Are Freego electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 11 Freego e-bikes sold in the EU and the US. In the EU (€999 to €1,899), 3 of 3 are legal as listed. In California ($799 to $1,999), 0 of 9 are legal as listed; 6 can't be confirmed from what Freego publishes and 3 are listed outside the limits (Shotgun Lite F0, Flash F3 Pro, Shotgun Prime F2).
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
Freego has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power20
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling20
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)21
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval20
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer22
Freego has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Freego e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Freego's own product page for all 3 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Freego's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Freego's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202618; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202619. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Freego's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Freego Maxx M3: is it legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego Maxx M3
$999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found5; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here23
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
Specs
| Price | $999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 600 W rated, 750 W peak5 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (pedal assist; “The throttle is limited to 20 mph”)5 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph5 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's US product page5. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego X1 SE: is it legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego X1 SE
€999 · $1,549
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found6; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here23
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W6; the law says less than 750 W28
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €999 | $1,549 |
| Motor | 250 W15 | 750 W6 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h15 | 28 mph (“Class 3: Pedal assist up to 28 MPH”)6 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Yes, to 20 mph6 |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Freego's EU product page15 · Freego's US product page6. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego City Flow A1: is it legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego City Flow A1
$1,999
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Assists to 28 mph but doesn't say whether it has a throttle or how fast it goes7; throttles must stop at 20 mph24
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph7; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Assists to 28 mph but doesn't say whether it has a throttle or how fast it goes7; throttles must stop at 20 mph28
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 750 W peak7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph7 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's US product page7. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego E7: is it legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego E7
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found8; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here23
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here26
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W rated, 500 W peak8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's US product page8. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego eFlex (Lite B-20B, Lite B-20A): are they legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego eFlex Lite B-20B
$799
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated9
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated9
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated9
Specs
| Price | $799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's US product page9. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego eFlex Lite B-20A
$799
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 800 W peak10; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak24
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated10
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated10
Specs
| Price | $799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 800 W peak10 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's US product page10. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego Shotgun (Lite F0, Prime F2): are they legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego Shotgun Lite F0
$1,299
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: The brand's page says it can go faster when unlocked or in another mode12; a bike intended to be modifiable past the limits can't be sold as an e-bike here24
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W12; the law says less than 750 W28
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,000 W peak12 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH, “Adjustable to 28 MPH”)12 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph12 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law11) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's US product page12. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.

Photo: Freego
Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro
$1,699
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: The brand's page says it can go faster when unlocked or in another mode14; a bike intended to be modifiable past the limits can't be sold as an e-bike here24
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W14; the law says less than 750 W28
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,400 W peak14 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph (20 MPH, “Adjustable to 28 MPH”)14 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph14 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law11) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's US product page14. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego Flash F3 Pro: is it legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego Flash F3 Pro Max
$1,999
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,500 W13; the limit is 750 W24
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 35 mph in ““Off-Road Mode””13; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph27
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,500 W13; the limit is less than 750 W28
Specs
| Price | $1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W × 2 rear hub (1,000 W × 2 peak)13 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph13; 35 mph in “Off-Road Mode”13 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's US product page13. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego FTW-01: is it legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego FTW-01
€999
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W16 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h16 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's EU product page16. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Freego F2 Pro: is it legal?

Photo: Freego
Freego F2 Pro
€1,899
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W17 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Freego's EU product page17. “Not stated” means Freego doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Freego e-bike's speed limit?
What Freego's own product pages say about it: Freego Shotgun Lite F0: the product page says it is “Class 2, with optional off-road mode unlock for use on private property or trails”12; Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro: the product page says it is “Class 2, with optional off-road mode unlock for use on private property or trails”14.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike24. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike24.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label29.
Are Freego electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Freego e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Freego, as of the last check.18, 19
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Freego batteries certified?
What Freego's own product pages claim, model by model:
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 9; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 9.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate33.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to23.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark34.
Freego e-bike FAQ
Are Freego e-bikes UL certified?
None of Freego's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Freego had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked18, 19.
Can you unlock an Freego e-bike's speed limit?
What Freego's own product pages say about it: Freego Shotgun Lite F0: the product page says it is “Class 2, with optional off-road mode unlock for use on private property or trails”12; Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro: the product page says it is “Class 2, with optional off-road mode unlock for use on private property or trails”14. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike24. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike24.
Do Freego e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Freego, as of the last check.18, 19
Are Freego e-bike batteries certified?
EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 9; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 9. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Macfox e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are PVY e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Mokwheel e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Burchda e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Freego) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Freego's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Freego publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✓ 3 of 3 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 9 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✗ not found Freego Shotgun Lite F0 (US), Freego Flash F3 Pro Max (US), Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode12, 13, 14 |
✗ not found Freego Shotgun Lite F0 (US), Freego Flash F3 Pro Max (US), Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode12, 13, 14 |
✗ not found Freego Shotgun Lite F0 (US), Freego Flash F3 Pro Max (US), Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode12, 13, 14 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2519 |
| Total | 2 of 6 | 1 of 6 | 1 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Freego data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Freego, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Freego US store, e-bikes
- Freego EU store, e-bikes
- Freego US, Maxx M3 product page
- Freego US, X1 SE product page
- Freego US, City Flow A1 product page
- Freego US, E7 product page
- Freego US, eFlex Lite B-20B product page
- Freego US, eFlex Lite B-20A product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Freego US, Shotgun Lite F0 product page
- Freego US, Flash F3 Pro Max product page
- Freego US, Shotgun Prime F2 Pro product page
- Freego EU, X1 SE product page
- Freego EU, FTW-01 product page
- Freego EU, F2 Pro product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "freego"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "freego"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW