Are Whyte electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Whyte model checked against the law where you ride. Whyte data checked 26 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

Legal as listedIn the UK, 12 of Whyte's 12 UK models are legal as listed.

The law in the UK, in short

  • Motor: 250 W max2
  • Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
  • Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
  • Rider age: 14 or over2
  • Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2
How I check Whyte e-bikes
  • The bikes. Whyte sells through shops, so I read the listing for every Whyte e-bike sold by Leisure Lakes Bikes on 26 October 2026. Each listing names the motor; its rated power and the speed it helps up to come from the motor maker's own specification (Bosch, Shimano, MAHLE), linked next to each figure. A listing that doesn't name the motor is left out.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Whyte's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Whyte's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202616; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202617. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Whyte's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

UK e-bike law in full · Battery safety and recalls

Whyte e-bikes sold in the UK

Whyte E electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E

£3,999

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £3,999
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing3 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte E-Lyte 140 Works electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E-Lyte 140 Works

£10,999

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £10,999
Motor Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing5 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte E-Lyte 150 RSX electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E-Lyte 150 RSX

£7,999

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £7,999
Motor Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing6 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte E-Lyte 150 Works electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E-Lyte 150 Works

£9,999

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £9,999
Motor Bosch Performance Line SX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing7 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte E160 RS MX/27.5 Enduro electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E160 RS MX/27.5 Enduro

£7,699

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £7,699
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing8 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte E160 S 29er electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E160 S 29er

£6,399

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £6,399
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing9 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte E160 S MX/27.5 Enduro electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E160 S MX/27.5 Enduro

£6,399

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £6,399
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing10 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte E504 Sram GX 11spd 27.5 electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E504 Sram GX 11spd 27.5

£3,899

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £3,899
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing11 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte E505 Sram GX 11spd Electric 29er Mountain Bike  Black Grey electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte E505 Sram GX 11spd Electric 29er Mountain Bike Black Grey

£3,899

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £3,899
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing12 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte e150 RS 29er electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte e150 RS 29er

£6,499

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £6,499
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing13 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte e150 S 29er electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte e150 S 29er

£5,999

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £5,999
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing14 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Whyte e160 S 27.5 electric bike, photo from Leisure Lakes Bikes

Photo: Leisure Lakes Bikes

Whyte e160 S 27.5

£5,999

Legal as listed

Listed inside the limits for the UK.

Specs
Price £5,999
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Leisure Lakes Bikes' listing15 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Are Whyte electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Whyte e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Whyte, as of the last check.16, 17

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Whyte batteries certified?

What Whyte's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 12; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 12.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate18.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to19.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark20.

Questions people ask about Whyte

Are Whyte e-bikes legal in the UK?

Of the 12 e-bikes on Whyte's UK store, 12 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1.

Has Whyte had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked16, 17.

Do Whyte e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Whyte, as of the last check.16, 17

Are Whyte e-bike batteries certified?

UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 12; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 12. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Whyte) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Whyte's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Whyte publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the UK
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ✓
12 of 12 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2616
Total 3 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Whyte data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Whyte, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E listing
  4. Bosch eBike Systems, drive unit comparison (“Rated continuous output 250 W”; “Max. supported speed 25 km/h”, 45 km/h for Performance Line Speed)
  5. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E-Lyte 140 Works listing
  6. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E-Lyte 150 RSX listing
  7. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E-Lyte 150 Works listing
  8. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E160 RS MX/27.5 Enduro listing
  9. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E160 S 29er listing
  10. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E160 S MX/27.5 Enduro listing
  11. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E504 Sram GX 11spd 27.5 listing
  12. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte E505 Sram GX 11spd Electric 29er Mountain Bike Black Grey listing
  13. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte e150 RS 29er listing
  14. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte e150 S 29er listing
  15. Leisure Lakes Bikes, Whyte e160 S 27.5 listing
  16. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "whyte"
  17. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "whyte"
  18. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  19. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  20. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026