Are Lectric electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 15 Lectric e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($799 to $1,799), 0 of 15 are legal as listed and 15 can't be confirmed from what Lectric publishes. One regulator record names Lectric (US); it's under battery safety and recalls.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
Lectric has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Lectric has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
Lectric has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Lectric e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Lectric's own product page for all 15 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Lectric's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Lectric's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202621; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202622. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Lectric's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Lectric XPress Lite: is it legal?

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress Lite
$1,099
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 864 W peak4; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated4. The throttle limit is 20 mph28
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 864 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's US product page4. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.
Lectric XPress2 Cruiser, XPress2 Commuter: are they legal?

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress2 Cruiser
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPress2 Commuter
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Lectric XP4, XP Lite2: are they legal?

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 750
$1,299
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 750 Step-Thru
$1,299
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4
$999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP4 Step-Thru
$999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP Lite2
$799
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range
$999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Lectric XPeak2: are they legal?

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 High-Step
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range
$1,699
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range
$1,699
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Lectric XPedition2, XPedition2 Dual-Battery: are they legal?

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPedition2
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak16; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph16; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W16; the law says less than 750 W28
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,310 W peak16 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (listed as “Class 1, 2, or 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law15)16 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated16 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's US product page16. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Lectric
Lectric XPedition2 Dual-Battery
$1,799
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,310 W peak17; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak23
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph17; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph26
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W17; the law says less than 750 W28
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,310 W peak17 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (listed as “Class 1, 2, or 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law15)17 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated17 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Lectric's US product page17. “Not stated” means Lectric doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Lectric e-bike's speed limit?
None of Lectric's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike23. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike23.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label29.
Are Lectric electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Lectric e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Lectric, as of the last check.21, 22
Lectric has 1 other regulator record, none about fire:
- Lectric XP 3.0 and XP Step-Thru 3.0 (previous generation): US CPSC recall alert, 7 Sept 2023, recorded as “crash and injury hazards”. The mechanical disc brake calipers could fail. About 45,000 bikes were covered; Lectric had four reports of lost braking, including two injuries20.
Are Lectric batteries certified?
What Lectric's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 12 of 15; UL 2271 (the battery) on 12 of 15.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate33.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to24.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark34.
Lectric e-bike FAQ
Are Lectric e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 12 of the 15 models on Lectric's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 123. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Lectric had a recall or a safety report?
In the US, CPSC recall alert (7 September 2023) recorded “crash and injury hazards”: the mechanical disc brake calipers could fail20. About 45,000 bikes were covered; Lectric had four reports of lost braking, including two injuries20.
Can you unlock an Lectric e-bike's speed limit?
None of Lectric's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike23. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike23.
Do Lectric e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Lectric, as of the last check.21, 22
Are Lectric e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 12 of 15; UL 2271 (the battery) on 12 of 15. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Burchda e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Rattan e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Addmotor e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Freedare e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Lectric) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Lectric's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Lectric publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
◐ partly Claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
◐ partly Claimed on 12 of 15 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2522 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2522 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2522 |
| Total | 3 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Lectric data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Lectric, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Lectric US store, e-bikes
- Lectric US, XPress Lite product page
- Lectric US, XPress2 Cruiser product page
- Lectric US, XPress2 Commuter product page
- Lectric US, XP4 750 product page
- Lectric US, XP4 750 Step-Thru product page
- Lectric US, XP4 product page
- Lectric US, XP4 Step-Thru product page
- Lectric US, XPeak2 High-Step product page
- Lectric US, XPeak2 Step-Thru product page
- Lectric US, XPeak2 High-Step Long-Range product page
- Lectric US, XPeak2 Step-Thru Long-Range product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Lectric US, XPedition2 product page
- Lectric US, XPedition2 Dual-Battery product page
- Lectric US, XP Lite2 product page
- Lectric US, XP Lite2 Long-Range product page
- CPSC, Lectric Ebikes Recalls Disc Brake Calipers Sold on Lectric E-Bicycles Due to Crash and Injury Hazards (Recall Alert)
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "lectric"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "lectric"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW