Are Raleigh electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Raleigh model checked against the law where you ride. Raleigh data checked 26 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

Legal as listedIn the UK, 16 of Raleigh's 16 UK models are legal as listed.

The law in the UK, in short

  • Motor: 250 W max2
  • Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
  • Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
  • Rider age: 14 or over2
  • Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2
How I check Raleigh e-bikes
  • The bikes. Raleigh sells through shops, so I read the listing for every Raleigh e-bike sold by Tredz and Leisure Lakes Bikes on 26 October 2026. Each listing names the motor; its rated power and the speed it helps up to come from the motor maker's own specification (Bosch, Shimano, MAHLE), linked next to each figure. A listing that doesn't name the motor is left out.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Raleigh's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Raleigh's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202620; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202621. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Raleigh's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

UK e-bike law in full · Battery safety and recalls

Raleigh e-bikes sold in the UK

Raleigh Hockley electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Hockley

£2,150

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,150
Motor Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing3 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Hockley Mid Step electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Hockley Mid Step

£2,150

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,150
Motor Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing5 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Motus Cross Bar electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Raleigh Motus Cross Bar

£2,199

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,199
Motor Bosch Active Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing6 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Cross Bar electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Cross Bar

£2,699

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,699
Motor Bosch Active Line Plus, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing7 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Step Through electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Step Through

£2,599

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,599
Motor Bosch Active Line Plus, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing8 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Step Through Electri Bike  Cream electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Step Through Electri Bike Cream

£2,599

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,599
Motor Bosch Active Line Plus, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing9 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Motus Low Step Derailleur electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Motus Low Step Derailleur

£2,299

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,299
Motor Bosch Performance Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing10 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Motus Step Through electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Raleigh Motus Step Through

£2,199

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,199
Motor Bosch Active Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing11 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Motus Tour Cross Bar electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Raleigh Motus Tour Cross Bar

£2,399

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,399
Motor Bosch Active Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing12 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Motus Tour Step Through electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Raleigh Motus Tour Step Through

£2,399

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,399
Motor Bosch Active Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing13 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Novus High Step Derailleur electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Novus High Step Derailleur

£2,399

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,399
Motor Bosch Performance Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing14 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Novus High Step Hub electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Novus High Step Hub

£2,499

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,499
Motor Bosch Performance Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing15 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Novus Low Step Derailleur electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Novus Low Step Derailleur

£2,399

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,399
Motor Bosch Performance Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing16 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Novus Low Step Hub electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Novus Low Step Hub

£2,399

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,399
Motor Bosch Performance Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing17 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Novus Plus High Step Derailleur electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Novus Plus High Step Derailleur

£2,499

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,499
Motor Bosch Performance Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing18 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Raleigh Novus Plus Low Step Derailleur electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Raleigh Novus Plus Low Step Derailleur

£2,499

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £2,499
Motor Bosch Performance Line, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing19 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Are Raleigh electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Raleigh e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Raleigh, as of the last check.20, 21

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Raleigh batteries certified?

What Raleigh's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 16; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 16.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate22.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to23.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark24.

Questions people ask about Raleigh

Are Raleigh e-bikes legal in the UK?

Of the 16 e-bikes on Raleigh's UK store, 16 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1.

Has Raleigh had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked20, 21.

Do Raleigh e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Raleigh, as of the last check.20, 21

Are Raleigh e-bike batteries certified?

UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 16; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 16. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Raleigh) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Raleigh's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Raleigh publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the UK
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ✓
16 of 16 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2620
Total 3 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Raleigh data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Raleigh, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Tredz, Raleigh Hockley listing
  4. Bosch eBike Systems, drive unit comparison (“Rated continuous output 250 W”; “Max. supported speed 25 km/h”, 45 km/h for Performance Line Speed)
  5. Tredz, Raleigh Hockley Mid Step listing
  6. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Raleigh Motus Cross Bar listing
  7. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Cross Bar listing
  8. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Step Through listing
  9. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Raleigh Motus Grand Tour Step Through Electri Bike Cream listing
  10. Tredz, Raleigh Motus Low Step Derailleur listing
  11. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Raleigh Motus Step Through listing
  12. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Raleigh Motus Tour Cross Bar listing
  13. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Raleigh Motus Tour Step Through listing
  14. Tredz, Raleigh Novus High Step Derailleur listing
  15. Tredz, Raleigh Novus High Step Hub listing
  16. Tredz, Raleigh Novus Low Step Derailleur listing
  17. Tredz, Raleigh Novus Low Step Hub listing
  18. Tredz, Raleigh Novus Plus High Step Derailleur listing
  19. Tredz, Raleigh Novus Plus Low Step Derailleur listing
  20. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "raleigh"
  21. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "raleigh"
  22. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  23. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  24. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026