Are Scott electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Scott model checked against the law where you ride. Scott data checked 26 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 6 Scott e-bikes sold in the UK, as listed by Tredz and Tweeks Cycles. In the UK (£3,199 to £10,099), 3 of 6 are legal as listed and 3 can't be confirmed from the published specs.

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Legal as listedIn the UK, 3 of Scott's 6 UK models are legal as listed; 3 can't be confirmed from what Scott publishes.

The law in the UK, in short

  • Motor: 250 W max2
  • Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
  • Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
  • Rider age: 14 or over2
  • Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2

UK e-bike law in full · Battery safety and recalls

Every Scott model, with its mark in each area ↓

How I check Scott e-bikes
  • The bikes. Scott sells through shops, so I read the listing for every Scott e-bike sold by Tredz and Tweeks Cycles on 26 October 2026. Each listing names the motor; its rated power and the speed it helps up to come from the motor maker's own specification (Bosch, Shimano, MAHLE), linked next to each figure. A listing that doesn't name the motor is left out.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Scott's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Scott's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202610; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202611. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Scott's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Scott Aspect eRIDE: is it legal?

Scott Aspect eRIDE 910 Wave electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Scott Aspect eRIDE 910 Wave

£3,199

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price £3,199
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing3 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Scott Fastlane: is it legal?

Scott Fastlane 20 Road electric bike, photo from Tweeks Cycles

Photo: Tweeks Cycles

Scott Fastlane 20 Road

£6,499

🇬🇧 UK Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.

  • 🇬🇧 the UK: Motor power not stated5
Specs
Price £6,499
Motor TQ HPR40; rated power not given in the listing5
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tweeks Cycles' listing5 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Scott Patron (ST 900, ST 910): are they legal?

Scott Patron ST 900 RC electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Scott Patron ST 900 RC

£5,699

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price £5,699
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing6 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Scott Patron ST 910 electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Scott Patron ST 910

£4,950

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price £4,950
Motor Bosch Performance Line CX, 250 W rated4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (Bosch's figure for this drive unit)4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing7 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Scott Solace Gravel: is it legal?

Scott Solace Gravel 30 electric bike, photo from Tweeks Cycles

Photo: Tweeks Cycles

Scott Solace Gravel 30

£5,699

🇬🇧 UK Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.

  • 🇬🇧 the UK: Motor power not stated8
Specs
Price £5,699
Motor TQ HPR60; rated power not given in the listing8
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tweeks Cycles' listing8 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Scott Voltage eRIDE: is it legal?

Scott Voltage eRIDE 900 Tuned electric bike, photo from Tredz

Photo: Tredz

Scott Voltage eRIDE 900 Tuned

£10,099

🇬🇧 UK Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.

  • 🇬🇧 the UK: Motor power not stated9
Specs
Price £10,099
Motor TQ HPR50; rated power not given in the listing9
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Tredz's listing9 and the drive maker's specification. “Not stated” means neither gives it.

Can you unlock an Scott e-bike's speed limit?

None of Scott's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.

What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:

  • 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.

Are Scott electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Scott e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Scott, as of the last check.10, 11

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Scott batteries certified?

What Scott's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 6; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 6.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate12.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to13.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark14.

Scott e-bike FAQ

Are Scott e-bikes legal in the UK?

Of the 6 e-bikes on Scott's UK store, 3 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1. For 3 more, a figure the law depends on, such as a throttle's top speed or the motor's rated power, isn't published1.

Has Scott had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked10, 11.

Can you unlock an Scott e-bike's speed limit?

None of Scott's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.

Do Scott e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Scott, as of the last check.10, 11

Are Scott e-bike batteries certified?

UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 6; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 6. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Scott) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Scott's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Scott publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the UK
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ◐ partly
3 of 6 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2610
Total 2.5 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Scott data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Scott, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Tredz, Scott Aspect eRIDE 910 Wave listing
  4. Bosch eBike Systems, drive unit comparison (“Rated continuous output 250 W”; “Max. supported speed 25 km/h”, 45 km/h for Performance Line Speed)
  5. Tweeks Cycles, Scott Fastlane 20 Road listing
  6. Tredz, Scott Patron ST 900 RC listing
  7. Tredz, Scott Patron ST 910 listing
  8. Tweeks Cycles, Scott Solace Gravel 30 listing
  9. Tredz, Scott Voltage eRIDE 900 Tuned listing
  10. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "scott"
  11. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "scott"
  12. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  13. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  14. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026