Are PVY electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 8 PVY e-bikes sold in the EU and the US. In the EU (€699 to €1,699), 3 of 8 are legal as listed; 4 can't be confirmed from what PVY publishes and 1 is listed outside the limits (LIBON). In California ($899 to $1,942), 2 of 8 are legal as listed; 1 can't be confirmed from what PVY publishes and 5 are listed outside the limits (LIBON, F20, A20 and more).
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
PVY has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
F20 (trike) (EU) and A20 (EU): the brand's page says the speed “can be unlocked”14, 15. Unlocked, a bike is outside the law.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power22
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling22
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)23
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval22
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer24
LIBON (US) and F20 (trike) (US) and A20 (US) and Z20 Pro Evo (US): the brand's page says the speed “can be unlocked”5, 6, 7, 11. Unlocked, a bike is outside the law.
PVY has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check PVY e-bikes
- The bikes. I read PVY's own product page for all 8 e-bikes it sells in the EU, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in PVY's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the EU, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If PVY's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202620; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202621. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means PVY's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
PVY Z20 Ultra, Z20 Pro, Z20 Max and more: are they legal?
PVY Z20 Pro vs Ultra: what's different, legally
| EU versions | PVY Z20 Pro | PVY Z20 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W in the spec list; "500W geared hub motor" elsewhere on the page16 | 250 W12 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h16 | 25 km/h12 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated16 | None12 |
| 🇪🇺 the EU | ?Can't confirm | ✓Legal as listed |
| 🇺🇸 California | ?Can't confirm | ✓Legal as listed |
| 🇺🇸 New York City | ?Can't confirm | ?Can't confirm |
| 🇺🇸 Florida | ?Can't confirm | ✓Legal as listed |

Photo: PVY
PVY Z20 Ultra
€1,399 · $1,599
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

Photo: PVY
PVY Z20 Pro
€699 · $899
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor power not stated (250 W in the spec list; "500W geared hub motor" elsewhere on the page)16
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated (250 W in the spec list; "500W geared hub motor" elsewhere on the page)8
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here28
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated (250 W in the spec list; "500W geared hub motor" elsewhere on the page)8
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €699 | $899 |
| Motor | 250 W in the spec list; "500W geared hub motor" elsewhere on the page16 | 250 W in the spec list; "500W geared hub motor" elsewhere on the page8 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h16 | 25 km/h8 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated16 | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | EN 15194 stated16 | EN 15194 stated8 |
From PVY's EU product page16 · PVY's US product page8. “Not stated” means PVY doesn't publish it.

Photo: PVY
PVY Z20 Max
€999 · $1,299
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated17. The throttle limit is 6 km/h23
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found9; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here28
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €999 | $1,299 |
| Motor | 250 W17 | 250 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h17 | 25 km/h9 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated17 | Yes; top speed not stated9 |
| Certification stated | EN 15194 stated17 | EN 15194 stated9 |
From PVY's EU product page17 · PVY's US product page9. “Not stated” means PVY doesn't publish it.

Photo: PVY
PVY Z20 Pro Evo
€799 · $899
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated19. The throttle limit is 6 km/h23
- 🇺🇸 California: The brand's page says it can go faster when unlocked or in another mode11; a bike intended to be modifiable past the limits can't be sold as an e-bike here25
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found11; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here28
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €799 | $899 |
| Motor | 250 W19 | 250 W11 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h19 | 25 km/h11 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated19 | Yes; top speed not stated11 |
| Certification stated | EN 15194 stated19 | EN 15194 stated11 |
From PVY's EU product page19 · PVY's US product page11. “Not stated” means PVY doesn't publish it.
PVY LIBON: is it legal?

Photo: PVY
PVY LIBON
€1,399 · $1,599
🇪🇺 EU ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Listed at 32 km/h13; the limit is 25 km/h22
- 🇺🇸 California: The brand's page says it can go faster when unlocked or in another mode5; a bike intended to be modifiable past the limits can't be sold as an e-bike here25
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found5; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here28
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €1,399 | $1,599 |
| Motor | 250 W13 | 250 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 32 km/h (the "international version")13 | 32 km/h (the "international version")5 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated13 | Yes; top speed not stated5 |
| Certification stated | EN 15194 stated13 | EN 15194 stated5 |
From PVY's EU product page13 · PVY's US product page5. “Not stated” means PVY doesn't publish it.
PVY F20: is it legal?

Photo: PVY
PVY F20 (trike)
€1,699 · $1,942
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
PVY A20: is it legal?

Photo: PVY
PVY A20
€899 · $1,028
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
PVY M29: is it legal?

Photo: PVY
PVY M29
€899 · $899
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Motor power not stated (250 W in the spec table; "1000W" in the page copy)18
- 🇺🇸 California: The brand's page says it can go faster when unlocked or in another mode10; a bike intended to be modifiable past the limits can't be sold as an e-bike here25
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found10; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here28
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated (250 W in the spec table; "1000W" in the page copy)10
Specs
| 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €899 | $899 |
| Motor | 250 W in the spec table; "1000W" in the page copy18 | 250 W in the spec table; "1000W" in the page copy10 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h18 | 25 km/h10 |
| Throttle | None18 | None10 |
| Certification stated | EN 15194 stated18 | EN 15194 stated10 |
From PVY's EU product page18 · PVY's US product page10. “Not stated” means PVY doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an PVY e-bike's speed limit?
What PVY's own product pages say about it: PVY LIBON: PVY says the LIBON reaches 32 km/h and 500 W "after unlocking"5; PVY F20 (trike): The spec list gives "Unlock Power: 1000W", and the throttle "can be retrofitted"6; PVY LIBON: PVY says the LIBON reaches 32 km/h and 500 W "after unlocking"13; PVY F20 (trike): The spec list gives "Unlock Power: 1000W", and the throttle "can be retrofitted"14.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike25. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike25.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label31.
Are PVY electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have PVY e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for PVY, as of the last check.20, 21
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are PVY batteries certified?
What PVY's own product pages claim, model by model:
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 8 of 8; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 8.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 8; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 8.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate35.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to26.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark36.
PVY e-bike FAQ
Are PVY e-bikes UL certified?
None of PVY's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has PVY had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked20, 21.
Can you unlock an PVY e-bike's speed limit?
What PVY's own product pages say about it: PVY LIBON: PVY says the LIBON reaches 32 km/h and 500 W "after unlocking"5; PVY F20 (trike): The spec list gives "Unlock Power: 1000W", and the throttle "can be retrofitted"6; PVY LIBON: PVY says the LIBON reaches 32 km/h and 500 W "after unlocking"13; PVY F20 (trike): The spec list gives "Unlock Power: 1000W", and the throttle "can be retrofitted"14. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike25. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike25.
Do PVY e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for PVY, as of the last check.20, 21
Are PVY e-bike batteries certified?
EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 8 of 8; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 8. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 8; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 8. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Freego e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Macfox e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Mokwheel e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are EMOKO e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (PVY) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
PVY's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what PVY publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 3 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 2 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 6 of 8 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✗ not found PVY LIBON (EU), PVY F20 (trike) (EU), PVY A20 (EU), PVY M29 (EU), PVY Z20 Pro Evo (EU): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode13, 14, 15, 18, 19 |
✗ not found PVY LIBON (US), PVY F20 (trike) (US), PVY A20 (US), PVY M29 (US), PVY Z20 Pro Evo (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode5, 6, 7, 10, 11 |
✗ not found PVY LIBON (US), PVY F20 (trike) (US), PVY A20 (US), PVY M29 (US), PVY Z20 Pro Evo (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode5, 6, 7, 10, 11 |
✗ not found PVY LIBON (US), PVY F20 (trike) (US), PVY A20 (US), PVY M29 (US), PVY Z20 Pro Evo (US): pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode5, 6, 7, 10, 11 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✓ EN 15194 claimed on 8 of 8 models12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2521 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2521 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2521 |
| Total | 1.5 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 | 1 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (PVY data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- PVY, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- PVY US store, e-bikes
- PVY US, Z20 Ultra product page
- PVY US, LIBON product page
- PVY US, F20 (trike) product page
- PVY US, A20 product page
- PVY US, Z20 Pro product page
- PVY US, Z20 Max product page
- PVY US, M29 product page
- PVY US, Z20 Pro Evo product page
- PVY EU, Z20 Ultra product page
- PVY EU, LIBON product page
- PVY EU, F20 (trike) product page
- PVY EU, A20 product page
- PVY EU, Z20 Pro product page
- PVY EU, Z20 Max product page
- PVY EU, M29 product page
- PVY EU, Z20 Pro Evo product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "pvy"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "pvy"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW