Are Engwe electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 36 Engwe e-bikes sold in the UK, the EU and the US. In the UK (£549 to £1,799), 15 of 21 are legal as listed and 6 can't be confirmed from what Engwe publishes. In the EU (€599 to €1,999), 19 of 25 are legal as listed and 6 can't be confirmed from what Engwe publishes. In California ($699 to $1,599), 0 of 10 are legal as listed; 7 can't be confirmed from what Engwe publishes and 3 are listed outside the limits (E26, M20, Eagle). One regulator record names Engwe (UK); it's under battery safety and recalls.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
EP-2 Pro and L20: the brand's page says the speed “can be unlocked”12, 13. Unlocked, a bike is outside the law.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power88
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling88
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)6
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval88
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer89
Engwe has no Australian store45. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Engwe e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Engwe's own product page for all 21 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 25 September 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Engwe's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Engwe's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 24 Sept 202631; CPSC (US), checked 24 Sept 202632; Safety Gate (EU), checked 24 Sept 202633. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Engwe's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Engwe P20, P275 SE, P275 ST and more: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe P20
£799 · €999
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £799 | €999 |
| Motor | 250 W, torque sensor25 | 250 W81 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h25 | 25 km/h81 |
| Throttle | Thumb throttle in box25 | Not stated |
| Battery | 36 V 9.6 Ah25 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | TÜV SÜD EMC attestation, Nov 202426 | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page25 · Engwe's EU product page81. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe P275 SE
£849 · €999
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £849 | €999 |
| Motor | 36 V 250 W, torque sensor22 | 250 W71 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h22 | 25 km/h71 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 36 V 13 Ah22 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | IP5422 | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page22 · Engwe's EU product page71. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe P275 ST
€1,199
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W77 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h77 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's EU product page77. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe P275 Pro
€1,099
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W78 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h78 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's EU product page78. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe EP-2 Boost, EP-2 Pro, EP-2: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe EP-2 Boost
£899 · €1,049
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £899 | €1,049 |
| Motor | 250 W, torque sensor53 | 250 W72 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h53 | 25 km/h72 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 13 Ah53 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page53 · Engwe's EU product page72. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe EP-2 Pro
£949 · €1,049 · $1,399
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed 🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 960 W peak, rated power not stated61; the limit is 750 W90
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 26 mph61; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph93
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 960 W peak, rated power not stated61; the limit is 750 W94
Same name, different bike: the UK and US versions have different motors or speeds. Compare them in Specs.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | 🇺🇸 US version | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £949 | €1,049 | $1,399 |
| Motor | 250 W12 | 250 W80 | 960 W peak61 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h12 | 25 km/h80 | 26 mph, throttle61 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 13 Ah12 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page12 · Engwe's EU product page80 · Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe EP-2 3.0 Boost
£1,099 · €1,299
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the US or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated68
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,099 | €1,299 |
| Motor | 48 V hub, 75 Nm, torque sensor18 | 250 W68 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h18 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 13.5 Ah (648 Wh), 21700 cells with BMS18 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | CE (EN 15194) by TÜV stated; IPX7/6/5, IP5418 | EN 15194 stated68 |
From Engwe's UK product page18 · Engwe's EU product page68. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe EP-2 3.0
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Assists to 28 mph but doesn't say whether it has a throttle or how fast it goes61; throttles must stop at 20 mph90
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph61; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph93
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W61; the law says less than 750 W94
Specs
From Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe L20, L20 Boost, L16: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe L20
£999 · €1,099
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £999 | €1,099 |
| Motor | 250 W hub, 50 Nm13 | 250 W85 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h13 | 25 km/h85 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 13 Ah13 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page13 · Engwe's EU product page85. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe L20 3.0 Boost
£1,049 · €1,399
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,049 | €1,399 |
| Motor | 250 W hub, 75 Nm, torque sensor20 | 250 W73 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h20 | 25 km/h73 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 13.5 Ah (648 Wh), 21700 cells with BMS20 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | EN 15194 stated; IPX7/6/5/420 | EN 15194 stated73 |
From Engwe's UK product page20 · Engwe's EU product page73. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe L20 Boost
£1,099 · €1,149
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,099 | €1,149 |
| Motor | 250 W, 75 Nm boost button14 | 250 W84 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h, "even if the button is pressed"14 | 25 km/h84 |
| Throttle | Throttle mode referred to; speed not stated14 | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 13 Ah | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page14 · Engwe's EU product page84. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe L20 3.0 Pro
£1,399 · €1,699
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,399 | €1,699 |
| Motor | 250 W mid-drive, torque sensor58 | 250 W70 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h58 | 25 km/h70 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | Not stated on UK page | Not stated |
| Certification stated | TÜV stated58 | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page58 · Engwe's EU product page70. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe L20 3.0
$1,599
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 750 W but listed at 1,500 W peak28; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak90
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph28; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph93
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W28; the law says less than 750 W94
Specs
| Price | $1,599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated, 1,500 W peak28 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph28 |
| Certification stated | "UL 2849 Certified by Tüv Rheinland"; LG 21700 cells28 |
From Engwe's US product page28. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe L16
$849
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Top assisted speed not stated61
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated61
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 750 W61; the law says less than 750 W94
Specs
| Price | $849 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rated61 |
| Top assisted speed | Not clearly stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe L20 2.0
$699
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,125 W peak, rated power not stated61; the limit is 750 W90
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated61
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,125 W peak, rated power not stated61; the limit is 750 W94
Specs
| Price | $699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,125 W (peak, as listed)61 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated; throttle61 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe Engine (X, Pro 2.0, Pro 3.0 and more): are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe Engine X
£1,049 · €1,299
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,049 | €1,299 |
| Motor | 250 W, 55 Nm56 | 250 W82 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h56 | 25 km/h82 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 13 Ah56 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page56 · Engwe's EU product page82. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe Engine Pro 2.0
£1,299 · €1,399
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,299 | €1,399 |
| Motor | 250 W, torque sensor57 | Not stated |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated on UK page | 25 km/h83 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 16 Ah option57 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page57 · Engwe's EU product page83. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe Engine Pro 3.0 Boost
£1,699 · €1,699
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the US or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated69
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,699 | €1,699 |
| Motor | 48 V hub, torque sensor19 | 250 W69 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h19 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 15 Ah (720 Wh)19 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | CE (EN 15194) by TÜV stated; IPX7/6/519 | EN 15194 stated69 |
From Engwe's UK product page19 · Engwe's EU product page69. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe Engine Pro
$1,599
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor power not stated (750 W in the title, 1,000 W in the page text)61
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated61
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor power not stated (750 W in the title, 1,000 W in the page text)61
Specs
| Price | $1,599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W (title); page text says 1,000 W61 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe N1 Air, N1 Pro: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe N1 Air
£1,199 · €1,249
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,199 | €1,249 |
| Motor | 250 W in-rotor, 40 Nm, torque sensor23 | 250 W75 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h23 | 25 km/h75 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 36 V 10 Ah, Samsung cells23 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page23 · Engwe's EU product page75. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe N1 Pro
£1,599 · €1,599
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,599 | €1,599 |
| Motor | 250 W Ananda mid-drive, 80 Nm, torque sensor59 | 250 W74 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h59 | 25 km/h74 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 36 V 10 Ah59 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page59 · Engwe's EU product page74. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe LE20: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe LE20 (cargo)
£1,199
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Top assisted speed not stated21
Specs
| Price | £1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 48 V 250 W mid-drive, 100 Nm, torque sensor21 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated on UK page |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Battery | 19.2 Ah, dual option to 1,843 Wh21 |
| Certification stated | "EN15194-certified battery"21 |
From Engwe's UK product page21. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe LE20
€1,495
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €1,495 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W67 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h67 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's EU product page67. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe M20, M1: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe M20
£1,249 · €1,099
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Motor power not stated55
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,249 | €1,099 |
| Motor | Not stated on UK page55 | 250 W86 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h55 | 25 km/h86 |
| Throttle | Throttle referred to in FAQ55 | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 13 Ah, dual option 26 Ah55 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page55 · Engwe's EU product page86. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe M20 2.0
$1,199
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,200 W, not labelled rated or peak61; the limit is 750 W90
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated61
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,200 W, not labelled rated or peak61; the limit is 750 W94
Specs
| Price | $1,199 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,200 W (as listed)61 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated; throttle61 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe M20 3.0
$1,399
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 40 mph in “off-road mode”61; the limit is 28 mph90
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 40 mph in “off-road mode”61; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph93
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 40 mph in “off-road mode”61; the limit is 28 mph94
Specs
| Price | $1,399 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 3,300 W peak61 |
| Top assisted speed | 40 mph in "off-road mode"61 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe M1
€1,299
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W87 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h87 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's EU product page87. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe E26: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe E26
£1,299 · €1,499
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,299 | €1,499 |
| Motor | 250 W, 70 Nm15 | 250 W79 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h; "meets legal requirements for electric commuter bikes in the UK"15 | 25 km/h79 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 16 Ah15 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page15 · Engwe's EU product page79. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe E26 3.0
$1,499
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,200 W61; the limit is 750 W90
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 31 mph61; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph93
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,200 W61; the limit is less than 750 W94
Specs
| Price | $1,499 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,200 W rated, 2,000 W peak, dual motor61 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph throttle / 31 mph61 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe E26 3.0 Pro
€1,899
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €1,899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W63 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h63 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | EN 15194 stated63 |
From Engwe's EU product page63. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe X20, X26/X24/X20: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe X20 / X24 / X26
£1,799
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Motor power not stated24

Photo: Engwe
Engwe X26/X24/X20
€1,999
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Specs
| Price | €1,999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,200 W (X26, X24) or 1,000 W (X20), not labelled rated or peak76 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h76 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's EU product page76. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
More Engwe e-bikes: are they legal?

Photo: Engwe
Engwe T14
£549 · €599
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
UK regulator record: OPSS product safety report 2601-0174, 30 Jan 2026, recorded as “serious risk of fire”. Non-compliant plug and missing conformity documents; consignment rejected at the border and destroyed30.
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £549 | €599 |
| Motor | 250 W hub54 | 250 W65 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 to 25 km/h54 | 25 km/h65 |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 10 Ah54 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated | None stated |
From Engwe's UK product page54 · Engwe's EU product page65. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe Zip
£999 · €1,099
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the US or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated66
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £999 | €1,099 |
| Motor | 250 W rear hub, torque sensor17 | 250 W66 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h17 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 36 V 10 Ah (360 Wh)17 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | CE (EN 15194) by TÜV stated; IPX7/6/517 | EN 15194 stated66 |
From Engwe's UK product page17 · Engwe's EU product page66. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.

Photo: Engwe
Engwe O20 Boost
£1,099 · €1,199
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed 🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the US or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated64
Specs
| 🇬🇧 UK version | 🇪🇺 EU version | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,099 | €1,199 |
| Motor | 250 W hub "(UK Legal)", torque sensor16 | 250 W64 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h16 | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery | 48 V 15 Ah (720 Wh), LG 21700 cells with BMS16 | Not stated |
| Certification stated | CE (EN 15194) by TÜV stated; IPX7/6/5/416 | EN 15194 stated64 |
From Engwe's UK product page16 · Engwe's EU product page64. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Engwe Eagle
$899
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 45 mph61; the limit is 28 mph90
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 45 mph61; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph93
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 45 mph61; the limit is 28 mph94
Specs
| Price | $899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 3,200 W peak mid-drive61 |
| Top assisted speed | 45 mph61 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Engwe's US product page61. “Not stated” means Engwe doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Engwe e-bike's speed limit?
What Engwe's own product pages say about it: Engwe EP-2 Pro: Page says speed "can be unlocked"12; unlocked, it is not an EAPC1; Engwe EP-2 Pro: The bike that made Engwe's name. Fat tyres, folds, and a page that says the speed can be unlocked12.; Engwe L20: Page says speed "can be unlocked"13.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC1. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC1.
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike90. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike90.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label95.
Are Engwe electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Engwe e-bike batteries caught fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Engwe.
- Engwe T14: UK OPSS product safety report 2601-0174, 30 Jan 2026, recorded as “serious risk of fire”. Non-compliant plug and missing conformity documents; consignment rejected at the border and destroyed30.
Are Engwe batteries certified?
What Engwe's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 5 of 21; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 21.
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 6 of 25; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 25.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 1 of 10; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 10.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate33.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to91.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark97.
Engwe e-bike FAQ
Are Engwe bikes legal in the UK?
Yes, as sold. Of the 21 e-bikes on Engwe's UK store, 19 are listed at 250 W12, 16; the M20 and X-series pages don't state the motor rating24, 55. Where a speed is given it is 25 km/h, which meets the UK's EAPC rules1, 12. Unlocking the speed limiter, which two Engwe pages mention, makes the bike a motor vehicle in law1, 12, 13.
Are Engwe batteries safe?
No Engwe battery recall has reached consumers on the UK, EU or US databases as of September 2026. The 2025 models name LG or Samsung 21700 cells with a battery management system and state EN 15194. Charge on a hard surface, never overnight, with the supplied charger.
Are Engwe batteries UL certified?
Engwe claims UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) for the US L20 3.0, certified by TÜV Rheinland28. It does not claim UL 2271 for the battery itself. New York City requires both8.
Are Engwe e-bikes waterproof?
They are rated for rain, not immersion. The 2025 models state IPX7 wiring, IPX6 display and lights, and IPX5 motor, controller and battery box. Older listings give no rating.
Where are Engwe bikes made?
China. The manufacturer on the certificates is Shenzhen Engwe Intelligent Technology Co., Ltd, in Longgang District, Shenzhen, and the UK safety database records the country of origin as China.
Are Engwe bikes reliable?
The evidence is mixed. Trustpilot gives engwe.com 4.7 out of 5 from 209 reviews; the recurring complaints are spare-parts delays and warranty handling38. Motor, battery and frame are covered for 12 months34.
Has Engwe had a recall?
One UK product safety report, in January 2026: a consignment of T14 e-bikes was rejected at the border and destroyed over a non-compliant plug and missing conformity documents30. Nothing on the US or EU databases32, 33.
Can you unlock an Engwe e-bike's speed limit?
What Engwe's own product pages say about it: Engwe EP-2 Pro: Page says speed "can be unlocked"12; unlocked, it is not an EAPC1; Engwe EP-2 Pro: The bike that made Engwe's name. Fat tyres, folds, and a page that says the speed can be unlocked12.; Engwe L20: Page says speed "can be unlocked"13. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC1. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC1.
Do Engwe e-bikes catch fire?
The UK and US safety databases hold 1 fire-related record for Engwe.
Are Engwe e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 5 of 21; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 21. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 6 of 25; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 25. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 1 of 10; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 10. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Fiido e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are ADO e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Heybike e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Lankeleisi e-bikes legal (and safe)?
Opinions and comparisons live in the reviews: 8 Engwe E-Bikes Compared · Best electric bikes for heavier riders.
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 September 2026 (Engwe) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Engwe's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Engwe publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 15 of 21 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 19 of 25 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 10 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 10 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 10 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✗ not found Engwe EP-2 Pro, Engwe L20: pages advertise unlocking or a faster mode12, 13 |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✗ not found Engwe M20 3.0 (US): page advertises a faster mode61 |
✗ not found Engwe M20 3.0 (US): page advertises a faster mode61 |
✗ not found Engwe M20 3.0 (US): page advertises a faster mode61 |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ◐ partly EN 15194 claimed on 5 of 21 models17, 20, 16, 18, 19 |
◐ partly EN 15194 claimed on 6 of 25 models63, 64, 66, 68, 69, 73 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 1 of 10 models28 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 1 of 10 models28 |
◐ partly UL 2849 claimed on 1 of 10 models28 |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ◐ partly Engwe P20: Clause 4.2.15 (EMC) only; "does not allow for CE marking"26 |
◐ partly Engwe P20: Clause 4.2.15 (EMC) only; "does not allow for CE marking"26 |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found OPSS product safety report 2601-0174, Engwe T14, 2026-01-30: “serious risk of fire”30 |
✓ Nothing on Safety Gate, checked 2026-09-2433 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-09-2432 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-09-2432 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-09-2432 |
| Total | 1.5 of 6 | 3.5 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 |
Engwe and UK law, in detail
In Great Britain an electric bike counts as a bicycle if it meets the Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycle rules: you must be 14 or over, the pedals must be able to propel it, the motor's continuous rated power must be no more than 250 W, and the motor must stop helping above 15.5 mph (25 km/h)1. The bike must also be marked with its power output and manufacturer, plus either the battery voltage or the maximum assisted speed1. Anything outside those limits is a motorcycle or moped in law, so it needs registration, tax, a licence, insurance and a motorcycle helmet1. A throttle that moves the bike without pedalling above walking pace (6 km/h) needs type approval1, 4.
Those limits are not changing. The Department for Transport consulted in 2024 on raising the power limit to 500 W and allowing throttles to 15.5 mph, and on 28 January 2025 it announced: "We will not take forward the proposals that were consulted upon"4.
Of the 21 e-bikes on uk.engwe.com, 19 are listed at 250 W (the M20 and X-series pages give no rating24, 55), and where a top speed is stated it is 25 km/h12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 22, 23, 25, 53. Engwe describes the L20's motor as "a legal 250W electric bike motor"13 and the O20 Boost's as "250W Hub Motor (UK Legal)"16. The "Boost" button on the Boost models raises torque, not speed: Engwe's own page says that if the limit is not lifted "the top speed will not exceed 25Km/h even if the button is pressed"14.
Two things need saying plainly. First, Engwe's UK pages for the EP-2 Pro and the L20 both say the speed limit "can be unlocked"12, 13. If you do that, the bike stops being an EAPC and becomes an unregistered, uninsured motor vehicle on a public road1. Second, several UK models ship with a thumb throttle in the box (the P20 lists one25; the L20 Boost, M20 and X-series pages refer to a throttle mode14, 24, 55), and the UK product pages do not say what speed that throttle is limited to. In UK spec it must not move the bike above 6 km/h without pedalling1, 4. Ask Engwe in writing before you buy if that matters to you.
Certifications: what Engwe claims and what is public
"Safe" is not one thing. There is the electrical and fire safety of the battery and charger, there is the mechanical standard the bike is built to, and there is whether anyone has actually checked. The way you check is certification, so here is what Engwe claims and what is visible.
EN 15194 is the European standard for electrically power assisted cycles, covering the electrical system, the battery, the charger and mechanical safety together47. Engwe's UK pages for its 2025 models carry the line "Certification: CE (EN15194) by TUV certification" on the Zip17, the O20 Boost16, the EP-2 3.0 Boost18 and the Engine Pro 3.0 Boost19. The LE20 page refers to an "EN15194-certified battery"21. I could not find a certificate document on Engwe's own sites. What does exist in public is a TÜV SÜD attestation for the P20, dated 13 November 2024, tested to "EN 15194:2017/A1:2023 Clause 4.2.15": it covers electromagnetic compatibility only and states in terms that it "does not allow for CE marking"26. A 2022 certificate from a Shenzhen test lab covers the P26's charger against EMC standards27. So the paper trail that is visible is narrower than the phrase "CE (EN15194) by TUV" suggests. That is not unusual for this end of the market, but it is worth knowing.
The UK has its own mark, UKCA, which replaced CE for most goods sold in Great Britain, though CE marking continues to be recognised for many product categories46. Engwe's UK product pages mention CE and do not mention UKCA16, 17.
| Standard | What it covers | Engwe's position | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| CE mark / EN 15194 (EU e-bike standard) | Electrical safety, battery, charger, mechanical requirements for pedelecs up to 250 W / 25 km/h47 | Stated as "CE (EN15194) by TUV certification" on the Zip, O20 Boost, EP-2 3.0 Boost and Engine Pro 3.0 Boost UK pages16, 17, 18, 19; "EN15194-certified battery" on the LE2021 | A TÜV SÜD attestation for the P20 covering EN 15194 clause 4.2.15 (EMC) only, which "does not allow for CE marking"26. No full certificate published by Engwe that I could find |
| UKCA (Great Britain) | The GB conformity mark that took over from CE for most goods46 | Not mentioned on Engwe's UK product pages16, 17 | None found |
| UL 2849 (US e-bike electrical system) | Fire and electrical safety of the whole e-bike electrical system: battery, charger, motor, wiring29. Required for sale in New York City since 16 Sept 20238 | "UL 2849 Certified by Tüv Rheinland" stated on the US L20 3.0 page28; the US EP-2 Pro page makes no certification claim28 | Claimed on us.engwe.com and in third-party marketplace listings. No certificate number published |
| UL 2271 (battery) | The battery pack itself. Required alongside UL 2849 in New York City8 | Not claimed on any Engwe page I found | None found |
| Ingress protection (IP rating) | Resistance to water and dust; see the waterproofing section | IPX7 wiring, IPX6 display and lights, IPX5 motor, controller and battery box on the Engine Pro 3.0 Boost, O20 Boost, EP-2 3.0 Boost and Zip16, 17, 18, 19; IP54 on the P275 SE22; IP65 on the X-series24 | Stated by Engwe; no test report published |
| BS 1362 plug (UK) | The dimensions and fusing of a UK 3-pin plug48 | A T14 consignment failed this in January 202630 | OPSS product safety report 2601-017430 |
Are Engwe batteries safe?
Every Engwe battery is lithium-ion, and the numbers depend on the model: from 36 V 10 Ah (360 Wh) on the Zip17 and N1 Air23 to 48 V 15 Ah (720 Wh) on the O20 Boost and Engine Pro 3.0 Boost16, 19, with dual-battery options up to 1,843 Wh on the LE2021. On its 2025 models Engwe names the cells: "21700-LG Cells with BMS" on the O20 Boost16, "21700 Cells with BMS" on the EP-2 3.0 Boost and L20 3.0 Boost18, 20, and "SAMSUNG" cells on the N1 Air23. A BMS is the battery management system that stops the pack over-charging or over-discharging. Older listings such as the EP-2 Pro and L20 do not name the cell supplier12, 13.
Are they UL certified? For the battery itself, UL 2271, I found no claim anywhere on Engwe's sites. For the bike's electrical system, UL 2849, Engwe's US store says the L20 3.0 is certified by TÜV Rheinland28. That claim does not appear on the UK pages for the UK-spec bikes, which cite EN 15194 instead16. If you are buying in New York City, ask for the certificate number before you pay, because the law there requires both8.
Has an Engwe battery caught fire? I found no fire-service incident report naming Engwe, and Engwe does not appear on the UK product recall database except for the T14 report above30, 31, nor on the US CPSC recall list32, nor on the EU Safety Gate alerts I could search33. One caution: in July 2024 an owner posted on a forum a notice they said came from Engwe asking Engine Pro 2.0 owners to destroy their 16 Ah battery and claim a replacement, describing "a hidden danger that we think may exist"51. Engwe has never published that notice, no regulator lists it, and I could not verify it independently. I include it because you will find it if you search, and you should know what it is and isn't.
Whatever the certificate says, charging habits matter more than most people think. The London Fire Brigade's advice is to charge on a hard surface away from exits, never overnight or unattended, with the charger that came with the bike, and to stop using a battery that has been dropped or damaged44. Engwe publishes its own charging guidance, which says the same52.
Are Engwe e-bikes waterproof?
No e-bike is waterproof in the sense of submersible, and Engwe does not claim it. What it publishes is a set of ingress protection ratings per component. On the Engine Pro 3.0 Boost, O20 Boost, EP-2 3.0 Boost and Zip: IPX7 for the wiring (temporary immersion), IPX6 for the display and lights (powerful jets), IPX5 for the motor, controller and battery box (water jets)16, 17, 18, 19. The P275 SE is rated IP54, which means splash-resistant22, and the X-series IP6524. Older listings such as the EP-2 Pro and L20 give no rating at all12, 13.
In practice that means rain and wet roads are fine, pressure-washing is not, and the charging port and battery contacts should be dry before you plug in. Engwe's warranty does not cover damage from "improper use, storage"35, so keep it out of standing water.
Recalls and regulator records
I searched the three databases that matter for a bike sold in the UK, EU and US on 24 September 202631, 32, 33. One entry exists, and it is the T14 border seizure described above30. Nothing else. The search covers only what regulators have published; it says nothing about faults handled quietly under warranty.
| Database | Checked | Result |
|---|---|---|
| UK: OPSS product safety alerts, reports and recalls31 | 24 Sept 2026 | One result: product safety report 2601-0174, Engwe T14 e-bike, "serious risk of fire" (OPSS's wording), non-compliant plug and missing conformity documents; consignment rejected at the border and destroyed, 30 Jan 202630 |
| USA: CPSC recalls32 | 24 Sept 2026 | No Engwe recall listed |
| EU: Safety Gate rapid alerts33 | 24 Sept 2026 | No Engwe alert found in the public search |
| Manufacturer notices | 24 Sept 2026 | None published by Engwe. One unverified owner-posted notice about Engine Pro 2.0 batteries, July 202451 |
Are Engwe e-bikes reliable?
Reliability is where the evidence is thinnest, because nobody publishes failure rates. What exists is the warranty, the review score, and what independent testers found when they rode the bikes for a while.
The warranty on the UK store is headlined "1-2 Year Warranty"35. The itemised terms, published on Engwe's US warranty page, give 12 months on the frame, forks, handlebars, motor and battery, 6 months on lights, 3 months on brake rotors, pads and cables, and 1 month on tyres34. It excludes anything the owner has modified or repaired themselves35, and Engwe sells a 12-month extension covering motor, battery and other failures "caused by non-human damage"36. Warranty claims go by email with photos or video35.
On Trustpilot, engwe.com scores 4.7 out of 5 from 209 reviews, with 94% five-star and 3% one-star as of 24 September 202638. The praise is for build quality, support and delivery; the recurring complaints are delays of two to four weeks for spare parts shipped from China, drawn-out warranty claims, and parts arriving damaged38. The separate uk.engwe.com Trustpilot profile has no reviews38.
The independent long-term tests are consistent with that. ebiketips rode the P275 SE for two months in 2025: assistance cut out at 15.5 mph as it should, no punctures, but brake fade on steep descents and lights too weak for unlit lanes39. Its LE20 cargo test found the chain "popped a link" and the kickstand too narrow, on a bike weighing 30 kg40. BikeRadar's M20 test in 2023 found exposed wiring at the headlamp junction and a charger indicator that could not be trusted, on a 34.8 kg bike41. None of those is a safety failure; all of them are the kind of finishing that separates a £1,000 bike from a £2,500 one.
Who makes Engwe, and where
Engwe is a Shenzhen company. The certificates that exist in public name Shenzhen Engwe Intelligent Technology Co., Ltd as the manufacturer, at an address in Longgang District27, and a 2024 TÜV SÜD attestation gives a group company at the same building26. The bikes are made in China: the UK product safety database records the T14's country of origin as China30.
Engwe sells through its own regional web stores rather than bike shops, and warns that bikes bought from anyone else are "not entitled to ENGWE warranty coverage"37. The UK store's terms and conditions do not name the company you are contracting with50. Two UK-registered companies appeared in July 2025, Engwe Official London Ltd and Engwe Repair Centre Ltd, both at St Swithin's Lane in the City of London42, 43. That is the closest thing to a UK presence I could find on the record.
| Legal entity | Shenzhen Engwe Intelligent Technology Co., Ltd (named as manufacturer on a 2022 EMC certificate)27; a TÜV SÜD attestation from 2024 names the holder as Shenzhen Engwe Industry (Group) Co., Ltd at the same building26 |
|---|---|
| Address | Bantian Street, Longgang District, Shenzhen, China26, 27 |
| Founded | Engwe's about page says the founders set up the company "five years" after a university competition; it does not give a year45 |
| Made in | China. The UK safety report on the T14 records the country of origin as China30, and both certificates give a Shenzhen manufacturer address26, 27 |
| Stores | Separate regional Shopify stores: uk.engwe.com (UK), engwe.com (EU), us.engwe.com (US), plus country sites for Germany, France, Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, Poland, Denmark and Sweden45 |
| UK responsible person | Not stated. Engwe's UK terms and conditions name no company, address or company number50. Two UK companies, Engwe Official London Ltd and Engwe Repair Centre Ltd, were incorporated on 8 July 2025 at the same London address, registered for vehicle-parts retail and vehicle repair respectively42, 43 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 September 2026 (Engwe data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- GOV.UK, Electric bike rules (EAPC requirements)
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983
- The Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles (Amendment) Regulations 2015
- Department for Transport, Proposed changes to legislation for electrically assisted pedal cycles: outcome, 28 Jan 2025
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- 15 U.S.C. §2085, Low-speed electric bicycles
- City of New York, new enforcement powers to prevent sale of uncertified batteries and micromobility devices (Local Law 39 of 2023)
- PeopleForBikes, Electric bike policies and laws (three-class system)
- Canada Gazette Part II, SOR/2020-22, Regulations Amending Certain Regulations Made Under the Motor Vehicle Safety Act
- Transport for NSW, E-bikes
- Engwe UK, EP-2 Pro product page
- Engwe UK, L20 product page
- Engwe UK, L20 Boost product page
- Engwe UK, E26 product page
- Engwe UK, O20 Boost product page
- Engwe UK, Zip product page
- Engwe UK, EP-2 3.0 Boost product page
- Engwe UK, Engine Pro 3.0 Boost product page
- Engwe UK, L20 3.0 Boost product page
- Engwe UK, LE20 product page
- Engwe UK, P275 SE product page
- Engwe UK, N1 Air product page
- Engwe UK, X20/X24/X26 product page
- Engwe UK, P20 product page
- TÜV SÜD Product Service, Attestation of Conformity No. E8A 122594 0007, Engwe P20, 13 Nov 2024 (copy hosted by les-velos-electriques.com)
- JieKe (Shenzhen) Testing Technology, Certificate of Conformity JKZ20230105-AC, Engwe P26 charger EMC, 6 Jan 2022 (copy hosted by planetenumerique.com)
- Engwe USA, L20 3.0 product page (UL 2849 statement, 750 W, 28 mph)
- UL Solutions, E-bikes certification: evaluating and testing to UL 2849
- Office for Product Safety and Standards, Product Safety Report: Engwe T14 E-Bike (2601-0174), 30 Jan 2026
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "engwe"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls
- European Commission, Safety Gate alerts search
- Engwe USA, Warranty (itemised warranty periods)
- Engwe UK, Warranty
- Engwe UK, Extended warranty service terms
- Engwe UK, Unauthorised and fake seller warning
- Trustpilot, Engwe (engwe.com) and Uk Engwe (uk.engwe.com) profiles
- ebiketips (road.cc), Engwe P275 SE review, 22 Oct 2025
- ebiketips (road.cc), Engwe LE20 review, 7 Feb 2025
- BikeRadar, Engwe M20 review, 31 Aug 2023
- Companies House, ENGWE OFFICIAL LONDON LTD (16569659)
- Companies House, ENGWE REPAIR CENTRE LTD (16569692)
- London Fire Brigade, E-bikes and e-scooters: fire safety advice
- Engwe, About us
- GOV.UK, Using the UKCA marking
- BSI, BS EN 15194 Cycles. Electrically power assisted cycles. EPAC bicycles
- The Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994
- The Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008
- Engwe UK, Terms of service
- Zeus Ebikes, Engwe eBikes in Canada: brand profile and the battery field action (secondary source quoting a July 2024 forum post; unverified)
- Engwe, Safe charging: how to prevent e-bike battery fires
- Engwe UK, EP-2 Boost product page
- Engwe UK, T14 product page
- Engwe UK, M20 product page
- Engwe UK, Engine X product page
- Engwe UK, Engine Pro 2.0 product page
- Engwe UK, L20 3.0 Pro product page
- Engwe UK, N1 Pro product page
- PeopleForBikes, State electric bicycle laws comparison (three-class states, age, helmet and path rules)
- Engwe USA, e-bikes collection (model pages for the figures quoted)
- Engwe EU (engwe.com), e-bikes collection
- Engwe EU, E26 3.0 Pro product page
- Engwe EU, O20 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, T14 product page
- Engwe EU, Zip product page
- Engwe EU, LE20 product page
- Engwe EU, EP-2 3.0 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, Engine Pro 3.0 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, L20 3.0 Pro product page
- Engwe EU, P275 SE product page
- Engwe EU, EP-2 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, L20 3.0 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, N1 Pro product page
- Engwe EU, N1 Air product page
- Engwe EU, X26/X24/X20 product page
- Engwe EU, P275 ST product page
- Engwe EU, P275 Pro product page
- Engwe EU, E26 product page
- Engwe EU, EP-2 Pro product page
- Engwe EU, P20 product page
- Engwe EU, Engine X product page
- Engwe EU, Engine Pro 2.0 product page
- Engwe EU, L20 Boost product page
- Engwe EU, L20 product page
- Engwe EU, M20 product page
- Engwe EU, M1 product page
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW