
✗Not legal as listedListed at 40 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Warrior Ultra M-530
$1,949
✗Not legal as listedListed at 45 mph13; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph21
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W23
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph23
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed24
- Helmet: Under 16s25
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage24
How I check Freesky e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freesky's own product page for all 12 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freesky's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freesky's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202616; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202617. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freesky's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freesky e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Cheetah Ultra MT-380
$2,099
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Warrior Pro M-530
$1,999
✗Not legal as listedMotor listed at 3,000 W4; the limit is less than 750 W23
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 3000 W rated, 4,500 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 40 mph4 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 40 mph4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freesky's product page4. “Not stated” means Freesky doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Warrior Ultra M-530 Camo
$2,049
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Alaska Pro M-520 Camo
$2,049
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Eurostar Turbo M-410
$1,399
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Rocky Pro A-320
$1,499
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Ranger Plus M-540
$1,849
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Ranger Air M-540
$1,399
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Cheetah MT-380
$1,899
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Alaska Pro M-520
$1,949
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Upgraded 60V Warrior Ultra M-530
$1,949
✗Not legal as listed
Photo: Freesky
Freesky Swift Horse Ultra X-6E
$1,599
✗Not legal as listedFreesky has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Freesky electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Freesky e-bike batteries caught fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Freesky.
- Freesky 540E (Ranger), as imported into the UK: UK OPSS product safety report 2609-0013, 4 Sept 2026, recorded as “no evidence that the product has been assessed using relevant UK conformity assessment procedures”. The Declaration of Conformity supplied did not match the product, and OPSS noted that without evidence of conformity it may be possible for it to overheat and catch fire; the import was rejected at the border15.
Are Freesky batteries certified?
What Freesky's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 9 of 12; UL 2271 (the battery) on 11 of 12.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate26.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to19.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark27.
Questions people ask about Freesky
Are Freesky e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 9 of the 12 models on Freesky's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 111. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Freesky had a recall or a safety report?
In the UK, OPSS product safety report 2609-0013 (4 September 2026) recorded “no evidence that the product has been assessed using relevant UK conformity assessment procedures”: the Declaration of Conformity supplied did not match the product, and OPSS noted that without evidence of conformity it may be possible for it to overheat and catch fire; the import was rejected at the border15.
Do Freesky e-bikes catch fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Freesky.
Are Freesky e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 9 of 12; UL 2271 (the battery) on 11 of 12. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Freesky) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Freesky's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Freesky publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 9 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 9 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 9 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 11 of 12 models3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 |
◐ partly Claimed on 11 of 12 models3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 |
◐ partly Claimed on 11 of 12 models3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2617 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2617 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2617 |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Freesky data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Freesky, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Freesky US, Upgraded 60V Cheetah Ultra MT-380 product page
- Freesky US, Warrior Pro M-530 product page
- Freesky US, Upgraded 60V Warrior Ultra M-530 Camo product page
- Freesky US, Alaska Pro M-520 Camo product page
- Freesky US, Eurostar Turbo M-410 product page
- Freesky US, Rocky Pro A-320 product page
- Freesky US, Ranger Plus M-540 product page
- Freesky US, Ranger Air M-540 product page
- Freesky US, Cheetah MT-380 product page
- Freesky US, Alaska Pro M-520 product page
- Freesky US, Upgraded 60V Warrior Ultra M-530 product page
- Freesky US, Swift Horse Ultra X-6E product page
- OPSS, Product Safety Report: FREESKY Electric Bicycle 540E (2609-0013)
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "freesky"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "freesky"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW