Are Jetson electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 11 Jetson e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($479.99 to $1,499.99), 0 of 11 are legal as listed and 11 can't be confirmed from what Jetson publishes. 2 regulator records name Jetson (US); they're under battery safety and recalls.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
Jetson has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Jetson has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
Jetson has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Jetson e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Jetson's own product page for all 11 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Jetson's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Jetson's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202617; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202618. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Jetson's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Jetson Atlas (Pro): are they legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Atlas
$649.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated4
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found4; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated4
Specs
| Price | $649.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph (“Full-throttle power or pedal assistance to 15.5 mph”)4 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated4 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page4. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Atlas Pro
$699.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found7; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found7; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
Specs
| Price | $699.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W7 |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph7 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated7 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page7. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Jetson Bolt (Pro Max, Pro): are they legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Bolt Pro Max
$479.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found5; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found5; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
Specs
| Price | $479.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 15 mph5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page5. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Bolt Pro
$499.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found14; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found14; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
Specs
| Price | $499.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W14 |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph14 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated14 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page14. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Jetson Axle: is it legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Axle X
$599.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found6; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found6; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
Specs
| Price | $599.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W6 |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph6 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated6 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page6. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Jetson OTG Elite: is it legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson OTG Elite
$749.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated8
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found8; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated8
Specs
| Price | $749.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph8 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page8. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Jetson Haze: is it legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Haze
$699.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found9; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found9; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
Specs
| Price | $699.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W9 |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph9 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 15.5 mph9 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page9. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Jetson Venture: is it legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Venture
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found10; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found10; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W10 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph10 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated10 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page10. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Jetson Universe: is it legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Universe
$1,499.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found11; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found11; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
Specs
| Price | $1,499.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W11 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph11 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated11 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page11. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Jetson Warren: is it legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson Warren
$1,499.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated12
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found12; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated12
Specs
| Price | $1,499.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph12 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page12. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Jetson J5: is it legal?

Photo: Jetson
Jetson J5
$799.99
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found13; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here20
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found13; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here22
Specs
| Price | $799.99 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 350 W13 |
| Top assisted speed | 15.5 mph13 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated13 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Jetson's US product page13. “Not stated” means Jetson doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Jetson e-bike's speed limit?
None of Jetson's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike19. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike19.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label25.
Are Jetson electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Jetson e-bike batteries caught fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Jetson.
- Jetson 42-Volt Rogue self-balancing scooter (a hoverboard, not an e-bike): US CPSC recall, 30 Mar 2023, recorded as “fire hazard”. The lithium-ion battery packs could overheat. About 53,000 were recalled; the CPSC records that a fire in Hellertown, Pennsylvania in April 2022, which the fire marshal traced to a Rogue, killed two sisters15.
Jetson has 1 other regulator record, none about fire:
- Jetson Nova and Star 3-wheel children's kick scooters (not e-bikes): US CPSC recall, 1 Jun 2023, recorded as “fall hazard”. The rear wheel could loosen or fall off. About 15,300 were recalled16.
Are Jetson batteries certified?
What Jetson's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 11; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 11.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate29.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to20.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark30.
Jetson e-bike FAQ
Are Jetson e-bikes UL certified?
None of Jetson's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Jetson had a recall or a safety report?
In the US, CPSC recall (30 March 2023) recorded “fire hazard”: the lithium-ion battery packs could overheat15. About 53,000 were recalled; the CPSC records that a fire in Hellertown, Pennsylvania in April 2022, which the fire marshal traced to a Rogue, killed two sisters15. In the US, CPSC recall (1 June 2023) recorded “fall hazard”: the rear wheel could loosen or fall off16. About 15,300 were recalled16.
Can you unlock an Jetson e-bike's speed limit?
None of Jetson's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike19. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike19.
Do Jetson e-bikes catch fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Jetson.
Are Jetson e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 11; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 11. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Euybike e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Tietie e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Jasion e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Vivi e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Jetson) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Jetson's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Jetson publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 8 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2518 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2518 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2518 |
| Total | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Jetson data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Jetson, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Jetson US store, e-bikes
- Jetson US, Atlas product page
- Jetson US, Bolt Pro Max product page
- Jetson US, Axle X product page
- Jetson US, Atlas Pro product page
- Jetson US, OTG Elite product page
- Jetson US, Haze product page
- Jetson US, Venture product page
- Jetson US, Universe product page
- Jetson US, Warren product page
- Jetson US, J5 product page
- Jetson US, Bolt Pro product page
- CPSC, Jetson Electric Bikes Recalls 42-Volt Rogue Self-Balancing Scooters/Hoverboards Due to Fire Hazard
- CPSC, Jetson Electric Bikes Recalls Nova and Star 3-Wheel Kick Children's Scooters Due to Fall Hazard
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "jetson"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "jetson"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW