Are Velowave electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Velowave model checked against the law where you ride. Velowave data checked 26 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 11 Velowave e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($1,199 to $1,799), 1 of 11 is legal as listed and 10 can't be confirmed from what Velowave publishes.

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Not sold hereVelowave doesn't sell e-bikes in the UK.

Velowave has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.

How I check Velowave e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read Velowave's own product page for all 11 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Velowave's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Velowave's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202615; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202616. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Velowave's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Velowave Ranger (Fat Tire, 3.0 Fat, Step-Thru 3.0 and more): are they legal?

Velowave Ranger Fat Tire Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Ranger Fat Tire Electric Bike

$1,199

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated3
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated3
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated3
Specs
Price $1,199
Motor Not stated
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Velowave's US product page3. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Ranger 3.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Ranger 3.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike

$1,599

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak5; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W5; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
Price $1,599
Motor 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak5
Top assisted speed 28 mph5
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph5
Certification stated UL 2849 stated5

From Velowave's US product page5. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 3.0 Torque Sensor Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 3.0 Torque Sensor Electric Bike

$1,599

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak6; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W6; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
Price $1,599
Motor 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak6
Top assisted speed 28 mph6
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph6
Certification stated UL 2849 stated6

From Velowave's US product page6. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 2.0 Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Ranger Step-Thru 2.0 Electric Bike

$1,499

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,200 W peak9; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W9; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
Price $1,499
Motor 750 W rated, 1,200 W peak9
Top assisted speed 28 mph9
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated9
Certification stated UL 2849 stated9

From Velowave's US product page9. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Ranger 2.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Ranger 2.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike

$1,499

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,200 W peak14; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W14; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
Price $1,499
Motor 750 W rated, 1,200 W peak14
Top assisted speed 28 mph14
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated14
Certification stated UL 2849 stated14

From Velowave's US product page14. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Breeze T Torque: is it legal?

Velowave Breeze T Torque Sensor Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Breeze T Torque Sensor Electric Bike

$1,499

🇺🇸 California Legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
Specs
Price $1,499
Motor 500 W7
Top assisted speed 28 mph7
Throttle None7 (Class 3 helps only while you pedal, by law4)
Certification stated UL 2849 stated7

From Velowave's US product page7. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Swift M Mid-Drive: is it legal?

Velowave Swift M Mid-Drive Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Swift M Mid-Drive Electric Bike

$1,799

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found8; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here18
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here21
Specs
Price $1,799
Motor 500 W8
Top assisted speed 20 mph8
Throttle None stated
Certification stated None stated

From Velowave's US product page8. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Pony Compact: is it legal?

Velowave Pony Compact Step-Thru Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Pony Compact Step-Thru Electric Bike

$1,499

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak10; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found10; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here21
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W10; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
Price $1,499
Motor 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak10
Top assisted speed 25 mph10
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph10 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4)
Certification stated None stated

From Velowave's US product page10. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Grace: is it legal?

Velowave Grace 2.0 Step-Thru Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Grace 2.0 Step-Thru Electric Bike

$1,699

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak11; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph11; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W11; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
Price $1,699
Motor 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak11
Top assisted speed 28 mph11
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated11
Certification stated None stated

From Velowave's US product page11. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Rover: is it legal?

Velowave Rover Step-Thru Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Rover Step-Thru Electric Bike

$1,299

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,275 W peak12; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph20
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W12; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
Price $1,299
Motor 750 W rated, 1,275 W peak12
Top assisted speed 28 mph12
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated12
Certification stated None stated

From Velowave's US product page12. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Velowave Prado S Commuter: is it legal?

Velowave Prado S Commuter Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Velowave

Photo: Velowave

Velowave Prado S Commuter Electric Bike

$1,299

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,275 W peak13; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found13; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here21
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W13; the law says less than 750 W22
Specs
Price $1,299
Motor 750 W rated, 1,275 W peak13
Top assisted speed 25 mph13
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph13 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4)
Certification stated None stated

From Velowave's US product page13. “Not stated” means Velowave doesn't publish it.

Can you unlock an Velowave e-bike's speed limit?

None of Velowave's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.

What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:

  • 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike17. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike17.
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label23.

Are Velowave electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Velowave e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Velowave, as of the last check.15, 16

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Velowave batteries certified?

What Velowave's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 5 of 11; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 11.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate27.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to18.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark28.

Velowave e-bike FAQ

Are Velowave e-bikes UL certified?

UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 5 of the 11 models on Velowave's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 01. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.

Has Velowave had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked15, 16.

Can you unlock an Velowave e-bike's speed limit?

None of Velowave's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike17. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike17.

Do Velowave e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Velowave, as of the last check.15, 16

Are Velowave e-bike batteries certified?

US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 5 of 11; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 11. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Velowave) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Velowave's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Velowave publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check California New York City Florida
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ◐ partly
1 of 11 models listed inside the limits
✗ not found
0 of 11 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
2 of 11 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 11 models5, 6, 7, 9, 14
◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 11 models5, 6, 7, 9, 14
◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 5 of 11 models5, 6, 7, 9, 14
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2616
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2616
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2616
Total 3 of 6 2.5 of 6 3 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Velowave data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Velowave, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Velowave US, Ranger Fat Tire Electric Bike product page
  4. California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
  5. Velowave US, Ranger 3.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike product page
  6. Velowave US, Ranger Step-Thru 3.0 Torque Sensor Electric Bike product page
  7. Velowave US, Breeze T Torque Sensor Electric Bike product page
  8. Velowave US, Swift M Mid-Drive Electric Bike product page
  9. Velowave US, Ranger Step-Thru 2.0 Electric Bike product page
  10. Velowave US, Pony Compact Step-Thru Electric Bike product page
  11. Velowave US, Grace 2.0 Step-Thru Electric Bike product page
  12. Velowave US, Rover Step-Thru Electric Bike product page
  13. Velowave US, Prado S Commuter Electric Bike product page
  14. Velowave US, Ranger 2.0 Fat Tire All-Terrain Electric Bike product page
  15. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "velowave"
  16. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "velowave"
  17. California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
  18. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  19. California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
  20. NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
  21. City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
  22. Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
  23. Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
  24. Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
  25. Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
  26. The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
  27. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  28. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026