Are Vivi electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 11 Vivi e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($350 to $900), 0 of 11 are legal as listed and 11 can't be confirmed from what Vivi publishes. One regulator record names Vivi (US); it's under battery safety and recalls.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
Vivi has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Vivi has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
Vivi has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Vivi e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Vivi's own product page for all 11 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Vivi's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Vivi's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 202615; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 202616. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Vivi's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Vivi MT26, MT20UL, MT26GUL: are they legal?

Photo: Vivi
Vivi MT26
$360
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Vivi
Vivi MT20UL
$450
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Vivi
Vivi MT26GUL
$680
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Vivi ACE01 Pro, ACE07, ACE01: are they legal?

Photo: Vivi
Vivi ACE01 Pro
$900
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Vivi
Vivi ACE07
$900
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Vivi
Vivi ACE01
$900
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Vivi Gopina: is it legal?

Photo: Vivi
Vivi Gopina
$350
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 700 W peak, rated power not stated8; the limit is 750 W17
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated8
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 700 W peak, rated power not stated8; the limit is 750 W22
Specs
| Price | $350 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 700 W peak; rated power not stated8 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated8 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated8 |
From Vivi's US product page8. “Not stated” means Vivi doesn't publish it.
Vivi F26FUL: is it legal?

Photo: Vivi
Vivi F26FUL
$650
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Vivi FM20UL: is it legal?

Photo: Vivi
Vivi FM20UL
$450
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Vivi M026TGBUL, M026SHUL: are they legal?

Photo: Vivi
Vivi M026TGBUL
$390
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,000 W peak, rated power not stated12; the limit is 750 W17
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated12
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,000 W peak, rated power not stated12; the limit is 750 W22
Specs
| Price | $390 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,000 W peak; rated power not stated12 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated12 |
| Certification stated | UL 2849 stated12 |
From Vivi's US product page12. “Not stated” means Vivi doesn't publish it.

Photo: Vivi
Vivi M026SHUL
$410
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
Can you unlock an Vivi e-bike's speed limit?
None of Vivi's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike17. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike17.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label23.
Are Vivi electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Vivi e-bike batteries caught fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Vivi.
- Vivi 36 V batteries supplied with older models (C26, MT20, M026SH, H6 and others): US CPSC recall, 17 Jul 2025, recorded as “fire and burn hazards”. The lithium-ion batteries could overheat. About 24,000 were recalled; VIVI had 14 reports of overheating, including three fires, and no injuries. The recall lists the affected e-bike and battery model numbers14.
Are Vivi batteries certified?
What Vivi's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 11 of 11; UL 2271 (the battery) on 4 of 11.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate27.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to18.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark28.
Vivi e-bike FAQ
Are Vivi e-bikes UL certified?
UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 11 of the 11 models on Vivi's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 41. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Vivi had a recall or a safety report?
In the US, CPSC recall (17 July 2025) recorded “fire and burn hazards”: the lithium-ion batteries could overheat14. About 24,000 were recalled; VIVI had 14 reports of overheating, including three fires, and no injuries14. The recall lists the affected e-bike and battery model numbers14.
Can you unlock an Vivi e-bike's speed limit?
None of Vivi's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike17. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike17.
Do Vivi e-bikes catch fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Vivi.
Are Vivi e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 11 of 11; UL 2271 (the battery) on 4 of 11. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Tietie e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Jetson e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Euybike e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Jasion e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Vivi) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Vivi's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Vivi publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 9 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 11 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✓ UL 2849 claimed on 11 of 11 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 |
✓ UL 2849 claimed on 11 of 11 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 |
✓ UL 2849 claimed on 11 of 11 models3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ◐ partly Claimed on 4 of 11 models4, 5, 6, 10 |
◐ partly Claimed on 4 of 11 models4, 5, 6, 10 |
◐ partly Claimed on 4 of 11 models4, 5, 6, 10 |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found CPSC recall, Vivi 36 V batteries supplied with older models (C26, MT20, M026SH, H6 and others), 2025-07-17: “fire and burn hazards”14 |
✗ not found CPSC recall, Vivi 36 V batteries supplied with older models (C26, MT20, M026SH, H6 and others), 2025-07-17: “fire and burn hazards”14 |
✗ not found CPSC recall, Vivi 36 V batteries supplied with older models (C26, MT20, M026SH, H6 and others), 2025-07-17: “fire and burn hazards”14 |
| Total | 2.5 of 6 | 3 of 6 | 2.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Vivi data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Vivi, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Vivi US, MT26 product page
- Vivi US, ACE01 Pro product page
- Vivi US, ACE07 product page
- Vivi US, ACE01 product page
- Vivi US, MT20UL product page
- Vivi US, Gopina product page
- Vivi US, MT26GUL product page
- Vivi US, F26FUL product page
- Vivi US, FM20UL product page
- Vivi US, M026TGBUL product page
- Vivi US, M026SHUL product page
- CPSC, VIVI E-Bikes Lithium-ion Batteries Sold with VIVI E-Bikes Recalled Due to Fire and Burn Hazards
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "vivi"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "vivi"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW