Are Merida electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
The law in the UK, in short
- Motor: 250 W max2
- Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
- Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
- Rider age: 14 or over2
- Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2
How I check Merida e-bikes
- The bikes. Merida sells through shops, so I read the listing for every Merida e-bike sold by Leisure Lakes Bikes, Cyclestore and Tredz on 26 October 2026. Each listing names the motor; its rated power and the speed it helps up to come from the motor maker's own specification (Bosch, Shimano, MAHLE), linked next to each figure. A listing that doesn't name the motor is left out.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Merida's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Merida's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202670; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202671. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Merida's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Merida e-bikes sold in the UK

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida EBig Nine 300 SE
£2,750
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,750 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano STEPS E7000, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing3 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Cyclestore
Merida Eone-forty 675 Eq 29er
£5,130
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,130 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Cyclestore's listing5 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Cyclestore
Merida Eone-sixty 8000 Carbon Mullet
£6,800
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £6,800 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Cyclestore's listing6 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso 300 SE EQ
£2,500
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,500 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing7 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso 300 SE EQ Low Step
£2,500
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,500 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing8 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso 400 S EQ
£3,150
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,150 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing9 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso 400 S EQ Low Step
£3,150
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,150 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing10 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso 500 EQ
£3,400
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,400 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing11 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso 700 EQ
£3,750
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,750 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing12 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso City 300 SE EQ
£2,575
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,575 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano STEPS E5000, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing13 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso City 400 EQ
£3,250
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,250 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano STEPS E6100, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing14 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida Espresso City 500 EQ
£3,550
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,550 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano STEPS E6100, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing15 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida Etmo 400
£3,399
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line PX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing16 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida Etmo 500 Pro
£4,099
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing18 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida Etmo 800
£4,899
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing19 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida Lithos 10K
£9,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £9,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing20 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida Lithos 6000
£5,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing21 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida Lithos 8000
£7,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £7,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing22 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eBig Nine 400
£2,750
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,750 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing23 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eBig Nine 400 Mountain Bike Grey/Black
£3,500
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,500 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing24 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eBig Nine 675
£4,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing25 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eBig Nine 775
£4,350
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,350 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing26 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eBig Tour 400
£3,250
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,250 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing27 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eBig Tour 475 EQ
£3,750
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,750 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing28 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eBig Tour 675
£4,250
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,250 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing29 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eFloat CC 400 EQ
£2,950
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,950 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing30 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eFloat HD 700 EQ Womens
£3,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing31 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Eighty 400
£3,599
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing32 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Eighty 500
£3,999
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing33 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Eighty 700
£4,699
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing34 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Eighty 900
£4,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing35 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Eighty FR 600
£4,299
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing36 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Eighty FR 800
£5,099
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing37 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Forty 400
£4,150
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,150 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing38 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Forty 400 SE
£4,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing39 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Forty 500
£4,525
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,525 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing40 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Forty 675
£5,200
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,200 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing41 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Forty 700
£5,650
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,650 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing42 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Forty 700 Mountain Bike Anthracite/Black
£5,650
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,650 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing43 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 10K
£10,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £10,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing44 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 500
£4,850
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,850 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing45 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 500 MX
£4,600
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,600 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing46 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 500 SE
£4,400
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,400 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing47 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 6000
£6,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £6,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing48 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 675
£5,500
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,500 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing49 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 700
£5,750
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,750 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP6 (DU-EP600), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing50 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 7000
£7,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £7,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing51 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Sixty 8000
£4,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing52 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 875
£6,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £6,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing53 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Cyclestore
Merida eOne-Sixty 875 Mullet
£5,100
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,100 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Cyclestore's listing54 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 9000
£7,850
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £7,850 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP8 (DU-EP800), 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing55 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eOne-Sixty 975 SE
£5,950
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,950 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing56 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Sixty Lite 675
£4,099
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing57 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Sixty SL 10K
£6,699
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £6,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing58 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Sixty SL 6000
£4,299
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing59 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eOne-Sixty SL 8000
£5,299
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £5,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing60 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eScultura 400
£3,200
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated61
Specs
| Price | £3,200 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mahle; rated power not given in the listing61 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing61 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eSilex 400
£2,499
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | MAHLE X30, 250 W rated63 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for this drive unit)63 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing62 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Tredz
Merida eSilex+ 600
£2,699
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £2,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | MAHLE X30, 250 W rated63 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for this drive unit)63 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tredz's listing64 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eSpeeder 200
£2,600
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated65
Specs
| Price | £2,600 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mahle; rated power not given in the listing65 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing65 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eSpeeder 400EQ
£2,850
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated66
Specs
| Price | £2,850 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Mahle; rated power not given in the listing66 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing66 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eSpresso CC 400
£3,200
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,200 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing67 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eSpresso CC 575 Electric bike Grey/Black
£3,700
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £3,700 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing68 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes
Merida eSpresso CC 675
£4,000
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the UK.
Specs
| Price | £4,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Shimano EP801, 250 W rated4 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (Shimano's figure for this drive unit)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing69 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.
Merida has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
Merida has no US store1. The rules there are on the California page.
Merida has no US store1. The rules there are on the New York City page.
Merida has no US store1. The rules there are on the Florida page.
Merida has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Merida electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Merida e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Merida, as of the last check.70, 71
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Merida batteries certified?
What Merida's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 64; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 64.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate72.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to73.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark74.
Questions people ask about Merida
Are Merida e-bikes legal in the UK?
Of the 64 e-bikes on Merida's UK store, 61 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1. For 3 more, a figure the law depends on, such as a throttle's top speed or the motor's rated power, isn't published1.
Has Merida had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked70, 71.
Do Merida e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Merida, as of the last check.70, 71
Are Merida e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 64; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 64. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Merida) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Merida's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Merida publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK |
|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 61 of 64 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2670 |
| Total | 2.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Merida data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Merida, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida EBig Nine 300 SE listing
- Shimano technical documents, E-bike drive unit specifications (“Continuous rated power (Watt) 250”; maximum support bike speed 25 km/h)
- Cyclestore, Merida Eone-forty 675 Eq 29er listing
- Cyclestore, Merida Eone-sixty 8000 Carbon Mullet listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso 300 SE EQ listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso 300 SE EQ Low Step listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso 400 S EQ listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso 400 S EQ Low Step listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso 500 EQ listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso 700 EQ listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso City 300 SE EQ listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso City 400 EQ listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida Espresso City 500 EQ listing
- Tredz, Merida Etmo 400 listing
- Bosch eBike Systems, drive unit comparison (“Rated continuous output 250 W”; “Max. supported speed 25 km/h”, 45 km/h for Performance Line Speed)
- Tredz, Merida Etmo 500 Pro listing
- Tredz, Merida Etmo 800 listing
- Tredz, Merida Lithos 10K listing
- Tredz, Merida Lithos 6000 listing
- Tredz, Merida Lithos 8000 listing
- Tredz, Merida eBig Nine 400 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eBig Nine 400 Mountain Bike Grey/Black listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eBig Nine 675 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eBig Nine 775 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eBig Tour 400 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eBig Tour 475 EQ listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eBig Tour 675 listing
- Tredz, Merida eFloat CC 400 EQ listing
- Tredz, Merida eFloat HD 700 EQ Womens listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Eighty 400 listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Eighty 500 listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Eighty 700 listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Eighty 900 listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Eighty FR 600 listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Eighty FR 800 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Forty 400 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Forty 400 SE listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Forty 500 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Forty 675 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Forty 700 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Forty 700 Mountain Bike Anthracite/Black listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 10K listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 500 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 500 MX listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 500 SE listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 6000 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 675 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 700 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 7000 listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Sixty 8000 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 875 listing
- Cyclestore, Merida eOne-Sixty 875 Mullet listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 9000 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eOne-Sixty 975 SE listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Sixty Lite 675 listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Sixty SL 10K listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Sixty SL 6000 listing
- Tredz, Merida eOne-Sixty SL 8000 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eScultura 400 listing
- Tredz, Merida eSilex 400 listing
- MAHLE, X30 drive unit manual (“Power: 250 W. Max. speed: 25km/h or 20 mph (limited by region)”)
- Tredz, Merida eSilex+ 600 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eSpeeder 200 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eSpeeder 400EQ listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eSpresso CC 400 listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eSpresso CC 575 Electric bike Grey/Black listing
- Leisure Lakes Bikes, Merida eSpresso CC 675 listing
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "merida"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "merida"
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW