Are Ribble electric bikes legal (and safe)?
Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 12 Ribble e-bikes sold in the UK. In the UK, 7 of 12 are legal as listed and 5 can't be confirmed from what Ribble publishes.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
Ribble has no EU store1. The rules there are on the the EU page.
Ribble has no US store1. The rules there are on the California page.
Ribble has no US store1. The rules there are on the New York City page.
Ribble has no US store1. The rules there are on the Florida page.
Ribble has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Ribble e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Ribble's own product page for all 12 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Ribble's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Ribble's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202618; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202619. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Ribble's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Ribble Allroad (SL R, e AL): are they legal?

Photo: Ribble
Ribble Allroad SL R e
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X20 rear hub motor, 275 W peak; rated power not published5 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)4 |
| Throttle | None3 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page3. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble Allroad e AL
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X30 rear hub motor, 250 W7 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)7 |
| Throttle | None6 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page6. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.
Ribble CGR (e AL, e Carbon-X): are they legal?

Photo: Ribble
Ribble CGR e AL
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X30 rear hub motor, 250 W7 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)7 |
| Throttle | None8 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page8. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble CGR e Carbon-X
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X20 rear hub motor, 275 W peak; rated power not published5 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)4 |
| Throttle | None9 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page9. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble CGR e Carbon-X Sportfit Apex XPLR AXS
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X20 rear hub motor, 275 W peak; rated power not published5 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)4 |
| Throttle | None12 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page12. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble CGR e AL Sportfit Apex XPLR
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X30 rear hub motor, 250 W7 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)7 |
| Throttle | None15 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page15. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble CGR e AL Sportfit Apex XPLR AXS
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X30 rear hub motor, 250 W7 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)7 |
| Throttle | None16 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page16. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.
Ribble Allgrit (e Carbon-X, e AL): are they legal?

Photo: Ribble
Ribble Allgrit e Carbon-X Sportfit Apex XPLR AXS
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X20 rear hub motor, 275 W peak; rated power not published5 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)4 |
| Throttle | None10 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page10. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble Allgrit e Carbon-X
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X20 rear hub motor, 275 W peak; rated power not published5 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)4 |
| Throttle | None11 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page11. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble Allgrit e AL
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X30 rear hub motor, 250 W7 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)7 |
| Throttle | None13 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page13. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble Allgrit e AL Sportfit Apex XPLR
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X30 rear hub motor, 250 W7 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)7 |
| Throttle | None14 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page14. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.

Photo: Ribble
Ribble Allgrit e AL Sportfit Apex XPLR AXS
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Motor | MAHLE X30 rear hub motor, 250 W7 |
|---|---|
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h (MAHLE's figure for the UK and EU)7 |
| Throttle | None17 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Ribble's UK product page17. “Not stated” means Ribble doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Ribble e-bike's speed limit?
None of Ribble's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
Are Ribble electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Ribble e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Ribble, as of the last check.18, 19
No other recalls or safety reports either.
Are Ribble batteries certified?
What Ribble's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 12; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 12.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate20.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to21.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark22.
Ribble e-bike FAQ
Are Ribble e-bikes legal in the UK?
Of the 12 e-bikes on Ribble's UK store, 7 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1. For 5 more, a figure the law depends on, such as a throttle's top speed or the motor's rated power, isn't published1.
Has Ribble had a recall or a safety report?
Nothing on the UK (OPSS) or US (CPSC) databases when checked18, 19.
Can you unlock an Ribble e-bike's speed limit?
None of Ribble's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
Do Ribble e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Ribble, as of the last check.18, 19
Are Ribble e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 12; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 12. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are ADO e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Aventon e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Brompton e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Decathlon e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Ribble) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Ribble's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Ribble publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK |
|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 7 of 12 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✓ Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2518 |
| Total | 2.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Ribble data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Ribble, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Ribble UK, Allroad SL R e product page
- MAHLE, X20 drive unit manual (“Max. speed: 25km/h or 20 mph (limited by region)”)
- MAHLE press release: the X20 “boosts peak power output to 275 W”
- Ribble UK, Allroad e AL product page
- MAHLE, X30 drive unit manual (“Power: 250 W. Max. speed: 25km/h or 20 mph (limited by region)”)
- Ribble UK, CGR e AL product page
- Ribble UK, CGR e Carbon-X product page
- Ribble UK, Allgrit e Carbon-X Sportfit Apex XPLR AXS product page
- Ribble UK, Allgrit e Carbon-X product page
- Ribble UK, CGR e Carbon-X Sportfit Apex XPLR AXS product page
- Ribble UK, Allgrit e AL product page
- Ribble UK, Allgrit e AL Sportfit Apex XPLR product page
- Ribble UK, CGR e AL Sportfit Apex XPLR product page
- Ribble UK, CGR e AL Sportfit Apex XPLR AXS product page
- Ribble UK, Allgrit e AL Sportfit Apex XPLR AXS product page
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "ribble"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "ribble"
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW