Are Tezeus electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Tezeus has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power8
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling8
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)9
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval8
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer10
How I check Tezeus e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Tezeus's own product page for all 3 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Tezeus's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Tezeus's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20266; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 20267. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Tezeus's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Tezeus e-bikes sold in the EU

Photo: Tezeus
Tezeus C6T
€2,399
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €2,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W3 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h3 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tezeus's product page3. “Not stated” means Tezeus doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tezeus
Tezeus Swift
€1,099
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated4
Specs
| Price | €1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W4 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tezeus's product page4. “Not stated” means Tezeus doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tezeus
Tezeus C8
€2,499
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for the EU.
Specs
| Price | €2,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tezeus's product page5. “Not stated” means Tezeus doesn't publish it.
Tezeus has no US store1. The rules there are on the California page.
Tezeus has no US store1. The rules there are on the New York City page.
Tezeus has no US store1. The rules there are on the Florida page.
Tezeus has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Tezeus electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Tezeus e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Tezeus, as of the last check.6, 7
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Tezeus batteries certified?
What Tezeus's own product pages claim, model by model:
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate11.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to12.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark13.
Questions people ask about Tezeus
Has Tezeus had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked6, 7.
Do Tezeus e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Tezeus, as of the last check.6, 7
Are Tezeus e-bike batteries certified?
EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Tezeus) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Tezeus's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Tezeus publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the EU |
|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 2 of 3 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
| Total | 1.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Tezeus data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Tezeus, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Tezeus EU, C6T product page
- Tezeus EU, Swift product page
- Tezeus EU, C8 product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "tezeus"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "tezeus"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW