Are Samebike electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Samebike model checked against the law where you ride. Samebike data checked 25 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 12 Samebike e-bikes sold in the EU. In the EU (€599 to €1,599), 9 of 12 are legal as listed and 3 are listed outside the limits (M20-III, M20, LO26-II-YD).

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Not sold hereSamebike doesn't sell e-bikes in the UK.

Samebike has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.

How I check Samebike e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read Samebike's own product page for all 12 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Samebike's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Samebike's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202616; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202617. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Samebike's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Samebike M20-III, M20: are they legal?

Samebike M20-III electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike M20-III

€1,599

🇪🇺 EU Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

  • 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor listed at 2,000 W4; the limit is 250 W18
Specs
Price €1,599
Motor 2000 W4
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)4
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated4
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page4. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike M20 electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike M20

€1,299

🇪🇺 EU Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

  • 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor listed at 1,000 W10; the limit is 250 W18
Specs
Price €1,299
Motor 1000 W10
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)10
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated10
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page10. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike EBE2 Commuting Mountain: is it legal?

Samebike EBE2 Commuting Mountain electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike EBE2 Commuting Mountain

€599

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €599
Motor 250 W5
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)5
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page5. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike CY20 Pro Portable, CY20: are they legal?

Samebike CY20 Pro Portable Commuter electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike CY20 Pro Portable Commuter

€699

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €699
Motor 250 W6
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page6. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike CY20 250W Portable Folding electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike CY20 250W Portable Folding

€659

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €659
Motor 250 W7
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)7
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page7. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike XD26-II Urban Commuting: is it legal?

Samebike XD26-II Urban Commuting electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike XD26-II Urban Commuting

€859

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €859
Motor 250 W8
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)8
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page8. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike SY26-II Mountain: is it legal?

Samebike SY26-II Mountain electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike SY26-II Mountain

€659

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €659
Motor 250 W9
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)9
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page9. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike C05 Pro: is it legal?

Samebike C05 Pro electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike C05 Pro

€859

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €859
Motor 250 W11
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)11
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page11. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike RS-A07, RS-A01 Pro Commuter: are they legal?

Samebike RS-A07 250W Step-through City electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike RS-A07 250W Step-through City

€899

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €899
Motor 250 W12
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)12
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page12. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike RS-A01 Pro Commuter electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike RS-A01 Pro Commuter

€699

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €699
Motor 250 W13
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)13
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page13. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike LO26-II-YD: is it legal?

Samebike LO26-II-YD electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike LO26-II-YD

€899

🇪🇺 EU Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

  • 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor listed at 500 W14; the limit is 250 W18
Specs
Price €899
Motor 500 W14
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)14
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page14. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Samebike 20LVXD30-II: is it legal?

Samebike 20LVXD30-II 250W Folding electric bike, photo from Samebike

Photo: Samebike

Samebike 20LVXD30-II 250W Folding

€699

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €699
Motor 250 W15
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“25KM/H Default Speed”)15
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Samebike's EU product page15. “Not stated” means Samebike doesn't publish it.

Are Samebike electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Samebike e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Samebike, as of the last check.16, 17

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Samebike batteries certified?

What Samebike's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 12; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 12.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate23.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to24.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark25.

Samebike e-bike FAQ

Has Samebike had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked16, 17.

Do Samebike e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Samebike, as of the last check.16, 17

Are Samebike e-bike batteries certified?

EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 12; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 12. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Samebike) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Samebike's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Samebike publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the EU
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ◐ partly
9 of 12 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✗ not found
Samebike M20-III (EU): page advertises unlocking or a faster mode4
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✗ not found
Not yet checked against this market’s database
Total 0.5 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Samebike data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Samebike, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Samebike EU store, e-bikes
  4. Samebike EU, M20-III product page
  5. Samebike EU, EBE2 Commuting Mountain product page
  6. Samebike EU, CY20 Pro Portable Commuter product page
  7. Samebike EU, CY20 250W Portable Folding product page
  8. Samebike EU, XD26-II Urban Commuting product page
  9. Samebike EU, SY26-II Mountain product page
  10. Samebike EU, M20 product page
  11. Samebike EU, C05 Pro product page
  12. Samebike EU, RS-A07 250W Step-through City product page
  13. Samebike EU, RS-A01 Pro Commuter product page
  14. Samebike EU, LO26-II-YD product page
  15. Samebike EU, 20LVXD30-II 250W Folding product page
  16. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "samebike"
  17. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "samebike"
  18. Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
  19. Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
  20. Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
  21. The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
  22. Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
  23. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  24. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  25. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026