Are Tietie electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 4 Tietie e-bikes sold in the US. In California ($549 to $949), 0 of 4 are legal as listed; 3 can't be confirmed from what Tietie publishes and 1 is listed outside the limits (E5).
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
Tietie has no UK store1. The rules there are on the the UK page.
Tietie has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
Tietie has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Tietie e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Tietie's own product page for all 4 e-bikes it sells in the US, on 26 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Tietie's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in California, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Tietie's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 26 Oct 20267; CPSC (US), checked 26 Oct 20268. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Tietie's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Tietie T2, T5: are they legal?

Photo: Tietie
Tietie T2 20*4.0 Inch 48 V 15.6 Ah EBike
$549
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,500 W peak, rated power not stated3; the limit is 750 W9
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph3; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph12
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,500 W peak, rated power not stated3; the limit is 750 W14
Specs
| Price | $549 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,500 W peak; rated power not stated3 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph3 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tietie's US product page3. “Not stated” means Tietie doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tietie
Tietie T5 20*4.0 Inch 48V 13Ah EBike
$549
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated5
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated5
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated5
Specs
| Price | $549 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tietie's US product page5. “Not stated” means Tietie doesn't publish it.
Tietie E20Pro, E5: are they legal?

Photo: Tietie
Tietie E20Pro 20*4.0 Inch 48V 15.6Ah EBike
$549
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,500 W peak4; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak9
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph4; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph12
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W4; the law says less than 750 W14
Specs
| Price | $549 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,500 W peak4 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph4 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tietie's US product page4. “Not stated” means Tietie doesn't publish it.

Photo: Tietie
Tietie E5 Electric Bike For Teens & Adults
$949
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 32 mph6; the limit is 28 mph9
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 32 mph6; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph12
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 32 mph6; the limit is 28 mph14
Specs
| Price | $949 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,500 W peak; rated power not stated6 |
| Top assisted speed | 32 mph6 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Tietie's US product page6. “Not stated” means Tietie doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Tietie e-bike's speed limit?
None of Tietie's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike9. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike9.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label15.
Are Tietie electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Tietie e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Tietie, as of the last check.7, 8
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Tietie batteries certified?
What Tietie's own product pages claim, model by model:
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 4; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 4.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate19.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to10.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark20.
Tietie e-bike FAQ
Are Tietie e-bikes UL certified?
None of Tietie's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Tietie had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked7, 8.
Can you unlock an Tietie e-bike's speed limit?
None of Tietie's product pages, as read on 26 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike9. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike9.
Do Tietie e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Tietie, as of the last check.7, 8
Are Tietie e-bike batteries certified?
US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 4; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 4. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Vivi e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Jetson e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Euybike e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Jasion e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 26 October 2026 (Tietie) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Tietie's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Tietie publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ✗ not found 0 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 4 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-268 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-268 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-268 |
| Total | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 26 October 2026 (Tietie data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Tietie, store directory (regional stores checked 26 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Tietie US, T2 20*4.0 Inch 48 V 15.6 Ah EBike product page
- Tietie US, E20Pro 20*4.0 Inch 48V 15.6Ah EBike product page
- Tietie US, T5 20*4.0 Inch 48V 13Ah EBike product page
- Tietie US, E5 Electric Bike For Teens & Adults product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "tietie"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "tietie"
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for EAPCs: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 (as amended 2015)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW