Are Urwahn electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Urwahn has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power9
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling9
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)10
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval9
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer11
How I check Urwahn e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Urwahn's own product page for all 2 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Urwahn's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Urwahn's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20267; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 20268. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Urwahn's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Urwahn e-bikes sold in the EU

Photo: Urwahn
Urwahn Stadtfuchs (urban)
from €3,749
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 275 W peak, rated power not stated5; the limit is 250 W9
Specs
| Price | from €3,749 |
|---|---|
| Motor | MAHLE X20 rear hub motor, 275 W peak; rated power not published5 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the EU)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Urwahn's product page3. “Not stated” means Urwahn doesn't publish it.

Photo: Urwahn
Urwahn Waldwiesel (gravel)
from €3,749
?Can't confirmMotor listed at 275 W peak, rated power not stated5; the limit is 250 W9
Specs
| Price | from €3,749 |
|---|---|
| Motor | MAHLE X20 rear hub motor, 275 W peak; rated power not published5 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the EU)4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Urwahn's product page6. “Not stated” means Urwahn doesn't publish it.
Urwahn has no US store1. The rules there are on the California page.
Urwahn has no US store1. The rules there are on the New York City page.
Urwahn has no US store1. The rules there are on the Florida page.
Urwahn has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Urwahn electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Urwahn e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Urwahn, as of the last check.7, 8
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Urwahn batteries certified?
What Urwahn's own product pages claim, model by model:
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 2; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 2.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate12.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to13.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark14.
Questions people ask about Urwahn
Has Urwahn had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked7, 8.
Do Urwahn e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Urwahn, as of the last check.7, 8
Are Urwahn e-bike batteries certified?
EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 2; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 2. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Urwahn) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Urwahn's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Urwahn publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the EU |
|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 2 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
| Total | 1 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Urwahn data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Urwahn, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Urwahn EU store, e-bikes
- MAHLE, X20 drive unit manual (“Max. speed: 25km/h or 20 mph (limited by region)”)
- MAHLE press release: the X20 “boosts peak power output to 275 W”
- Urwahn EU, Waldwiesel (gravel) product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "urwahn"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "urwahn"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW