Are Mokwheel electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Mokwheel model checked against the law where you ride. Mokwheel data checked 25 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 18 Mokwheel e-bikes sold in the EU and the US. In the EU (€1,399.99 to €1,999.99), 6 of 8 are legal as listed and 2 can't be confirmed from what Mokwheel publishes. In California ($1,199.99 to $3,299.99), 2 of 17 are legal as listed and 15 can't be confirmed from what Mokwheel publishes.

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Not sold hereMokwheel doesn't sell e-bikes in the UK.

Mokwheel has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.

How I check Mokwheel e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read Mokwheel's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Mokwheel's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Mokwheel's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202631; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202632. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Mokwheel's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Mokwheel Scoria: is it legal?

Mokwheel Scoria 2.0 electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Scoria 2.0

$1,699.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,100 W peak5; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph5; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W5; the law says less than 750 W41
Specs
Price $1,699.99
Motor 750 W rated, 1,100 W peak5
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)5
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph5
Certification stated UL 2849 stated5

From Mokwheel's US product page5. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel FLINT (PRO, PRO ST, ST): are they legal?

Mokwheel FLINT electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel FLINT

€1,499.99 · $1,199.99

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price €1,499.99 $1,199.99
Motor 250 W23 350 W rated, 550 W peak7
Top assisted speed 25 km/h23 20 mph (PAS)7
Throttle Not stated None7 (Class 1 has no throttle by law6)
Certification stated None stated UL 2849 stated7

From Mokwheel's EU product page23 · Mokwheel's US product page7. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel FLINT PRO electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel FLINT PRO

€1,699.99 · $1,399.99

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated8
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated8
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated8
Specs
🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price €1,699.99 $1,399.99
Motor 250 W25 250 W8
Top assisted speed 25 km/h25 Not stated
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated None stated

From Mokwheel's EU product page25 · Mokwheel's US product page8. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel FLINT PRO ST electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel FLINT PRO ST

€1,699.99 · $1,399.99

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price €1,699.99 $1,399.99
Motor 250 W26 250 W rated, 500 W peak9
Top assisted speed 25 km/h26 20 mph (PAS)9
Throttle Not stated None9 (Class 1 has no throttle by law6)
Certification stated None stated UL 2849 stated9

From Mokwheel's EU product page26 · Mokwheel's US product page9. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel FLINT ST electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel FLINT ST

€1,499.99 · $1,299.99

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated10
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated10
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Top assisted speed not stated10
Specs
🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price €1,499.99 $1,299.99
Motor 250 W24 350 W10
Top assisted speed 25 km/h24 Not stated
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated None stated None stated

From Mokwheel's EU product page24 · Mokwheel's US product page10. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Onyx ST: is it legal?

Mokwheel Onyx ST electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Onyx ST

$3,299.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated11
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated11
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated11
Specs
Price $3,299.99
Motor Not stated
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Mokwheel's US product page11. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Tarmac (ST): are they legal?

Mokwheel Tarmac ST electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Tarmac ST

$1,599.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 920 W peak12; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W12; the law says less than 750 W41
Specs
Price $1,599.99
Motor 750 W rated, 920 W peak12
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)12
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph12
Certification stated UL 2849 stated12

From Mokwheel's US product page12. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Tarmac electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Tarmac

$1,599.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 920 W peak13; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph13; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W13; the law says less than 750 W41
Specs
Price $1,599.99
Motor 750 W rated, 920 W peak13
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)13
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph13
Certification stated UL 2849 stated13

From Mokwheel's US product page13. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Obsidian (2.0, ST 2.0): are they legal?

Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0 electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Obsidian 2.0

$2,099.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak14; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W14; the law says less than 750 W41
Specs
Price $2,099.99
Motor 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak14
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)14
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph14
Certification stated UL 2849 stated14

From Mokwheel's US product page14. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Obsidian ST 2.0 electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Obsidian ST 2.0

$2,099.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak15; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph15; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W15; the law says less than 750 W41
Specs
Price $2,099.99
Motor 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak15
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)15
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph15
Certification stated UL 2849 stated15

From Mokwheel's US product page15. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Obsidian electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Obsidian

$1,699.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,300 W peak16; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph16; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W16; the law says less than 750 W41
Specs
Price $1,699.99
Motor 750 W rated, 1,300 W peak16
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)16
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph16
Certification stated UL 2849 stated16

From Mokwheel's US product page16. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Basalt (2.0, ST 2.0): are they legal?

Mokwheel Basalt 2.0 electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Basalt 2.0

$1,599.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated17
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated17
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated17
Specs
Price $1,599.99
Motor Not stated
Top assisted speed Not stated
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Mokwheel's US product page17. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Basalt ST 2.0 electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Basalt ST 2.0

$1,699.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,100 W peak20; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph20; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W20; the law says less than 750 W41
Specs
Price $1,699.99
Motor 750 W rated, 1,100 W peak20
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)20
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph20
Certification stated UL 2849 stated20

From Mokwheel's US product page20. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Asphalt (ST): are they legal?

Mokwheel Asphalt ST electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Asphalt ST

€1,399.99 · $1,499.99

🇪🇺 EU Can't confirm   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

  • 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor listed at 250 W peak, rated power not stated28; the limit is 250 W33
  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 860 W peak18; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph18; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
Specs
🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price €1,399.99 $1,499.99
Motor “Peak Power 250 W”28 500 W rated, 860 W peak18
Top assisted speed 25 km/h28 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)18
Throttle Not stated Yes, to 20 mph18
Certification stated None stated UL 2849 stated18

From Mokwheel's EU product page28 · Mokwheel's US product page18. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Asphalt electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Asphalt

€1,399.99 · $1,399.99

🇪🇺 EU Can't confirm   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

  • 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor listed at 250 W peak, rated power not stated27; the limit is 250 W33
  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 860 W peak19; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph19; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
Specs
🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price €1,399.99 $1,399.99
Motor “Peak Power 250 W”27 500 W rated, 860 W peak19
Top assisted speed 25 km/h27 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)19
Throttle Not stated Yes, to 20 mph19
Certification stated None stated UL 2849 stated19

From Mokwheel's EU product page27 · Mokwheel's US product page19. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Tor Plus: is it legal?

Mokwheel Tor Plus electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Tor Plus

$1,199.99

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,100 W peak21; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph21; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph39
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W21; the law says less than 750 W41
Specs
Price $1,199.99
Motor 750 W rated, 1,100 W peak21
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 28 mph (PAS)”; Class 2/3)21
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph21
Certification stated UL 2849 stated21

From Mokwheel's US product page21. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Slate: is it legal?

Mokwheel Slate electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Slate

€1,499.99 · $1,499.99

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 860 W peak22; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak36
Specs
🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price €1,499.99 $1,499.99
Motor 250 W30 500 W rated, 860 W peak22
Top assisted speed 25 km/h30 25 mph (“20 mph (Throttle) / 25 mph (PAS)”; Class 2)22
Throttle Not stated Yes, to 20 mph22
Certification stated None stated UL 2849 stated22

From Mokwheel's EU product page30 · Mokwheel's US product page22. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Mokwheel Granite: is it legal?

Mokwheel Granite electric bike, photo from Mokwheel

Photo: Mokwheel

Mokwheel Granite

€1,999.99

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €1,999.99
Motor 250 W29
Top assisted speed 25 km/h29
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated None stated

From Mokwheel's EU product page29. “Not stated” means Mokwheel doesn't publish it.

Can you unlock an Mokwheel e-bike's speed limit?

None of Mokwheel's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.

What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:

  • 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike36. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike36.
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label42.

Are Mokwheel electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Mokwheel e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Mokwheel, as of the last check.31, 32

No other recalls or safety reports either.

Are Mokwheel batteries certified?

What Mokwheel's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 8; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 8.
  • US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 13 of 17; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 17.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate46.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to37.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark47.

Mokwheel e-bike FAQ

Are Mokwheel e-bikes UL certified?

UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 13 of the 17 models on Mokwheel's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 03. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.

Has Mokwheel had a recall or a safety report?

Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked31, 32.

Can you unlock an Mokwheel e-bike's speed limit?

None of Mokwheel's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike36. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike36.

Do Mokwheel e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Mokwheel, as of the last check.31, 32

Are Mokwheel e-bike batteries certified?

EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 8; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 8. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 13 of 17; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 17. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Mokwheel) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Mokwheel's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Mokwheel publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the EU California New York City Florida
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ◐ partly
6 of 8 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
2 of 17 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
3 of 17 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
5 of 17 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ✗ not found
EN 15194 not claimed on any model
◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 13 of 17 models5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22
◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 13 of 17 models5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22
◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 13 of 17 models5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✗ not found
Not yet checked against this market’s database
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2532
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2532
✓
Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2532
Total 1.5 of 6 3 of 6 3 of 6 3 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Mokwheel data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Mokwheel, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Mokwheel US store, e-bikes
  4. Mokwheel EU store, e-bikes
  5. Mokwheel US, Scoria 2.0 product page
  6. California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
  7. Mokwheel US, FLINT product page
  8. Mokwheel US, FLINT PRO product page
  9. Mokwheel US, FLINT PRO ST product page
  10. Mokwheel US, FLINT ST product page
  11. Mokwheel US, Onyx ST product page
  12. Mokwheel US, Tarmac ST product page
  13. Mokwheel US, Tarmac product page
  14. Mokwheel US, Obsidian 2.0 product page
  15. Mokwheel US, Obsidian ST 2.0 product page
  16. Mokwheel US, Obsidian product page
  17. Mokwheel US, Basalt 2.0 product page
  18. Mokwheel US, Asphalt ST product page
  19. Mokwheel US, Asphalt product page
  20. Mokwheel US, Basalt ST 2.0 product page
  21. Mokwheel US, Tor Plus product page
  22. Mokwheel US, Slate product page
  23. Mokwheel EU, FLINT product page
  24. Mokwheel EU, FLINT ST product page
  25. Mokwheel EU, FLINT PRO product page
  26. Mokwheel EU, FLINT PRO ST product page
  27. Mokwheel EU, Asphalt product page
  28. Mokwheel EU, Asphalt ST product page
  29. Mokwheel EU, Granite product page
  30. Mokwheel EU, Slate product page
  31. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "mokwheel"
  32. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "mokwheel"
  33. Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
  34. Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
  35. Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
  36. California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
  37. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  38. California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
  39. NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
  40. City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
  41. Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
  42. Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
  43. Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
  44. The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
  45. Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
  46. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  47. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026