Are Ampler electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Ampler model checked against the law where you ride. Ampler data checked 25 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 5 Ampler e-bikes sold in the EU. In the EU (€3,080 to €3,690), 5 of 5 are legal as listed.

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Not sold hereAmpler doesn't sell e-bikes in the UK.

Ampler has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.

How I check Ampler e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read Ampler's own product page for all 5 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Ampler's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Ampler's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202612; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202613. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Ampler's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Ampler Curt: is it legal?

Ampler Curt electric bike, photo from Ampler

Photo: Ampler

Ampler Curt

€3,690

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €3,690
Motor 250 W rated, 400 W peak5
Top assisted speed 25 km/h5
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Ampler's EU product page4. “Not stated” means Ampler doesn't publish it.

Ampler Nova (Pro high-step, high-step, low-step and more): are they legal?

Ampler Nova Pro high-step electric bike, photo from Ampler

Photo: Ampler

Ampler Nova Pro high-step

€3,490

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €3,490
Motor 250 W rated, 400 W peak7
Top assisted speed 25 km/h7
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Ampler's EU product page6. “Not stated” means Ampler doesn't publish it.

Ampler Nova high-step electric bike, photo from Ampler

Photo: Ampler

Ampler Nova high-step

€3,080

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €3,080
Motor 250 W rated, 400 W peak9
Top assisted speed 25 km/h9
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Ampler's EU product page8. “Not stated” means Ampler doesn't publish it.

Ampler Nova low-step electric bike, photo from Ampler

Photo: Ampler

Ampler Nova low-step

€3,080

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €3,080
Motor 250 W rated, 400 W peak9
Top assisted speed 25 km/h9
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Ampler's EU product page10. “Not stated” means Ampler doesn't publish it.

Ampler Nova Pro low-step electric bike, photo from Ampler

Photo: Ampler

Ampler Nova Pro low-step

€3,490

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €3,490
Motor 250 W rated, 400 W peak7
Top assisted speed 25 km/h7
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Ampler's EU product page11. “Not stated” means Ampler doesn't publish it.

Are Ampler electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Ampler e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Ampler, as of the last check.12, 13

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Ampler batteries certified?

What Ampler's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 5; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 5.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate19.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to20.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark21.

Ampler e-bike FAQ

Has Ampler had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked12, 13.

Do Ampler e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Ampler, as of the last check.12, 13

Are Ampler e-bike batteries certified?

EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 5; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 5. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Ampler) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Ampler's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Ampler publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the EU
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ✓
5 of 5 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✗ not found
Not yet checked against this market’s database
Total 2 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Ampler data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Ampler, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Ampler EU store, e-bikes
  4. Ampler EU, Curt product page
  5. Ampler, Curt specifications (“Ampler 250W Rear Hub Motor, 45Nm Torque, 400W Peak Power. Assist Speed 25 km/h”)
  6. Ampler EU, Nova Pro high-step product page
  7. Ampler, Nova Pro specifications (“Ampler 250W Rear Hub Motor, 45Nm Torque, 400W Peak Power. Assist Speed 25 km/h”)
  8. Ampler EU, Nova high-step product page
  9. Ampler, Nova specifications (“Ampler 250W Rear Hub Motor, 45Nm Torque, 400W Peak Power. Assist Speed 25 km/h”)
  10. Ampler EU, Nova low-step product page
  11. Ampler EU, Nova Pro low-step product page
  12. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "ampler"
  13. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "ampler"
  14. Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
  15. Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
  16. Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
  17. The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
  18. Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
  19. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  20. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  21. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026