Are Brompton electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Brompton model checked against the law where you ride. Brompton data checked 25 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 15 Brompton e-bikes sold in the UK, the EU and the US. In the UK (£2,999 to £6,429), 9 of 9 are legal as listed. In the EU (€3,699 to €7,599), 8 of 9 are legal as listed and 1 can't be confirmed from what Brompton publishes. In California ($4,700 to $7,850), 1 of 4 is legal as listed and 3 can't be confirmed from what Brompton publishes. 7 regulator records name Brompton (UK, US); they're under battery safety and recalls.

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Legal as listedIn the UK, 9 of Brompton's 9 UK models are legal as listed.

The law in the UK, in short

  • Motor: 250 W max2
  • Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
  • Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
  • Rider age: 14 or over2
  • Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2

UK e-bike law in full · Battery safety and recalls

Every Brompton model, with its mark in each area ↓

How I check Brompton e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read Brompton's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Brompton's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Brompton's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202637; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202638. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Brompton's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Brompton Electric C Line (4-speed, with SuperRoll+, with Advance): are they legal?

Brompton Electric C Line 4-speed electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric C Line 4-speed

£2,999

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price £2,999
Motor 250 W5
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Brompton's UK product page5. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric C Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric C Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed

£3,079 · $4,700

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated16
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated16
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated16

Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇺🇸 US version
Price £3,079 $4,700
Motor 250 W7 250 W16
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6 Not stated
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated UL 2849 stated (brand-wide claim)17

From Brompton's UK product page7 · Brompton's US product page16. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027)

£3,199 · €3,799

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version
Price £3,199 €3,799
Motor 250 W8 250 W22
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated None stated

From Brompton's UK product page8 · Brompton's EU product page22. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed

€3,699

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €3,699
Motor 250 W21
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Brompton's EU product page21. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric G Line (with Advance, with Roller, City+): are they legal?

Brompton Electric G Line with Advance Roller Frame and Handlebar Control electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric G Line with Advance Roller Frame and Handlebar Control

£3,699

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price £3,699
Motor 250 W10
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Brompton's UK product page9. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric G Line electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric G Line

$4,950

🇺🇸 California Legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price $4,950
Motor 250 W17
Top assisted speed 20 mph18
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2849 stated (brand-wide claim)17

From Brompton's US product page18. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric G Line with Roller Frame and Handlebar Control electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric G Line with Roller Frame and Handlebar Control

€4,299

🇪🇺 EU Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

  • 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated23
Specs
Price €4,299
Motor 250 W10
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Brompton's EU product page23. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric G Line City+ with Advance Roller Frame and Handlebar Control electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric G Line City+ with Advance Roller Frame and Handlebar Control

€4,299

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €4,299
Motor 250 W10
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Brompton's EU product page24. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric P Line (with Advance, with SuperRoll+): are they legal?

Brompton Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed

£3,879 · €4,764

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version
Price £3,879 €4,764
Motor 250 W10 250 W25
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated None stated

From Brompton's UK product page11 · Brompton's EU product page25. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027)

£4,099 · €4,704

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version
Price £4,099 €4,704
Motor 250 W10 250 W26
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated None stated

From Brompton's UK product page12 · Brompton's EU product page26. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric P Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric P Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed

$5,700

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated19
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated19
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated19
Specs
Price $5,700
Motor 250 W17
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2849 stated (brand-wide claim)17

From Brompton's US product page19. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric T Line (1-speed, 4-speed, with Advance and more): are they legal?

Brompton Electric T Line 1-speed electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric T Line 1-speed

£5,799 · €6,799

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version
Price £5,799 €6,799
Motor 250 W10 250 W10
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated None stated

From Brompton's UK product page13 · Brompton's EU product page27. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric T Line 4-speed electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric T Line 4-speed

£5,999 · €7,440

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version
Price £5,999 €7,440
Motor 250 W10 250 W10
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated None stated

From Brompton's UK product page14 · Brompton's EU product page28. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric T Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric T Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027)

£6,429 · €7,599

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version
Price £6,429 €7,599
Motor 250 W10 250 W10
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6 25 km/h6
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated None stated

From Brompton's UK product page15 · Brompton's EU product page29. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Brompton Electric T Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed electric bike, photo from Brompton

Photo: Brompton

Brompton Electric T Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed

$7,850

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated20
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated20
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated20
Specs
Price $7,850
Motor 250 W17
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated UL 2849 stated (brand-wide claim)17

From Brompton's US product page20. “Not stated” means Brompton doesn't publish it.

Can you unlock an Brompton e-bike's speed limit?

None of Brompton's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.

What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:

  • 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
  • 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike42. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike42.
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label48.

Are Brompton electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Brompton e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Brompton, as of the last check.37, 38

Brompton has 7 other regulator records, none about fire:

  • Brompton T Line (the non-electric titanium bike, made before 21 June 2024): UK OPSS product recall 2407-0119, 24 Dec 2024, recorded as “risk of injuries”. The handlebar support and fork could become misaligned; the fix is retightening four steerer clamp bolts. It covers serial numbers up to 2406070001, not the Electric T Line30.
  • Brompton T Line (the non-electric titanium bike): US CPSC recall, 1 Aug 2024, recorded as “fall hazard”. Steerer clamp bolts that weren't tightened enough could let the handlebar and front wheel lose alignment. It covers the Blasted Titanium T Line, about 1,080 sold in the US31.
  • Brompton Electric (previous generation, serial numbers below 2111030089): UK OPSS product recall 2203-0521, 5 Apr 2022, recorded as “risk of injuries”. An object trapped between the mudguard stay and tyre could stop the wheel suddenly. It covers bikes that hadn't already had the new mudguard stay fitted32.
  • Brompton Electric M2L, H2L, M6L and H6L (previous generation): US CPSC recall, 9 Jun 2022, recorded as “crash and injury hazards”. The mudguard sat too close to the front wheel, which could lock if something got caught between them. About 2,230 were sold in the US33.
  • Brompton Electric (previous generation, 2021 recall): US CPSC recall, 21 Apr 2021, recorded as “fall and injury hazards”. A software fault could keep the motor assisting when the rider wasn't pedalling. About 600 were sold in the US34.
  • Brompton P Line (non-electric, made 29 September 2021 to 30 March 2022): UK OPSS product recall 2206-0026, 6 Jun 2022, recorded as “risk of injuries”. The front wheel nut's thread could be damaged during fitting, so the wheel might not secure to the fork; Brompton replaced the nuts35.
  • Brompton bicycles made April 2014 to May 2017 (non-electric): US CPSC recall, 21 Dec 2017, recorded as “fall hazard”. The bottom bracket could break during use. About 8,400 were sold in the US36.

Are Brompton batteries certified?

What Brompton's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9.
  • EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9.
  • US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 4 of 4; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 4.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate50.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to43.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark51.

Brompton e-bike FAQ

Are Brompton e-bikes legal in the UK?

Of the 9 e-bikes on Brompton's UK store, 9 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1.

Are Brompton e-bikes UL certified?

UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 4 of the 4 models on Brompton's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 03. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.

Has Brompton had a recall or a safety report?

In the UK, OPSS product recall 2407-0119 (24 December 2024) recorded “risk of injuries”: the handlebar support and fork could become misaligned; the fix is retightening four steerer clamp bolts30. It covers serial numbers up to 2406070001, not the Electric T Line30. In the US, CPSC recall (1 August 2024) recorded “fall hazard”: steerer clamp bolts that weren't tightened enough could let the handlebar and front wheel lose alignment31. It covers the Blasted Titanium T Line, about 1,080 sold in the US31. In the UK, OPSS product recall 2203-0521 (5 April 2022) recorded “risk of injuries”: an object trapped between the mudguard stay and tyre could stop the wheel suddenly32. It covers bikes that hadn't already had the new mudguard stay fitted32. In the US, CPSC recall (9 June 2022) recorded “crash and injury hazards”: the mudguard sat too close to the front wheel, which could lock if something got caught between them33. About 2,230 were sold in the US33. In the US, CPSC recall (21 April 2021) recorded “fall and injury hazards”: a software fault could keep the motor assisting when the rider wasn't pedalling34. About 600 were sold in the US34. In the UK, OPSS product recall 2206-0026 (6 June 2022) recorded “risk of injuries”: the front wheel nut's thread could be damaged during fitting, so the wheel might not secure to the fork; Brompton replaced the nuts35. In the US, CPSC recall (21 December 2017) recorded “fall hazard”: the bottom bracket could break during use36. About 8,400 were sold in the US36.

Can you unlock an Brompton e-bike's speed limit?

None of Brompton's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.

Do Brompton e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Brompton, as of the last check.37, 38

Are Brompton e-bike batteries certified?

UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 4 of 4; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 4. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Brompton) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Brompton's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Brompton publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the UK the EU California New York City Florida
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ✓
9 of 9 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
8 of 9 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
1 of 4 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
1 of 4 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
1 of 4 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
✓
UL 2849 claimed on 4 of 4 models16, 18, 19, 20
✓
UL 2849 claimed on 4 of 4 models16, 18, 19, 20
✓
UL 2849 claimed on 4 of 4 models16, 18, 19, 20
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✗ not found
OPSS product recall 2407-0119, Brompton T Line (the non-electric titanium bike, made before 21 June 2024), 2024-12-24: “risk of injuries”30
✗ not found
Not yet checked against this market’s database
✗ not found
CPSC recall, Brompton T Line (the non-electric titanium bike), 2024-08-01: “fall hazard”31
✗ not found
CPSC recall, Brompton T Line (the non-electric titanium bike), 2024-08-01: “fall hazard”31
✗ not found
CPSC recall, Brompton T Line (the non-electric titanium bike), 2024-08-01: “fall hazard”31
Total 2 of 6 1.5 of 6 2.5 of 6 2.5 of 6 2.5 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Brompton data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Brompton, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Brompton US store, e-bikes
  4. Brompton EU store, e-bikes
  5. Brompton UK, Electric C Line 4-speed product page
  6. Brompton, How we developed the new Brompton e-Motiq ("In the UK and Europe, electric assistance is limited to 25 km/h")
  7. Brompton UK, Electric C Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed product page
  8. Brompton UK, Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) product page
  9. Brompton UK, Electric G Line with Advance Roller Frame and Handlebar Control product page
  10. Brompton, Which Brompton Electric should I buy? (each line's “250-watt motor”)
  11. Brompton UK, Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed product page
  12. Brompton UK, Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) product page
  13. Brompton UK, Electric T Line 1-speed product page
  14. Brompton UK, Electric T Line 4-speed product page
  15. Brompton UK, Electric T Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) product page
  16. Brompton US, Electric C Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed product page
  17. Brompton USA, Brompton Electric range (“custom-built 250W rear hub motor”; “Our bikes are independently certified to the UL2849 standard”)
  18. Brompton US, Electric G Line product page
  19. Brompton US, Electric P Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed product page
  20. Brompton US, Electric T Line with SuperRoll+ 4-speed product page
  21. Brompton EU, Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed product page
  22. Brompton EU, Electric C Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) product page
  23. Brompton EU, Electric G Line with Roller Frame and Handlebar Control product page
  24. Brompton EU, Electric G Line City+ with Advance Roller Frame and Handlebar Control product page
  25. Brompton EU, Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed product page
  26. Brompton EU, Electric P Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) product page
  27. Brompton EU, Electric T Line 1-speed product page
  28. Brompton EU, Electric T Line 4-speed product page
  29. Brompton EU, Electric T Line with Advance Roller Frame 4-speed (2027) product page
  30. OPSS, Product Recall: Brompton T-Line Bicycles (2407-0119)
  31. CPSC, Brompton Bicycle Recalls Brompton T-Line Foldable Bicycles Due to Fall Hazard
  32. OPSS, Product Recall: Brompton Electric Bikes (2203-0521)
  33. CPSC, Brompton Bicycle Recalls Foldable Electric Bicycles Due to Crash and Injury Hazards
  34. CPSC, Brompton Bicycle Recalls Electric Folding Bicycles Due to Fall and Injury Hazards
  35. OPSS, Product Recall: Brompton Bicycles P Line Models, Wheel Nut Replacement Programme (2206-0026)
  36. CPSC, Brompton Bicycle Recalls Bicycles Due To Fall Hazard
  37. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "brompton"
  38. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "brompton"
  39. Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
  40. Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
  41. Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
  42. California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
  43. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  44. California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
  45. NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
  46. City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
  47. Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
  48. Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
  49. Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
  50. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  51. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026