Are Tenways electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 12 Tenways e-bikes sold in the UK, the EU, the US and Australia. In the UK (£1,099 to £2,799), 8 of 9 are legal as listed and 1 can't be confirmed from what Tenways publishes. In the EU (€1,099 to €4,499), 10 of 11 are legal as listed and 1 can't be confirmed from what Tenways publishes. In California ($1,599 to $2,699), 0 of 5 are legal as listed and 5 can't be confirmed from what Tenways publishes. In NSW, 0 of 1 is legal as listed and 1 can't be confirmed from what Tenways publishes.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power34
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling34
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)35
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval34
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer36
How I check Tenways e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Tenways's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Tenways's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Tenways's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202632; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202633. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Tenways's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Tenways AGO (Performance, Air, X and more): are they legal?

Photo: Tenways
Tenways AGO Performance
£2,799 · €3,299
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the US or Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Motor listed at 600 W peak, rated power not stated6; the limit is 250 W2
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor listed at 600 W peak, rated power not stated21; the limit is 250 W34
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £2,799 | €3,299 |
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line, 600 W max power; rated power not stated6 | 600 W peak; rated power not stated21 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h6 | 25 km/h21 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page6 · Tenways's EU product page21. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tenways
Tenways AGO Air
£1,999 · €2,199
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,999 | €2,199 |
| Motor | 250 W7 | 250 W22 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h7 | 25 km/h22 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page7 · Tenways's EU product page22. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tenways
Tenways AGO X
£1,999 · €2,199 · $1,999
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated16
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated16
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated16
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,999 | €2,199 | $1,999 |
| Motor | 250 W8 | 250 W24 | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h8 | 25 km/h24 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page8 · Tenways's EU product page24 · Tenways's US product page16. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tenways
Tenways AGO T
£2,199 · €2,699 · $2,699
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated17
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated17
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated17
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £2,199 | €2,699 | $2,699 |
| Motor | 250 W9 | 250 W31 | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph9 | 25 km/h31 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page9 · Tenways's EU product page31 · Tenways's US product page17. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.
Tenways CGO009, CGO600, CGO600 Pro and more: are they legal?

Photo: Tenways
Tenways CGO009
£1,999 · €2,199
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,999 | €2,199 |
| Motor | 250 W10 | 250 W23 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h10 | 25 km/h23 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page10 · Tenways's EU product page23. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tenways
Tenways CGO600
£1,099 · €1,099 · A$1,999
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇦🇺 NSW ?Can't confirm 🇦🇺 QLD ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the US.
- 🇦🇺 NSW: No EN 15194 / AS 15194 / UL 2849 claim found20; certification and an electrical safety mark is required to sell here45
- 🇦🇺 Queensland: No EN 15194 claim found20; EN 15194 and a compliance label is required to sell here47
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇦🇺 AU version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,099 | €1,099 | A$1,999 |
| Motor | 250 W12 | 250 W26 | 250 W20 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h12 | 25 km/h26 | 25 km/h20 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page12 · Tenways's EU product page26 · Tenways's AU product page20. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tenways
Tenways CGO600 Pro
£1,149 · €1,699 · $1,599
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated18
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated18
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated18
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,149 | €1,699 | $1,599 |
| Motor | 250 W13 | 250 W28 | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h13 | 25 km/h28 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page13 · Tenways's EU product page28 · Tenways's US product page18. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tenways
Tenways CGO800S
£1,349 · €1,799 · $1,699
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated19
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated19
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated19
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,349 | €1,799 | $1,699 |
| Motor | 250 W14 | 250 W29 | 350 W19 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h14 | 25 km/h29 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page14 · Tenways's EU product page29 · Tenways's US product page19. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.
Tenways CGO Compact: is it legal?

Photo: Tenways
Tenways CGO Compact
£1,799 · €1,999
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,799 | €1,999 |
| Motor | 250 W11 | 250 W25 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h11 | 25 km/h25 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Tenways's UK product page11 · Tenways's EU product page25. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.
Tenways Wayfarer: is it legal?

Photo: Tenways
Tenways Wayfarer
$1,799
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Tenways Longtail: is it legal?

Photo: Tenways
Tenways Longtail
€3,499
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €3,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W27 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h27 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tenways's EU product page27. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.
Tenways Cargo One: is it legal?

Photo: Tenways
Tenways Cargo One
€4,499
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €4,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W30 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h30 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tenways's EU product page30. “Not stated” means Tenways doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Tenways e-bike's speed limit?
None of Tenways's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike37. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike37.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label43.
- 🇦🇺 Queensland: No. If the motor is over 250 W it is illegal on public roads and paths, even when locked47.
Are Tenways electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Tenways e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Tenways, as of the last check.32, 33
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Tenways batteries certified?
What Tenways's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9.
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 11; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 11.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 5; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 5.
- Australian models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 1; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 1.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate48.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to38.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark45.
Tenways e-bike FAQ
Are Tenways e-bikes legal in the UK?
Of the 9 e-bikes on Tenways's UK store, 8 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1. For 1 more, a figure the law depends on, such as a throttle's top speed or the motor's rated power, isn't published1.
Are Tenways e-bikes UL certified?
None of Tenways's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Tenways had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked32, 33.
Can you unlock an Tenways e-bike's speed limit?
None of Tenways's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
Do Tenways e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Tenways, as of the last check.32, 33
Are Tenways e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 11; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 11. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 5; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 5. Australian models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 1; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 1. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Decathlon e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Himiway e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Lankeleisi e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are ADO e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Tenways) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Tenways's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Tenways publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK | the EU | California | New York City | Florida | NSW | Queensland |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 8 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 10 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 5 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 5 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 5 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 1 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 1 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2532 |
✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2533 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2533 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2533 |
✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
| Total | 2.5 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 1 of 6 | 1 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Tenways data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Tenways, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Tenways US store, e-bikes
- Tenways AU store, e-bikes
- Tenways EU store, e-bikes
- Tenways UK, AGO Performance product page
- Tenways UK, AGO Air product page
- Tenways UK, AGO X product page
- Tenways UK, AGO T product page
- Tenways UK, CGO009 product page
- Tenways UK, CGO Compact product page
- Tenways UK, CGO600 product page
- Tenways UK, CGO600 Pro product page
- Tenways UK, CGO800S product page
- Tenways US, Wayfarer product page
- Tenways US, AGO X product page
- Tenways US, AGO T product page
- Tenways US, CGO600 Pro product page
- Tenways US, CGO800S product page
- Tenways AU, CGO600 product page
- Tenways EU, AGO Performance product page
- Tenways EU, AGO Air product page
- Tenways EU, CGO009 product page
- Tenways EU, AGO X product page
- Tenways EU, CGO Compact product page
- Tenways EU, CGO600 product page
- Tenways EU, Longtail product page
- Tenways EU, CGO600 Pro product page
- Tenways EU, CGO800S product page
- Tenways EU, Cargo One product page
- Tenways EU, AGO T product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "tenways"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "tenways"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW
- Transport for NSW, E-bikes
- Queensland Government, E-bike rules in Queensland (updated 26 Aug 2026)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products