Are Velotric electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 12 Velotric e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($1,099 to $2,199), 2 of 12 are legal as listed and 10 can't be confirmed from what Velotric publishes. One regulator record names Velotric (UK); it's under battery safety and recalls.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
Velotric has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Velotric has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
Velotric has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Velotric e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Velotric's own product page for all 12 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Velotric's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Velotric's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202618; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202619. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Velotric's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Velotric GoMad: is it legal?

Photo: Velotric
Velotric GoMad
$2,198
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak5; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph23
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W5; the law says less than 750 W25
Specs
| Price | $2,198 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH by default; “Max Speed Adjustable Range 12~28 MPH”)5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph5 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated5 |
From Velotric's US product page5. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.
Velotric Tempo: is it legal?

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Tempo
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W rated, 650 W peak6 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH by default; “Max Speed Adjustable Range 12~28 MPH”)6 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph6 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated6 |
From Velotric's US product page6. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.
Velotric Summit (2, 1): are they legal?

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Summit 2
$2,099
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak7; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph23
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W7; the law says less than 750 W25
Specs
| Price | $2,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH by default; “Max Speed Adjustable Range 12~28 MPH”)7 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph7 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated7 |
From Velotric's US product page7. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Summit 1
$1,699
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak9; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph23
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W9; the law says less than 750 W25
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak9 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH by default; “Max Speed Adjustable Range 12~28 MPH”)9 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph9 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated9 |
From Velotric's US product page9. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.
Velotric Breeze: is it legal?

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Breeze 1
$1,799
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 900 W peak8; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph8; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph23
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W8; the law says less than 750 W25
Specs
| Price | $1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 900 W peak8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH by default; “Max Speed Adjustable Range 12~28 MPH”)8 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph8 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law4) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated8 |
From Velotric's US product page8. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.
Velotric Go: is it legal?

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Go 1
$1,699
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Velotric Packer: is it legal?

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Packer 1
$2,199
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Velotric T1 ST Plus, T1: are they legal?

Photo: Velotric
Velotric T1 ST Plus
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Velotric
Velotric T1
$2,199
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Assists to 25 mph but doesn't say whether it has a throttle or how fast it goes13; throttles must stop at 20 mph20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found13; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here24
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Assists to 25 mph but doesn't say whether it has a throttle or how fast it goes13; throttles must stop at 20 mph25
Specs
| Price | $2,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W rated, 600 W peak13 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 mph (“20Mph (unlock to 25Mph)”)13 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velotric's US product page13. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.
Velotric Fold (1, 1 Plus, 1 Lite): are they legal?

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Fold 1
$1,299
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated14
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated14
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W14; the law says less than 750 W25
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W14 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velotric's US product page14. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Fold 1 Plus
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated15
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated15
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W15; the law says less than 750 W25
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W15 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velotric's US product page15. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.

Photo: Velotric
Velotric Fold 1 Lite
$1,099
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated16
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated16
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated16
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W16 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Velotric's US product page16. “Not stated” means Velotric doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Velotric e-bike's speed limit?
What Velotric's own product pages say about it: Velotric Go 1: 25 mph (“25MPH (unlocked) | 20 MPH (default)”)10; Velotric Packer 1: 25 mph (“25MPH (unlocked) | 20 MPH (default)”)11; Velotric T1: 25 mph (“20Mph (unlock to 25Mph)”)13.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike20. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike20.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label26.
Are Velotric electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Velotric e-bike batteries caught fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Velotric.
- Velotric Tricycle (an e-trike, not one of the bikes above): UK OPSS product safety report 2509-0337, 21 Oct 2025, recorded as “serious risk of fire”. The tricycle, battery and charger had not been through UK conformity assessment, with no technical documentation, missing labelling and a plug that didn't meet BS 1363; the import was rejected at the border17.
Are Velotric batteries certified?
What Velotric's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 12; UL 2271 (the battery) on 8 of 12.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate30.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to21.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark31.
Velotric e-bike FAQ
Are Velotric e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 8 of the 12 models on Velotric's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 83. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Velotric had a recall or a safety report?
In the UK, OPSS product safety report 2509-0337 (21 October 2025) recorded “serious risk of fire”: the tricycle, battery and charger had not been through UK conformity assessment, with no technical documentation, missing labelling and a plug that didn't meet BS 1363; the import was rejected at the border17.
Can you unlock an Velotric e-bike's speed limit?
What Velotric's own product pages say about it: Velotric Go 1: 25 mph (“25MPH (unlocked) | 20 MPH (default)”)10; Velotric Packer 1: 25 mph (“25MPH (unlocked) | 20 MPH (default)”)11; Velotric T1: 25 mph (“20Mph (unlock to 25Mph)”)13. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike20. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike20.
Do Velotric e-bikes catch fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Velotric.
Are Velotric e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 12; UL 2271 (the battery) on 8 of 12. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Dirwin e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Philodo e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Ride1Up e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Addmotor e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Velotric) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Velotric's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Velotric publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 2 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 8 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
◐ partly Claimed on 8 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
◐ partly Claimed on 8 of 12 models5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
| Total | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Velotric data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Velotric, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Velotric US store, e-bikes
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Velotric US, GoMad product page
- Velotric US, Tempo product page
- Velotric US, Summit 2 product page
- Velotric US, Breeze 1 product page
- Velotric US, Summit 1 product page
- Velotric US, Go 1 product page
- Velotric US, Packer 1 product page
- Velotric US, T1 ST Plus product page
- Velotric US, T1 product page
- Velotric US, Fold 1 product page
- Velotric US, Fold 1 Plus product page
- Velotric US, Fold 1 Lite product page
- OPSS, Product Safety Report: Velotric Tricycle (2509-0337)
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "velotric"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "velotric"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW