Are Addmotor electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Addmotor model checked against the law where you ride. Addmotor data checked 25 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 6 Addmotor e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($1,099 to $1,999), 0 of 6 are legal as listed and 6 can't be confirmed from what Addmotor publishes.

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Not sold hereAddmotor doesn't sell e-bikes in the UK.

Addmotor has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.

How I check Addmotor e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read Addmotor's own product page for all 6 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Addmotor's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Addmotor's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 20269; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202610. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Addmotor's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Addmotor Foldtan (M-120 Folding, M-160 Folding): are they legal?

Addmotor Foldtan M-120 Folding electric bike, photo from Addmotor

Photo: Addmotor

Addmotor Foldtan M-120 Folding

$1,399

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found3; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here11
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found3; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here14
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W3; the law says less than 750 W16
Specs
Price $1,399
Motor 750 W3
Top assisted speed 20 mph (“Top Speed: 20 MPH”)3
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Addmotor's US product page3. “Not stated” means Addmotor doesn't publish it.

Addmotor Foldtan M-160 Folding electric bike, photo from Addmotor

Photo: Addmotor

Addmotor Foldtan M-160 Folding

$1,499

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found4; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here11
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found4; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here14
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W4; the law says less than 750 W16
Specs
Price $1,499
Motor 750 W4
Top assisted speed 20 mph (“Top Speed: 20 MPH”)4
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated4
Certification stated None stated

From Addmotor's US product page4. “Not stated” means Addmotor doesn't publish it.

Addmotor Garootan M-81: is it legal?

Addmotor Garootan M-81 Cargo electric bike, photo from Addmotor

Photo: Addmotor

Addmotor Garootan M-81 Cargo

$1,099

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found5; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here11
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found5; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here14
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W5; the law says less than 750 W16
Specs
Price $1,099
Motor 750 W5
Top assisted speed 20 mph (“Top Speed: 20 MPH”)5
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2271 stated (battery)5

From Addmotor's US product page5. “Not stated” means Addmotor doesn't publish it.

Addmotor Graoopro: is it legal?

Addmotor Graoopro Cargo electric bike, photo from Addmotor

Photo: Addmotor

Addmotor Graoopro Cargo

$1,499

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found6; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here11
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found6; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here14
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W6; the law says less than 750 W16
Specs
Price $1,499
Motor 750 W6
Top assisted speed 20 mph (“Top Speed: 20 MPH”)6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2271 stated (battery)6

From Addmotor's US product page6. “Not stated” means Addmotor doesn't publish it.

Addmotor Soletan M-66X Full-Suspension: is it legal?

Addmotor Soletan M-66X Full-Suspension electric bike, photo from Addmotor

Photo: Addmotor

Addmotor Soletan M-66X Full-Suspension

$1,799

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found7; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here11
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found7; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here14
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W7; the law says less than 750 W16
Specs
Price $1,799
Motor 750 W7
Top assisted speed 20 mph (“Top Speed: 20 MPH”)7
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated7
Certification stated UL 2271 stated (battery)7

From Addmotor's US product page7. “Not stated” means Addmotor doesn't publish it.

Addmotor Motan M-650X: is it legal?

Addmotor Motan M-650X All-Terrain electric bike, photo from Addmotor

Photo: Addmotor

Addmotor Motan M-650X All-Terrain

$1,999

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found8; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here11
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here14
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W8; the law says less than 750 W16
Specs
Price $1,999
Motor 750 W8
Top assisted speed 20 mph (“Top Speed: 20 MPH”)8
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2271 stated (battery)8

From Addmotor's US product page8. “Not stated” means Addmotor doesn't publish it.

Can you unlock an Addmotor e-bike's speed limit?

None of Addmotor's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.

What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:

  • 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike12. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike12.
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label17.

Are Addmotor electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Addmotor e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Addmotor, as of the last check.9, 10

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Addmotor batteries certified?

What Addmotor's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 6; UL 2271 (the battery) on 4 of 6.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate21.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to11.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark22.

Addmotor e-bike FAQ

Are Addmotor e-bikes UL certified?

UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 0 of the 6 models on Addmotor's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 41. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.

Has Addmotor had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked9, 10.

Can you unlock an Addmotor e-bike's speed limit?

None of Addmotor's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike12. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike12.

Do Addmotor e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Addmotor, as of the last check.9, 10

Are Addmotor e-bike batteries certified?

US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 6; UL 2271 (the battery) on 4 of 6. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Addmotor) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Addmotor's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Addmotor publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check California New York City Florida
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ✗ not found
0 of 6 models listed inside the limits
✗ not found
0 of 6 models listed inside the limits
✗ not found
0 of 6 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
UL 2849 not claimed on any model
✗ not found
UL 2849 not claimed on any model
✗ not found
UL 2849 not claimed on any model
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ◐ partly
Claimed on 4 of 6 models5, 6, 7, 8
◐ partly
Claimed on 4 of 6 models5, 6, 7, 8
◐ partly
Claimed on 4 of 6 models5, 6, 7, 8
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2510
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2510
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2510
Total 2.5 of 6 2.5 of 6 2.5 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Addmotor data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Addmotor, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Addmotor US, Foldtan M-120 Folding product page
  4. Addmotor US, Foldtan M-160 Folding product page
  5. Addmotor US, Garootan M-81 Cargo product page
  6. Addmotor US, Graoopro Cargo product page
  7. Addmotor US, Soletan M-66X Full-Suspension product page
  8. Addmotor US, Motan M-650X All-Terrain product page
  9. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "addmotor"
  10. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "addmotor"
  11. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  12. California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
  13. California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
  14. City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
  15. NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
  16. Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
  17. Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
  18. Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
  19. Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
  20. The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
  21. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  22. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026