Are Marin electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Marin model checked against the law where you ride. Marin data checked 26 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

Legal as listedIn the UK, 10 of Marin's 11 UK models are legal as listed; 1 can't be confirmed from what Marin publishes.

The law in the UK, in short

  • Motor: 250 W max2
  • Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
  • Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
  • Rider age: 14 or over2
  • Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2
How I check Marin e-bikes
  • The bikes. Marin sells through shops, so I read the listing for every Marin e-bike sold by Leisure Lakes Bikes and Tredz on 26 October 2026. Each listing names the motor; its rated power and the speed it helps up to come from the motor maker's own specification (Bosch, Shimano, MAHLE), linked next to each figure. A listing that doesn't name the motor is left out.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Marin's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Marin's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202616; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202617. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Marin's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

UK e-bike law in full · Battery safety and recalls

Marin e-bikes sold in the UK

Marin Alpine Trail E electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Marin Alpine Trail E

£4,355

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £4,355
Motor Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing3 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Alpine Trail E1 electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Marin Alpine Trail E1

£4,499

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £4,499
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated6
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing5 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Alpine Trail E2 electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Marin Alpine Trail E2

£5,699

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £5,699
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated6
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing7 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Rift Zone E electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Marin Rift Zone E

£4,355

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £4,355
Motor Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing8 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Rift Zone E XR AXS electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Marin Rift Zone E XR AXS

£5,799

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £5,799
Motor Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing9 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Rift Zone E1 electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Marin Rift Zone E1

£4,835

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £4,835
Motor Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing10 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Rift Zone E2 electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Marin Rift Zone E2

£5,995

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £5,995
Motor Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing11 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Rift Zone EL 2 electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Marin Rift Zone EL 2

£3,599

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £3,599
Motor Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated6
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing12 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Rift Zone EL XR electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Marin Rift Zone EL XR

£3,699

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £3,699
Motor Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated6
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing13 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Sausalito e1 ST electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Marin Sausalito e1 ST

£2,245

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,245
Motor Shimano STEPS E5000, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing14 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Marin Stinson E ST electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Marin Stinson E ST

£1,599

Can't confirm

Motor power not stated15

Specs
Price £1,599
Motor Bafang 250W; rated power not given in the listing15
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing15 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Are Marin electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Marin e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Marin, as of the last check.16, 17

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Marin batteries certified?

What Marin's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 11; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 11.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate18.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to19.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark20.

Questions people ask about Marin

Are Marin e-bikes legal in the UK?

Of the 11 e-bikes on Marin's UK store, 10 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1. For 1 more, a figure the law depends on, such as a throttle's top speed or the motor's rated power, isn't published1.

Has Marin had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked16, 17.

Do Marin e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Marin, as of the last check.16, 17

Are Marin e-bike batteries certified?

UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 11; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 11. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Marin) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Marin's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Marin publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the UK
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ◐ partly
10 of 11 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2616
Total 2.5 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Marin data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Marin, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Marin Alpine Trail E listing
  4. Shimano technical documents, E-bike drive unit specifications (“Continuous rated power (Watt) 250”; maximum support bike speed 25 km/h)
  5. Tredz, Marin Alpine Trail E1 listing
  6. Bosch eBike Systems, drive unit comparison (“Rated continuous output 250 W”; “Max. supported speed 25 km/h”, 45 km/h for Performance Line Speed)
  7. Tredz, Marin Alpine Trail E2 listing
  8. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Marin Rift Zone E listing
  9. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Marin Rift Zone E XR AXS listing
  10. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Marin Rift Zone E1 listing
  11. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Marin Rift Zone E2 listing
  12. Tredz, Marin Rift Zone EL 2 listing
  13. Tredz, Marin Rift Zone EL XR listing
  14. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Marin Sausalito e1 ST listing
  15. Tredz, Marin Stinson E ST listing
  16. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "marin"
  17. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "marin"
  18. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  19. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  20. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026