Are Aventon electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands

Every Aventon model checked against the law where you ride. Aventon data checked 25 October 2026; law checked 23 October 2026.

This page checks 17 Aventon e-bikes sold in the UK, the EU and the US. In the UK (£1,999 to £4,999), 4 of 5 are legal as listed and 1 is listed outside the limits (Abound LR). In the EU (€2,599 to €7,999), 7 of 7 are legal as listed. In California ($1,199 to $7,999), 3 of 13 are legal as listed and 10 can't be confirmed from what Aventon publishes. One regulator record names Aventon (US); it's under battery safety and recalls.

Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.

Legal as listedIn the UK, 4 of Aventon's 5 UK models are legal as listed; 1 is listed outside the limits.

The law in the UK, in short

  • Motor: 250 W max2
  • Motor stops helping at: 15.5 mph (25 km/h)2
  • Throttle: Only with vehicle approval2
  • Rider age: 14 or over2
  • Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed2

UK e-bike law in full · Battery safety and recalls

Every Aventon model, with its mark in each area ↓

How I check Aventon e-bikes
  • The bikes. I read Aventon's own product page for all 5 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
  • Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Aventon's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
  • The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
  • Unlocking. If Aventon's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
  • Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
  • Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202632; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202633. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
  • The marks. ✓ means Aventon's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
  • Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.

Aventon Abound (LR, SR): are they legal?

Aventon Abound LR electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Abound LR

£1,999 · $1,999

🇬🇧 UK Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU or Australia.

  • 🇬🇧 the UK: Motor listed at 750 W5; the limit is 250 W2
  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,188 W peak23; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak37
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W23; the law says less than 750 W42

Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇺🇸 US version
Price £1,999 $1,999
Motor Shengyi 36 V 750 W hub drive (1,188 W peak)5 750 W rated, 1,188 W peak23
Top assisted speed 25 km/h (“in accordance with UK EAPC regulations”, the page says)5 20 mph (listed as Class 2; Class 2 stops helping at 20 mph by law12)23
Throttle Not stated Yes, to 20 mph23 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law12)
Certification stated UL 2849 stated5 UL 2849 stated23

From Aventon's UK product page5 · Aventon's US product page23. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Abound SR electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Abound SR

$1,899

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,188 W peak25; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak37
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W25; the law says less than 750 W42
Specs
Price $1,899
Motor 750 W rated, 1,188 W peak25
Top assisted speed 20 mph (listed as Class 2; Class 2 stops helping at 20 mph by law12)25
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph25 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law12)
Certification stated UL 2849 stated25

From Aventon's US product page25. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Current (EXP, ADV, LTD and more): are they legal?

Aventon Current EXP electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Current EXP

£4,999 · €5,499 · $5,999

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 750 W peak, rated power not stated17; the limit is 750 W37
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph17; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph40
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 750 W peak, rated power not stated17; the limit is 750 W42

Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price £4,999 €5,499 $5,999
Motor 250 W rated, 750 W peak7 250 W rated, 750 W peak7 750 W peak (850 W peak in Boost mode); rated power not stated17
Top assisted speed 25 km/h6 25 km/h7 28 mph (listed as “Class 1 (Convertible to Class 3)”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law12)17
Throttle Not stated Not stated None17 (Class 1 has no throttle by law12)
Certification stated EN 15194 stated6 EN 15194 stated7 None stated

From Aventon's UK product page6 · Aventon's EU product page7 · Aventon's US product page17. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Current ADV electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Current ADV

£3,499 · €3,999 · $3,999

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 750 W peak, rated power not stated18; the limit is 750 W37
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph18; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph40
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 750 W peak, rated power not stated18; the limit is 750 W42

Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price £3,499 €3,999 $3,999
Motor 250 W rated, 750 W peak9 250 W rated, 750 W peak9 750 W peak (850 W peak in Boost mode); rated power not stated18
Top assisted speed 25 km/h8 25 km/h9 28 mph (listed as “Class 1 (Convertible to Class 3)”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law12)18
Throttle Not stated Not stated None18 (Class 1 has no throttle by law12)
Certification stated EN 15194 stated8 EN 15194 stated9 None stated

From Aventon's UK product page8 · Aventon's EU product page9 · Aventon's US product page18. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Current LTD electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Current LTD

€7,999 · $7,999

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed   🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 750 W peak, rated power not stated13; the limit is 750 W37
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph13; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph40
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 750 W peak, rated power not stated13; the limit is 750 W42
Specs
🇪🇺 EU version 🇺🇸 US version
Price €7,999 $7,999
Motor 250 W rated, 750 W peak26 750 W peak (850 W peak in Boost mode); rated power not stated13
Top assisted speed 25 km/h26 28 mph (listed as “Class 1 (Convertible to Class 3)”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law12)13
Throttle Not stated None13 (Class 1 has no throttle by law12)
Certification stated EN 15194 stated26 UL 2849 stated13

From Aventon's EU product page26 · Aventon's US product page13. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Current REC electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Current REC

€3,499

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €3,499
Motor 250 W rated, 750 W peak28
Top assisted speed 25 km/h28
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated EN 15194 stated28

From Aventon's EU product page28. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Trava (EXP, ADV): are they legal?

Aventon Trava EXP electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Trava EXP

£3,499 · €3,899

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version
Price £3,499 €3,899
Motor 250 W rated, 750 W peak10 250 W rated, 750 W peak29
Top assisted speed 25 km/h10 25 km/h29
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated EN 15194 stated10 EN 15194 stated29

From Aventon's UK product page10 · Aventon's EU product page29. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Trava ADV electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Trava ADV

£2,499 · €2,899

🇬🇧 UK Legal as listed   🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
🇬🇧 UK version 🇪🇺 EU version
Price £2,499 €2,899
Motor 250 W rated, 750 W peak11 250 W rated, 750 W peak30
Top assisted speed 25 km/h11 25 km/h30
Throttle Not stated Not stated
Certification stated EN 15194 stated11 EN 15194 stated30

From Aventon's UK product page11 · Aventon's EU product page30. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Pace: is it legal?

Aventon Pace 5 REC Step-Through electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Pace 5 REC Step-Through

$1,799

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,188 W peak14; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak37
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph40
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W14; the law says less than 750 W42
Specs
Price $1,799
Motor 750 W, 1,188 W peak (1,440 W peak in Boost mode)14
Top assisted speed 28 mph (“Max: 28 MPH”; listed as Class 2)14
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph14 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law12)
Certification stated UL 2849 stated14

From Aventon's US product page14. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Level (4 REC, 4 ADV): are they legal?

Aventon Level 4 REC electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Level 4 REC

$1,999

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,188 W peak15; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak37
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph15; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph40
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W15; the law says less than 750 W42
Specs
Price $1,999
Motor 750 W rated, 1,188 W peak15
Top assisted speed 28 mph (listed as “Class 2 (Convertible to Class 3)”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law12)15
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph15 (ships as Class 2; Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law12)
Certification stated UL 2849 stated15

From Aventon's US product page15. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Level 4 ADV electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Level 4 ADV

$2,799

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 750 W peak, rated power not stated16; the limit is 750 W37
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph16; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph40
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 750 W peak, rated power not stated16; the limit is 750 W42
Specs
Price $2,799
Motor 750 W peak; rated power not stated16
Top assisted speed 28 mph (Class 1 at 20 mph “out of the box”; “able to be unlocked to a pedal assist speed of 28mph”)16
Throttle None16
Certification stated UL 2849 stated16

From Aventon's US product page16. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Ramblas ADV: is it legal?

Aventon Ramblas ADV electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Ramblas ADV

$2,899

🇺🇸 California Legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price $2,899
Motor 250 W rated, 750 W peak19
Top assisted speed 20 mph (listed as Class 1; Class 1 stops helping at 20 mph by law12)19
Throttle None19
Certification stated UL 2849, UL 2271 stated19

From Aventon's US product page19. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Soltera (3 ADV, 2.5): are they legal?

Aventon Soltera 3 ADV electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Soltera 3 ADV

$1,499

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: No UL 2849 / EN 15194 claim found20; accredited-lab battery test and lab mark is required to sell here38
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found20; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here41
Specs
Price $1,499
Motor 250 W rated, 500 W peak20
Top assisted speed 20 mph (“max speed of 20MPH”; Class 1)20
Throttle None20
Certification stated None stated

From Aventon's US product page20. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Soltera 2.5 electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Soltera 2.5

$1,199

🇺🇸 California Legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price $1,199
Motor 350 W rated, 540 W peak24
Top assisted speed 20 mph (“top speed of 20 mph”; Class 2)24
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph24 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law12)
Certification stated UL 2849, UL 2271 stated24

From Aventon's US product page24. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Aventure (M, 3): are they legal?

Aventon Aventure M electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Aventure M

$2,899

🇺🇸 California Legal as listed   🇺🇸 NYC Not legal as listed   🇺🇸 Florida Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph21; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph40
Specs
Price $2,899
Motor 250 W rated, 750 W peak21
Top assisted speed 28 mph (listed as Class 1, “can also be converted to Class 3”; Class 3 stops helping at 28 mph by law12)21
Throttle None21
Certification stated UL 2849 stated21

From Aventon's US product page21. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Aventure 3 electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Aventure 3

$1,999

🇺🇸 California Can't confirm   🇺🇸 NYC Can't confirm   🇺🇸 Florida Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

  • 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,440 W peak22; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak37
  • 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found22; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here41
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W22; the law says less than 750 W42
Specs
Price $1,999
Motor 750 W (1,440 W in Boost mode)22
Top assisted speed 20 mph (listed as Class 2; Class 2 stops helping at 20 mph by law12)22
Throttle Yes, to 20 mph22 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law12)
Certification stated None stated

From Aventon's US product page22. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Aventon Naro ADV: is it legal?

Aventon Naro ADV electric bike, photo from Aventon

Photo: Aventon

Aventon Naro ADV

€2,599

🇪🇺 EU Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.

Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.

Specs
Price €2,599
Motor 250 W rated, 600 W peak27
Top assisted speed 25 km/h27
Throttle Not stated
Certification stated EN 15194 stated27

From Aventon's EU product page27. “Not stated” means Aventon doesn't publish it.

Can you unlock an Aventon e-bike's speed limit?

What Aventon's own product pages say about it: Aventon Level 4 ADV: 28 mph (Class 1 at 20 mph “out of the box”; “able to be unlocked to a pedal assist speed of 28mph”)16.

What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:

  • 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
  • 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike37. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike37.
  • 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label43.

Are Aventon electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification

Have Aventon e-bike batteries caught fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Aventon, as of the last check.32, 33

Aventon has 1 other regulator record, none about fire:

  • Aventon Sinch.2 (no longer listed): US CPSC recall, 4 Jan 2024, recorded as “crash and injury hazards”. The Class 2 Sinch.2 folding e-bike could accelerate unexpectedly. About 2,300 were sold31.

Are Aventon batteries certified?

What Aventon's own product pages claim, model by model:

  • UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 4 of 5; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 5.
  • EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 7 of 7; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 7.
  • US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 9 of 13; UL 2271 (the battery) on 2 of 13.

A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.

Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say

  • EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate45.
  • California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to38.
  • NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark46.

Aventon e-bike FAQ

Are Aventon e-bikes legal in the UK?

Of the 5 e-bikes on Aventon's UK store, 4 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 3. Abound LR is listed outside the limits on Aventon's own UK page3.

Are Aventon e-bikes UL certified?

UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is claimed on 9 of the 13 models on Aventon's US store, and UL 2271 (the battery) on 21. A claim on a product page isn't a certificate; New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.

Has Aventon had a recall or a safety report?

In the US, CPSC recall (4 January 2024) recorded “crash and injury hazards”: the Class 2 Sinch.2 folding e-bike could accelerate unexpectedly31. About 2,300 were sold31.

Can you unlock an Aventon e-bike's speed limit?

What Aventon's own product pages say about it: Aventon Level 4 ADV: 28 mph (Class 1 at 20 mph “out of the box”; “able to be unlocked to a pedal assist speed of 28mph”)16. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.

Do Aventon e-bikes catch fire?

Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Aventon, as of the last check.32, 33

Are Aventon e-bike batteries certified?

UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 4 of 5; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 5. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 7 of 7; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 7. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 9 of 13; UL 2271 (the battery) on 2 of 13. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.

Similar e-bike brands, checked

An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Aventon) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.

How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources

Aventon's paperwork, by area

Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Aventon publishes; it isn't a safety rating.

Check the UK the EU California New York City Florida
Published spec inside this area’s legal limits ◐ partly
4 of 5 models listed inside the limits
✓
7 of 7 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
3 of 13 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
4 of 13 models listed inside the limits
◐ partly
4 of 13 models listed inside the limits
No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims ✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
✓
None found on the brand’s pages
Area safety standard claimed by the brand ◐ partly
EN 15194 claimed on 4 of 5 models6, 8, 10, 11
✓
EN 15194 claimed on 7 of 7 models26, 27, 7, 9, 28, 29, 30
◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 9 of 13 models13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 21, 23, 24, 25
◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 9 of 13 models13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 21, 23, 24, 25
◐ partly
UL 2849 claimed on 9 of 13 models13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 21, 23, 24, 25
Certificate or test report public (lab + number) ✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
✗ not found
No certificate or test report found in public
Battery standard claimed ✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
✗ not found
No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found
◐ partly
Claimed on 2 of 13 models19, 24
◐ partly
Claimed on 2 of 13 models19, 24
◐ partly
Claimed on 2 of 13 models19, 24
No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years ✓
Nothing on OPSS, checked 2026-10-2532
✗ not found
Not yet checked against this market’s database
✗ not found
CPSC recall, Aventon Sinch.2 (no longer listed), 2024-01-04: “crash and injury hazards”31
✗ not found
CPSC recall, Aventon Sinch.2 (no longer listed), 2024-01-04: “crash and injury hazards”31
✗ not found
CPSC recall, Aventon Sinch.2 (no longer listed), 2024-01-04: “crash and injury hazards”31
Total 3 of 6 3 of 6 2.5 of 6 2.5 of 6 2.5 of 6

What this page is, and isn't

This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Aventon data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.

✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.

Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.

Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.

How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.

Sources

  1. Aventon, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
  3. Aventon UK store, e-bikes
  4. Aventon EU store, e-bikes
  5. Aventon UK, Abound LR product page
  6. Aventon UK, Current EXP product page
  7. Aventon Germany, Current EXP product page (“Motorleistung: 250 W (Peak bis 750 W und bis zu 850 W im Boost Modus)”)
  8. Aventon UK, Current ADV product page
  9. Aventon Germany, Current ADV product page (“Motorleistung: 250 W (Peak bis 750 W und bis zu 850 W im Boost Modus)”)
  10. Aventon UK, Trava EXP product page
  11. Aventon UK, Trava ADV product page
  12. California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
  13. Aventon US, Current LTD product page
  14. Aventon US, Pace 5 REC Step-Through product page
  15. Aventon US, Level 4 REC product page
  16. Aventon US, Level 4 ADV product page
  17. Aventon US, Current EXP product page
  18. Aventon US, Current ADV product page
  19. Aventon US, Ramblas ADV product page
  20. Aventon US, Soltera 3 ADV product page
  21. Aventon US, Aventure M product page
  22. Aventon US, Aventure 3 product page
  23. Aventon US, Abound LR product page
  24. Aventon US, Soltera 2.5 product page
  25. Aventon US, Abound SR product page
  26. Aventon EU, Current LTD product page
  27. Aventon EU, Naro ADV product page
  28. Aventon EU, Current REC product page
  29. Aventon EU, Trava EXP product page
  30. Aventon EU, Trava ADV product page
  31. CPSC, Ride Aventon Recalls Sinch.2 Folding E-Bicycles Due to Crash and Injury Hazards
  32. GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "aventon"
  33. US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "aventon"
  34. Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
  35. Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
  36. Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
  37. California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
  38. California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
  39. California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
  40. NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
  41. City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
  42. Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
  43. Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
  44. Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
  45. European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
  46. NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW

Buying Guides · Which Bike? · Which E-Bike? · E-Bike Laws · Shop by Category · Forum · Members' Area · Marketplace · Brands · About · Advertise

P.S. — Questions? Write to me. The boring-but-important bits: Shipping · Returns · Privacy · Instagram

Velorution · Established 2004

FinalistCycling Media of the YearBikeBiz Awards 2026