Are Velowave electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
Velowave has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Velowave has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
The law in California, in short
- Motor: 750 W max17
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph17
- Throttle: Class 2 only, to 20 mph17
- Battery, if bought new: Lab-tested to UL 2849 or EN 15194, mark on the bike18
- Class 3 riders: 16 or over, helmet on19
How I check Velowave e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Velowave's own product page for all 11 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Velowave's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Velowave's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202615; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202616. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Velowave's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Velowave e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Fat Tire Electric Bike
$1,199
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated3
Specs
| Price | $1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page3. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger 3.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike
$1,599
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak5; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 3.0 Torque Sensor Electric Bike
$1,599
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak6; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Breeze T Torque Sensor Electric Bike
$1,499
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for California.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Swift M Mid-Drive Electric Bike
$1,799
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found8; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here18
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | None stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page8. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 2.0 Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,200 W peak9; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Pony Compact Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak10; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Grace 2.0 Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,699
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak11; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak11 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph11 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated11 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page11. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Rover Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,299
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,275 W peak12; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,275 W peak12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph12 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated12 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page12. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Prado S Commuter Electric Bike
$1,299
?Can't confirmRated 750 W but listed at 1,275 W peak13; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
The law in New York City, in short
- Speed limit: 15 mph on city streets20
- Shops can sell: E-bikes up to 25 mph20
- Certification to sell: UL 2849 bike, UL 2271 battery21
- Rider age: 16 or over20
- Licence or plate: Not needed for Class 1 to 320
How I check Velowave e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Velowave's own product page for all 11 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Velowave's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in New York City, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Velowave's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202615; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202616. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Velowave's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Velowave e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Fat Tire Electric Bike
$1,199
?Can't confirmTop assisted speed not stated3
Specs
| Price | $1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page3. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger 3.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike
$1,599
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 3.0 Torque Sensor Electric Bike
$1,599
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Breeze T Torque Sensor Electric Bike
$1,499
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Swift M Mid-Drive Electric Bike
$1,799
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here21
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | None stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page8. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 2.0 Electric Bike
$1,499
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Pony Compact Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found10; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here21

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Grace 2.0 Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,699
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph11; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak11 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph11 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated11 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page11. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Rover Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,299
✗Not legal as listedListed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,275 W peak12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph12 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated12 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page12. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Prado S Commuter Electric Bike
$1,299
?Can't confirmNo UL 2849 claim found13; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here21
The law in Florida, in short
- Motor: Less than 750 W22
- Classes: 1 and 2 to 20 mph, 3 to 28 mph22
- Licence, registration, insurance: Not needed23
- Helmet: Under 16s24
- Label: Class, top speed and wattage23
How I check Velowave e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Velowave's own product page for all 11 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Velowave's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in Florida, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Velowave's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202615; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202616. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Velowave's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Velowave e-bikes sold in the US

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Fat Tire Electric Bike
$1,199
?Can't confirmMotor power not stated3
Specs
| Price | $1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page3. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger 3.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike
$1,599
?Can't confirm
Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 3.0 Torque Sensor Electric Bike
$1,599
?Can't confirm
Photo: Velowave
Velowave Breeze T Torque Sensor Electric Bike
$1,499
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Swift M Mid-Drive Electric Bike
$1,799
✓Legal as listedListed inside the limits for Florida.
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | None stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page8. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 2.0 Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirm
Photo: Velowave
Velowave Pony Compact Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirm
Photo: Velowave
Velowave Grace 2.0 Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,699
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W11; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak11 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph11 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated11 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page11. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Rover Step-Thru Electric Bike
$1,299
?Can't confirmListed at 750 W12; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,275 W peak12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph12 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated12 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velowave's product page12. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velowave
Velowave Prado S Commuter Electric Bike
$1,299
?Can't confirm
Photo: Velowave
Velowave Ranger 2.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike
$1,499
?Can't confirmVelowave has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
Are Velowave electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Velowave e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Velowave, as of the last check.15, 16
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Velowave batteries certified?
What Velowave's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 5 of 11; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 11.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate25.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to18.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark26.
Questions people ask about Velowave
Are Velowave e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 5 of the 11 models on Velowave's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 01. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Velowave had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked15, 16.
Do Velowave e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Velowave, as of the last check.15, 16
Are Velowave e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 5 of 11; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 11. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Velowave) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Velowave's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Velowave publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 1 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 11 models5, 6, 7, 9, 14 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 11 models5, 6, 7, 9, 14 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 11 models5, 6, 7, 9, 14 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2616 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2616 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2616 |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 2.5 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Velowave data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Velowave, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Velowave US, Ranger Fat Tire Electric Bike product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Velowave US, Ranger 3.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Ranger Step-Thru 3.0 Torque Sensor Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Breeze T Torque Sensor Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Swift M Mid-Drive Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Ranger Step-Thru 2.0 Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Pony Compact Step-Thru Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Grace 2.0 Step-Thru Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Rover Step-Thru Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Prado S Commuter Electric Bike product page
- Velowave US, Ranger 2.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "velowave"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "velowave"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW