Are CYKE electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every CYKE model checked against the law where you ride. CYKE data checked 26 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 8 CYKE e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($1,799 to $3,399), 1 of 8 is legal as listed; 5 can't be confirmed from what CYKE publishes and 2 are listed outside the limits (Falcon, Falcon S Full).

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Not sold hereCYKE doesn't sell e-bikes in the UK.

CYKE has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.

How I check CYKE e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read CYKE's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in CYKE's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If CYKE's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202611; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202612. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means CYKE's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

CYKE Kingfisher Mid-Drive: is it legal?

CYKE Kingfisher Mid-Drive Folding eBike electric bike, photo from CYKE

Photo: CYKE

CYKE Kingfisher Mid-Drive Folding eBike

$1,999

🇺🇸 California Legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price $1,999
Motor 360 W3
Top assisted speed 32 km/h3
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2849 stated3

From CYKE's US product page3. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

CYKE Falcon (X Full, S Full, A Full): are they legal?

CYKE Falcon X Full Suspension Ebike electric bike, photo from CYKE

Photo: CYKE

CYKE Falcon X Full Suspension Ebike

$3,399

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,000 W4; the limit is 750 W13
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,000 W4; the limit is less than 750 W18
Specs
Price $3,399
Motor 1000 W rated, 1,100 W peak4
Top assisted speed 28 mph4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2849 stated4

From CYKE's US product page4. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

CYKE Falcon S Full Suspension Ebike electric bike, photo from CYKE

Photo: CYKE

CYKE Falcon S Full Suspension Ebike

$3,399

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,000 W5; the limit is 750 W13
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,000 W5; the limit is less than 750 W18
Specs
Price $3,399
Motor 1000 W rated, 1,100 W peak5
Top assisted speed 28 mph5
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2849 stated5

From CYKE's US product page5. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

CYKE Falcon A Full Suspension Ebike electric bike, photo from CYKE

Photo: CYKE

CYKE Falcon A Full Suspension Ebike

$2,815

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated6. The throttle limit is 20 mph13
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated6. The throttle limit is 20 mph18
Specs
Price $2,815
Motor 500 W rated, 750 W peak6
Top assisted speed 28 mph6
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated6
Certification stated UL 2849 stated6

From CYKE's US product page6. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

CYKE Lynx Commuter: is it legal?

CYKE Lynx Commuter Ebike electric bike, photo from CYKE

Photo: CYKE

CYKE Lynx Commuter Ebike

$1,899

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated7
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated7
Specs
Price $1,899
Motor Not stated
Top assisted speed 28 mph7
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated7
Certification stated UL 2849 stated7

From CYKE's US product page7. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

CYKE Cheetah Hunting: is it legal?

CYKE Cheetah Hunting Ebike electric bike, photo from CYKE

Photo: CYKE

CYKE Cheetah Hunting Ebike

$1,899

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated8
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph8; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated8
Specs
Price $1,899
Motor Not stated
Top assisted speed 28 mph8
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated8
Certification stated UL 2849 stated8

From CYKE's US product page8. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

CYKE Grizzly Foldable: is it legal?

CYKE Grizzly Foldable Ebike electric bike, photo from CYKE

Photo: CYKE

CYKE Grizzly Foldable Ebike

$1,799

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated9
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated9
Specs
Price $1,799
Motor Not stated
Top assisted speed 28 mph9
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated9
Certification stated UL 2849 stated9

From CYKE's US product page9. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

CYKE Collie: is it legal?

CYKE Collie Cargo Ebike electric bike, photo from CYKE

Photo: CYKE

CYKE Collie Cargo Ebike

$1,799

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated10
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph10; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph16
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated10
Specs
Price $1,799
Motor Not stated
Top assisted speed 28 mph10
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated10
Certification stated UL 2849 stated10

From CYKE's US product page10. “Not stated” means CYKE doesn't publish it.

Can you unlock an CYKE e-bike's speed limit?

None of CYKE's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.

What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:

  • 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike13. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike13.
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label19.

Are CYKE electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have CYKE e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for CYKE, as of the last check.11, 12

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are CYKE batteries certified?

What CYKE's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 8; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 8.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate23.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to14.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark24.

CYKE e-bike FAQ

Are CYKE e-bikes UL certified?

UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 8 of the 8 models on CYKE's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 01. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.

Has CYKE had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked11, 12.

Can you unlock an CYKE e-bike's speed limit?

None of CYKE's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike13. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike13.

Do CYKE e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for CYKE, as of the last check.11, 12

Are CYKE e-bike batteries certified?

US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 8; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 8. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (CYKE) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

CYKE's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what CYKE publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check California New York City Florida
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ◐ partly
1 of 8 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
1 of 8 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
1 of 8 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✓
UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
✓
UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
✓
UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 8 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2612
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2612
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2612
Total 3.5 of 6 3.5 of 6 3.5 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (CYKE data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. CYKE, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. CYKE US, Kingfisher Mid-Drive Folding eBike product page
  4. CYKE US, Falcon X Full Suspension Ebike product page
  5. CYKE US, Falcon S Full Suspension Ebike product page
  6. CYKE US, Falcon A Full Suspension Ebike product page
  7. CYKE US, Lynx Commuter Ebike product page
  8. CYKE US, Cheetah Hunting Ebike product page
  9. CYKE US, Grizzly Foldable Ebike product page
  10. CYKE US, Collie Cargo Ebike product page
  11. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "cyke"
  12. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "cyke"
  13. California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
  14. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  15. California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
  16. NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
  17. City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
  18. Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
  19. Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
  20. Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
  21. Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
  22. The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
  23. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  24. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026