Are Heybike electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 22 Heybike e-bikes sold in the UK, the EU and the US. In the UK (£1,099 to £2,399), 11 of 11 are legal as listed. In the EU (€999 to €1,499), 6 of 6 are legal as listed. In California ($899 to $1,699), 1 of 10 is legal as listed; 8 can't be confirmed from what Heybike publishes and 1 is listed outside the limits (Saturn). One regulator record names Heybike (UK); it's under battery safety and recalls.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power36
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling36
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)37
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval36
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer38
Heybike has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Heybike e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Heybike's own product page for all 11 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Heybike's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Heybike's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202634; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202635. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Heybike's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Heybike Helio (F Vintage, F Artists, U): are they legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Helio F Vintage Edition
£1,499 · €1,399
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,499 | €1,399 |
| Motor | 250 W5 | 250 W30 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 | 25 km/h30 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page5 · Heybike's EU product page30. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Helio F Artists Limited Edition
£1,599 · €1,399
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,599 | €1,399 |
| Motor | 250 W6 | 250 W31 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h6 | 25 km/h31 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page6 · Heybike's EU product page31. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Helio U
€1,099
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W29 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h29 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Heybike's EU product page29. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike EC Compact, EC Compact Sport, EC 1-ST and more: are they legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike EC Compact City
£1,299 · €1,499
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
UK regulator record: OPSS product safety report 2508-0073, 23 Dec 2025, recorded as “high risk of injuries”. The hydraulic rear brake can leak fluid and stop working; the import was rejected at the border33.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,299 | €1,499 |
| Motor | 250 W7 | 250 W27 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h7 | 25 km/h27 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 36 V 13 Ah7 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page7 · Heybike's EU product page27. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike EC Compact Sport
£1,299
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | £1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W8 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h8 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Battery | 36 V 13 Ah8 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page8. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike EC 1-ST
£1,099 · €999
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,099 | €999 |
| Motor | 250 W14 | 250 W32 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h14 | 25 km/h32 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page14 · Heybike's EU product page32. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike EC 1
£1,099 · €999
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,099 | €999 |
| Motor | 250 W15 | 250 W28 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h15 | 25 km/h28 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page15 · Heybike's EU product page28. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike Galaxy (M, K, X and more): are they legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Galaxy M
£2,299
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | £2,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h9 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page9. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Galaxy K
£2,099
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | £2,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h10 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page10. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Galaxy X
£2,399
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | £2,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W11 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h11 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page11. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Galaxy C
£2,299
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | £2,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W12 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h12 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page12. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Galaxy T
£2,299
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | £2,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W13 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h13 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Heybike's UK product page13. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike Titan: is it legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Titan
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,500 W peak17; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak39
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph17; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph42
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W17; the law says less than 750 W44
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,500 W peak17 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 mph as set at the factory; up to 28 mph in the app "where permitted")17 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph17 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law16) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated17 |
From Heybike's US product page17. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike Ranger (S 2.0, 3.0 Pro): are they legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Ranger S 2.0
$999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,400 W peak19; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak39
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph19; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph42
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W19; the law says less than 750 W44
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,400 W peak19 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph19 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated19 |
From Heybike's US product page19. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike Mars (2.5, 3.0): are they legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Mars 2.5
$899
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,000 W peak20; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak39
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph20; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph42
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W20; the law says less than 750 W44
Specs
| Price | $899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak20 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph20 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated20 |
From Heybike's US product page20. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Mars 3.0
$1,099
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,400 W peak21; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak39
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated21
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W21; the law says less than 750 W44
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,400 W peak21 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated21 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated21 |
From Heybike's US product page21. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike Venus: is it legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Venus
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph22; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph42
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W22; the law says less than 750 W44
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W22 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (switchable between Class 2 and Class 3)22 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph22 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law16) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated22 |
From Heybike's US product page22. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike Hybrid: is it legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Hybrid
$1,699
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,200 W peak23; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak39
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph23; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph42
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W23; the law says less than 750 W44
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,200 W peak23 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (switchable between Class 2 and Class 3)23 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph23 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law16) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated23 |
From Heybike's US product page23. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike Alpha: is it legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Alpha
$1,299
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Heybike Cityscape: is it legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Cityscape 2.0
$899
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 1,200 W peak25; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak39
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated25
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated25
Specs
| Price | $899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 1,200 W peak25 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated25 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Heybike's US product page25. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Heybike Saturn: is it legal?

Photo: Heybike
Heybike Saturn
$1,199
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,000 W26; the limit is 750 W39
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 40 mph in “the app setting "where permitted"”26; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph42
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,000 W26; the limit is less than 750 W44
Specs
| Price | $1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1000 W rated, 1,800 W peak26 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 mph Class 2 by default)26; 40 mph in the app setting "where permitted"26 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph26 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law16) |
| Certification stated | UL 2849, UL 2271 stated26 |
From Heybike's US product page26. “Not stated” means Heybike doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Heybike e-bike's speed limit?
None of Heybike's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike39. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike39.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label45.
Are Heybike electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Heybike e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Heybike, as of the last check.34, 35
Heybike has 1 other regulator record, none about fire:
- Heybike EC Compact City: UK OPSS product safety report 2508-0073, 23 Dec 2025, recorded as “high risk of injuries”. The hydraulic rear brake can leak fluid and stop working; the import was rejected at the border33.
Are Heybike batteries certified?
What Heybike's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 11; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 11.
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 6; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 6.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 10; UL 2271 (the battery) on 5 of 10.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate47.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to40.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark48.
Heybike e-bike FAQ
Are Heybike e-bikes legal in the UK?
Of the 11 e-bikes on Heybike's UK store, 11 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1.
Are Heybike e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 8 of the 10 models on Heybike's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 53. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Heybike had a recall or a safety report?
In the UK, OPSS product safety report 2508-0073 (23 December 2025) recorded “high risk of injuries”: the hydraulic rear brake can leak fluid and stop working; the import was rejected at the border33.
Can you unlock an Heybike e-bike's speed limit?
None of Heybike's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
Do Heybike e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Heybike, as of the last check.34, 35
Are Heybike e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 11; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 11. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 6; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 6. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 8 of 10; UL 2271 (the battery) on 5 of 10. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are ADO e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Lankeleisi e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Fiido e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Himiway e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Heybike) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Heybike's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Heybike publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 11 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
✓ 6 of 6 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 1 of 10 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 10 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 10 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✗ not found Heybike Saturn (US): page advertises a faster mode26 |
✗ not found Heybike Saturn (US): page advertises a faster mode26 |
✗ not found Heybike Saturn (US): page advertises a faster mode26 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 10 models17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 10 models17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 8 of 10 models17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
◐ partly Claimed on 5 of 10 models21, 22, 23, 24, 26 |
◐ partly Claimed on 5 of 10 models21, 22, 23, 24, 26 |
◐ partly Claimed on 5 of 10 models21, 22, 23, 24, 26 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found OPSS product safety report 2508-0073, Heybike EC Compact City, 2025-12-23: “high risk of injuries”33 |
✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2535 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2535 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2535 |
| Total | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2.5 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Heybike data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Heybike, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Heybike US store, e-bikes
- Heybike EU store, e-bikes
- Heybike UK, Helio F Vintage Edition product page
- Heybike UK, Helio F Artists Limited Edition product page
- Heybike UK, EC Compact City product page
- Heybike UK, EC Compact Sport product page
- Heybike UK, Galaxy M product page
- Heybike UK, Galaxy K product page
- Heybike UK, Galaxy X product page
- Heybike UK, Galaxy C product page
- Heybike UK, Galaxy T product page
- Heybike UK, EC 1-ST product page
- Heybike UK, EC 1 product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Heybike US, Titan product page
- Heybike US, Ranger S 2.0 product page
- Heybike US, Ranger 3.0 Pro product page
- Heybike US, Mars 2.5 product page
- Heybike US, Mars 3.0 product page
- Heybike US, Venus product page
- Heybike US, Hybrid product page
- Heybike US, Alpha product page
- Heybike US, Cityscape 2.0 product page
- Heybike US, Saturn product page
- Heybike EU, EC Compact City product page
- Heybike EU, EC 1 product page
- Heybike EU, Helio U product page
- Heybike EU, Helio F Vintage Edition product page
- Heybike EU, Helio F Artists Limited Edition product page
- Heybike EU, EC 1-ST product page
- OPSS, Product Safety Report: Heybike EC Compact City E-Bike (2508-0073)
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "heybike"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "heybike"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW