Are Himiway electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 19 Himiway e-bikes sold in the UK, the EU and the US. In the UK (£1,599 to £2,599), 0 of 9 are legal as listed; 8 can't be confirmed from what Himiway publishes and 1 is listed outside the limits (D7 Cobra). In the EU (€1,699 to €2,799), 1 of 8 is legal as listed and 7 can't be confirmed from what Himiway publishes. In California ($999 to $3,999), 0 of 15 are legal as listed; 13 can't be confirmed from what Himiway publishes and 2 are listed outside the limits (D7 Cobra, D7 Pro).
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power40
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling40
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)41
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval40
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer42
Himiway has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Himiway e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Himiway's own product page for all 9 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Himiway's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Himiway's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202638; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202639. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Himiway's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Himiway D5, D7 Cobra, D5 ST and more: are they legal?

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D5 2.0 20"
£2,299 · €2,599 · $1,999
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated5. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated32. The throttle limit is 6 km/h41
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found23; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here43
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph23; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W23; the law says less than 750 W48
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £2,299 | €2,599 | $1,999 |
| Motor | 250 W5 | 250 W32 | 750 W23 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 | 25 km/h32 | 28 mph (20 mph by default; adjustable to 28 mph, Class 1/2/3)23 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated5 | Yes; top speed not stated32 | Yes, to 20 mph23 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law21) |
| Battery | 48 V 15 Ah5 | Not stated | 48 V 15 Ah23 |
| Certification stated | UL 2271 stated (battery)5 | None stated | None stated |
From Himiway's UK product page5 · Himiway's EU product page32 · Himiway's US product page23. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D5 2.0
£2,299 · €2,599 · $2,199
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated6. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor power not stated (750 W in the title, 250 W in the spec table)34
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found22; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here43
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph22; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W22; the law says less than 750 W48
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £2,299 | €2,599 | $2,199 |
| Motor | 250 W6 | 750 W in the title, 250 W in the spec table34 | 750 W22 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h6 | 25 km/h34 | 28 mph (20 mph by default; adjustable to 28 mph, Class 1/2/3)22 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated6 | Not stated | Yes, to 20 mph22 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law21) |
| Battery | 48 V 15 Ah6 | Not stated | 48 V 15 Ah22 |
| Certification stated | UL 2271 stated (battery)6 | None stated | None stated |
From Himiway's UK product page6 · Himiway's EU product page34 · Himiway's US product page22. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D7 Cobra
£2,599 · $2,499
🇬🇧 UK ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the EU or Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Listed at 25 mph8; the limit is 25 km/h2
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,000 W15; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated15
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,000 W15; the limit is less than 750 W48
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £2,599 | $2,499 |
| Motor | 250 W8 | 1000 W15 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 mph with pedal assist, as the UK page lists it8 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 | Yes; top speed not stated15 |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Himiway's UK product page8 · Himiway's US product page15. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D5 Pro
$2,599
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 1,300 W peak17; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found17; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here46
Specs
| Price | $2,599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 1,300 W peak17 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph17 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph17 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's US product page17. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D5 Pro ST
$1,999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 1,300 W peak18; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found18; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here46
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 1,300 W peak18 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph18 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph18 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's US product page18. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D5 2.0 Series
€2,599 · $1,999
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found24; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here43
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph24; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W24; the law says less than 750 W48
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €2,599 | $1,999 |
| Motor | 250 W31 | 750 W24 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h31 | 28 mph (20 mph by default; adjustable to 28 mph, Class 1/2/3)24 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Yes, to 20 mph24 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law21) |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Himiway's EU product page31 · Himiway's US product page24. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D5 2.0 ST
€2,599 · $1,999
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated33. The throttle limit is 6 km/h41
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found25; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here43
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph25; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W25; the law says less than 750 W48
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €2,599 | $1,999 |
| Motor | 250 W33 | 750 W25 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h33 | 28 mph (20 mph by default; adjustable to 28 mph, Class 1/2/3)25 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated33 | Yes, to 20 mph25 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law21) |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Himiway's EU product page33 · Himiway's US product page25. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D5 2.0 Camo
$2,199
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found26; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here43
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph26; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W26; the law says less than 750 W48
Specs
| Price | $2,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W26 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 mph by default; adjustable to 28 mph, Class 1/2/3)26 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph26 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law21) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's US product page26. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway D7 Pro
$3,999
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,000 W29; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph29; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,000 W29; the limit is less than 750 W48
Specs
| Price | $3,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W rated, 1,300 W peak29 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph29 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated29 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's US product page29. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.
Himiway Big Dog: is it legal?

Photo: Himiway
Himiway Big Dog
£1,999
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Price | £1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W7 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's UK product page7. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.
Himiway C5 Ultra, C1 Kids, C3 and more: are they legal?

Photo: Himiway
Himiway C5 Ultra
£2,299
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Price | £2,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h9 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated9 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's UK product page9. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway C1 Kids
$999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found14; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here43
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found14; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here46
Specs
| Price | $999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W14 |
| Top assisted speed | 15 mph (modes of 7, 13 and 15 mph)14 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated14 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's US product page14. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway C3 Cargo
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated28
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated28
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W28; the law says less than 750 W48
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W28 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated28 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's US product page28. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway C5
€2,499
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Price | €2,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W36 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h36 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated36 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Himiway's EU product page36. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.
Himiway Escape Pro: is it legal?

Photo: Himiway
Himiway Escape Pro
£1,599 · €1,699
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the US or Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated11. The throttle limit is 6 km/h2
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated35. The throttle limit is 6 km/h41
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,599 | €1,699 |
| Motor | 250 W11 | 250 W35 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h11 | 25 km/h35 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated11 | Yes; top speed not stated35 |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Himiway's UK product page11 · Himiway's EU product page35. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.
Himiway A7 Pro, A7: are they legal?

Photo: Himiway
Himiway A7 Pro
£2,399 · €2,799 · $2,499
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Top assisted speed not stated12
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated37
- 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated16
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated16
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated16
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £2,399 | €2,799 | $2,499 |
| Motor | 250 W12 | 250 W37 | 500 W16 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated | Yes; top speed not stated16 |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated | None stated |
From Himiway's UK product page12 · Himiway's EU product page37 · Himiway's US product page16. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.

Photo: Himiway
Himiway A7
€2,399 · $1,999
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated30. The throttle limit is 6 km/h41
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated (750 W or 500 W, depending on the version listed)27
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph27; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated (750 W or 500 W, depending on the version listed)27
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €2,399 | $1,999 |
| Motor | 250 W30 | 750 W or 500 W, depending on the version listed27 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h30 | 28 mph (20 mph by default; adjustable to 28 mph)27 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated30 | Yes, to 20 mph27 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law21) |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Himiway's EU product page30 · Himiway's US product page27. “Not stated” means Himiway doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Himiway e-bike's speed limit?
None of Himiway's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike44. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike44.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label49.
Are Himiway electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Himiway e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Himiway, as of the last check.38, 39
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Himiway batteries certified?
What Himiway's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9.
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 8; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 8.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 15; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 15.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate51.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to43.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark52.
Himiway e-bike FAQ
Are Himiway e-bikes legal in the UK?
Of the 9 e-bikes on Himiway's UK store, 0 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1. For 8 more, a figure the law depends on, such as a throttle's top speed or the motor's rated power, isn't published1. D7 Cobra is listed outside the limits on Himiway's own UK page1. Big Dog and D5 (Zebra): the pages say the speed can be unlocked, and an unlocked bike is no longer legal as an e-bike2.
Are Himiway e-bikes UL certified?
None of Himiway's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Himiway had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked38, 39.
Can you unlock an Himiway e-bike's speed limit?
None of Himiway's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
Do Himiway e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Himiway, as of the last check.38, 39
Are Himiway e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 9; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 9. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 8; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 8. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 15; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 15. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Lankeleisi e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are ADO e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Heybike e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Super73 e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Himiway) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Himiway's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Himiway publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 1 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 3 of 15 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✗ not found Himiway Big Dog, Himiway D5 (Zebra): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode7, 13 |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 2 of 9 models5, 6 |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2538 |
✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2539 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2539 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2539 |
| Total | 1.5 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Himiway data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Himiway, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Himiway US store, e-bikes
- Himiway EU store, e-bikes
- Himiway UK, D5 2.0 20" product page
- Himiway UK, D5 2.0 product page
- Himiway UK, Big Dog product page
- Himiway UK, D7 Cobra product page
- Himiway UK, C5 Ultra product page
- Himiway UK, D5 ST (Zebra ST) product page
- Himiway UK, Escape Pro product page
- Himiway UK, A7 Pro product page
- Himiway UK, D5 (Zebra) product page
- Himiway US, C1 Kids product page
- Himiway US, D7 Cobra product page
- Himiway US, A7 Pro product page
- Himiway US, D5 Pro product page
- Himiway US, D5 Pro ST product page
- Himiway US, D5 ST (Zebra ST) product page
- Himiway US, D5 (Zebra) product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Himiway US, D5 2.0 product page
- Himiway US, D5 2.0 20" product page
- Himiway US, D5 2.0 Series product page
- Himiway US, D5 2.0 ST product page
- Himiway US, D5 2.0 Camo product page
- Himiway US, A7 product page
- Himiway US, C3 Cargo product page
- Himiway US, D7 Pro product page
- Himiway EU, A7 product page
- Himiway EU, D5 2.0 Series product page
- Himiway EU, D5 2.0 20" product page
- Himiway EU, D5 2.0 ST product page
- Himiway EU, D5 2.0 product page
- Himiway EU, Escape Pro product page
- Himiway EU, C5 product page
- Himiway EU, A7 Pro product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "himiway"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "himiway"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

