Are Philodo electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Philodo model checked against the law where you ride. Philodo data checked 26 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 10 Philodo e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($899 to $1,699), 0 of 10 are legal as listed; 1 can't be confirmed from what Philodo publishes and 9 are listed outside the limits (H7 Ultra, FALCON, FALCON Camo and more).

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Not sold herePhilodo doesn't sell e-bikes in the UK.

Philodo has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.

How I check Philodo e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read Philodo's own product page for all 10 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Philodo's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Philodo's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202613; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202614. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Philodo's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Philodo H7 Ultra: is it legal?

Philodo H7 Ultra 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo H7 Ultra 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike

$1,399

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 2,000 W3; the limit is 750 W15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 45 mph3; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 2,000 W3; the limit is less than 750 W20
Specs
Price $1,399
Motor 2000 W rated, 5,000 W peak3
Top assisted speed 45 mph3
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated3
Certification stated None stated

From Philodo's US product page3. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo FALCON (60V Dual, Step-Thru 60V, Camo 60V and more): are they legal?

Philodo FALCON 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike Full Suspension electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo FALCON 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike Full Suspension

$1,599

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 2,000 W4; the limit is 750 W15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 45 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 2,000 W4; the limit is less than 750 W20
Specs
Price $1,599
Motor 2000 W rated, 5,000 W peak4
Top assisted speed 45 mph4
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Philodo's US product page4. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo FALCON Step-Thru 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo FALCON Step-Thru 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike

$1,599

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 2,000 W5; the limit is 750 W15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 45 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 2,000 W5; the limit is less than 750 W20
Specs
Price $1,599
Motor 2000 W rated, 5,000 W peak5
Top assisted speed 45 mph5
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Philodo's US product page5. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo FALCON Camo 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo FALCON Camo 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike

$1,599

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 2,000 W6; the limit is 750 W15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 45 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 2,000 W6; the limit is less than 750 W20
Specs
Price $1,599
Motor 2000 W rated, 5,000 W peak6
Top assisted speed 45 mph6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2271 stated6

From Philodo's US product page6. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo FALCON Step-Over 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo FALCON Step-Over 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike

$1,599

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 2,000 W7; the limit is 750 W15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 45 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 2,000 W7; the limit is less than 750 W20
Specs
Price $1,599
Motor 2000 W rated, 5,000 W peak7
Top assisted speed 45 mph7
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Philodo's US product page7. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo Forester: is it legal?

Philodo Forester 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike Full Suspension electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo Forester 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike Full Suspension

$1,399

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 2,000 W8; the limit is 750 W15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 45 mph8; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 2,000 W8; the limit is less than 750 W20
Specs
Price $1,399
Motor 2000 W rated, 5,000 W peak8
Top assisted speed 45 mph8
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated8
Certification stated UL 2271 stated8

From Philodo's US product page8. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo Hunter: is it legal?

Philodo Hunter 52V Full Suspension Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo Hunter 52V Full Suspension Electric Bike

$899

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 36 mph9; the limit is 28 mph15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 36 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 36 mph9; the limit is 28 mph20
Specs
Price $899
Motor 750 W rated, 1,500 W peak9
Top assisted speed 36 mph9
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated9
Certification stated None stated

From Philodo's US product page9. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo Traveller Family: is it legal?

Philodo Traveller Family & Cargo Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo Traveller Family & Cargo Electric Bike

$1,699

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 32 mph10; the limit is 28 mph15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 32 mph10; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 32 mph10; the limit is 28 mph20
Specs
Price $1,699
Motor 1,000 W peak; rated power not stated10
Top assisted speed 32 mph10
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated10
Certification stated None stated

From Philodo's US product page10. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo T1: is it legal?

Philodo T1 Step-Thru Utility Electric Bike electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo T1 Step-Thru Utility Electric Bike

$999

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated11
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph11; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated11
Specs
Price $999
Motor Not stated
Top assisted speed 28 mph11
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated11
Certification stated None stated

From Philodo's US product page11. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Philodo Upgraded H8: is it legal?

Philodo Upgraded H8 60V Dual Motor Fat Tire Electric Bike 5000 Watts electric bike, photo from Philodo

Photo: Philodo

Philodo Upgraded H8 60V Dual Motor Fat Tire Electric Bike 5000 Watts

$1,299

🇺🇸 California Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 2,000 W12; the limit is 750 W15
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 45 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph18
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 2,000 W12; the limit is less than 750 W20
Specs
Price $1,299
Motor 2000 W rated, 5,000 W peak12
Top assisted speed 45 mph12
Throttle Yes; top speed not stated12
Certification stated None stated

From Philodo's US product page12. “Not stated” means Philodo doesn't publish it.

Can you unlock an Philodo e-bike's speed limit?

None of Philodo's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.

What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:

  • 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike15. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike15.
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label21.

Are Philodo electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Philodo e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Philodo, as of the last check.13, 14

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Philodo batteries certified?

What Philodo's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 10; UL 2271 (the battery) on 2 of 10.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate25.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to16.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark26.

Philodo e-bike FAQ

Are Philodo e-bikes UL certified?

UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 0 of the 10 models on Philodo's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 21. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.

Has Philodo had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked13, 14.

Can you unlock an Philodo e-bike's speed limit?

None of Philodo's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike15. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike15.

Do Philodo e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Philodo, as of the last check.13, 14

Are Philodo e-bike batteries certified?

US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 10; UL 2271 (the battery) on 2 of 10. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Philodo) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Philodo's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Philodo publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check California New York City Florida
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ✗ not found
0 of 10 models listed inside the limits
✗ not found
0 of 10 models listed inside the limits
✗ not found
0 of 10 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
UL 2849 not claimed on any model
✗ not found
UL 2849 not claimed on any model
✗ not found
UL 2849 not claimed on any model
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ◐ partly
Claimed on 2 of 10 models6, 8
◐ partly
Claimed on 2 of 10 models6, 8
◐ partly
Claimed on 2 of 10 models6, 8
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2614
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2614
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2614
Total 2.5 of 6 2.5 of 6 2.5 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Philodo data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Philodo, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Philodo US, H7 Ultra 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike product page
  4. Philodo US, FALCON 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike Full Suspension product page
  5. Philodo US, FALCON Step-Thru 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike product page
  6. Philodo US, FALCON Camo 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike product page
  7. Philodo US, FALCON Step-Over 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike product page
  8. Philodo US, Forester 60V Dual Motor Electric Bike Full Suspension product page
  9. Philodo US, Hunter 52V Full Suspension Electric Bike product page
  10. Philodo US, Traveller Family & Cargo Electric Bike product page
  11. Philodo US, T1 Step-Thru Utility Electric Bike product page
  12. Philodo US, Upgraded H8 60V Dual Motor Fat Tire Electric Bike 5000 Watts product page
  13. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "philodo"
  14. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "philodo"
  15. California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
  16. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  17. California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
  18. NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
  19. City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
  20. Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
  21. Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
  22. Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
  23. Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
  24. The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
  25. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  26. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026