Are Kingbull electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 13 Kingbull e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($899 to $1,899), 0 of 13 are legal as listed and 13 can't be confirmed from what Kingbull publishes.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
Kingbull has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Kingbull has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
Kingbull has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Kingbull e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Kingbull's own product page for all 13 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Kingbull's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Kingbull's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202617; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202618. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Kingbull's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Kingbull Expedition: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Expedition
$1,199
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak4; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak19
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W4; the law says less than 750 W24
Specs
| Price | $1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Kingbull's US product page4. “Not stated” means Kingbull doesn't publish it.
Kingbull Double (Kingbull Hunter, Kingbull Ranger): are they legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Double Kingbull Hunter 2.0S
$1,848
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak5; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak19
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W5; the law says less than 750 W24
Specs
| Price | $1,848 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph5 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated5 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Kingbull's US product page5. “Not stated” means Kingbull doesn't publish it.

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Double Kingbull Ranger
$1,648
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak6; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak19
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W6; the law says less than 750 W24
Specs
| Price | $1,648 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak6 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph6 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated6 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Kingbull's US product page6. “Not stated” means Kingbull doesn't publish it.
Kingbull Hunter 2.0S: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Hunter 2.0S
$999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak7; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak19
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W7; the law says less than 750 W24
Specs
| Price | $999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Kingbull's US product page7. “Not stated” means Kingbull doesn't publish it.
Kingbull Ranger: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Ranger
$899
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak8; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak19
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph8; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W8; the law says less than 750 W24
Specs
| Price | $899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Kingbull's US product page8. “Not stated” means Kingbull doesn't publish it.
Kingbull Voyager: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Voyager 2.0
$1,199
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated9
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated9
Specs
| Price | $1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph9 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph9 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated9 |
From Kingbull's US product page9. “Not stated” means Kingbull doesn't publish it.
Kingbull Discover2.0: is it legal?
Kingbull Rover: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Rover 2.0
$1,299
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Kingbull Literider: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Literider 2.0
$979
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated12
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated12
Specs
| Price | $979 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph12 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph12 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated12 |
From Kingbull's US product page12. “Not stated” means Kingbull doesn't publish it.
Kingbull Trekker: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Trekker
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Kingbull EX Titan: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull EX Titan
$1,699
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Kingbull Jumper Go: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Jumper Go
$1,899
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Kingbull Verve: is it legal?

Photo: Kingbull
Kingbull Verve
$1,349
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Can you unlock an Kingbull e-bike's speed limit?
None of Kingbull's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike19. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike19.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label25.
Are Kingbull electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Kingbull e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Kingbull, as of the last check.17, 18
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Kingbull batteries certified?
What Kingbull's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 13; UL 2271 (the battery) on 3 of 13.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate29.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to20.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark30.
Kingbull e-bike FAQ
Are Kingbull e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 8 of the 13 models on Kingbull's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 31. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Kingbull had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked17, 18.
Can you unlock an Kingbull e-bike's speed limit?
None of Kingbull's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike19. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike19.
Do Kingbull e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Kingbull, as of the last check.17, 18
Are Kingbull e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 13; UL 2271 (the battery) on 3 of 13. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are EMOKO e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Lacros e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Burchda e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Lectric e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Kingbull) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Kingbull's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Kingbull publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 13 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 13 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 13 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 13 models9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 13 models9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 13 models9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 3 of 13 models9, 10, 11 |
◐ partly Claimed on 3 of 13 models9, 10, 11 |
◐ partly Claimed on 3 of 13 models9, 10, 11 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2618 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2618 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2618 |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 | 3 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Kingbull data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Kingbull, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Kingbull US, Expedition product page
- Kingbull US, Double Kingbull Hunter 2.0S product page
- Kingbull US, Double Kingbull Ranger product page
- Kingbull US, Hunter 2.0S product page
- Kingbull US, Ranger product page
- Kingbull US, Voyager 2.0 product page
- Kingbull US, Discover2.0 product page
- Kingbull US, Rover 2.0 product page
- Kingbull US, Literider 2.0 product page
- Kingbull US, Trekker product page
- Kingbull US, EX Titan product page
- Kingbull US, Jumper Go product page
- Kingbull US, Verve product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "kingbull"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "kingbull"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW
