Are Eskute electric bikes legal (and safe)?

Legal e-bike checker · Brands
This page checks 32 Eskute e-bikes sold in the UK, the EU and the US. In the UK (£369 to £509), 2 of 3 are legal as listed and 1 can't be confirmed from what Eskute publishes. In the EU (€699 to €1,799), 3 of 6 are legal as listed and 3 can't be confirmed from what Eskute publishes. In California ($469 to $1,699), 0 of 23 are legal as listed; 10 can't be confirmed from what Eskute publishes and 13 are listed outside the limits (V200 Pro, V100 Pro, NOVA RR and more). One regulator record names Eskute (UK); it's under battery safety and recalls.
Independent: no brand pays to be listed here, and none can change a mark. Some buttons are affiliate links (how this site earns). Riding in the UK? UK e-bike laws in full.
The law in the EU, in short
- Motor: 250 W max continuous rated power41
- Motor stops helping at: 25 km/h, and whenever you stop pedalling41
- Throttle: Start-up or push assist only (to 6 km/h in Germany)42
- Faster or stronger: A powered cycle or moped: needs type approval41
- Battery, from Feb 2027: Replaceable by an independent repairer43
Eskute has no Australian store1. The rules there are on the Queensland page.
How I check Eskute e-bikes
- The bikes. I read Eskute's own product page for all 3 e-bikes it sells in the UK, on 25 October 2026, and note four things: the motor's power, the speed the motor helps up to, whether there's a throttle and how fast it goes, and any safety certification claimed.
- Gaps. Where a product page leaves a figure out, I look in Eskute's other published documents: its buying guides, FAQs, manuals and other regional stores. Whatever I use is linked next to the figure. I never estimate a figure or borrow one from a reviewer.
- The law. Each figure is set against the law in the UK, read from the official source. Power is compared as continuous (rated) power, because that's what the law limits. Where a brand only gives a peak figure, that's a ?, not a ✓.
- Unlocking. If Eskute's own page says a bike can be unlocked, or has a mode faster than the legal limit, that's recorded, word for word.
- Certification. A standard named on a product page (UL 2849, UL 2271, EN 15194) counts as a claim, not proof. Where a certificate is public, the paperwork score says so.
- Recalls and safety reports. I search OPSS (UK), checked 25 Oct 202639; CPSC (US), checked 25 Oct 202640. Anything found is quoted as the regulator wrote it.
- The marks. ✓ means Eskute's published figures sit inside the limits. ? means a figure the law depends on isn't published, or the law itself is unclear. ✗ means the brand lists it outside the limits. It's an analysis of documents, not a test ride and not an opinion.
- Updates. Prices and product pages are re-checked on the 1st of every month. If something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com and I'll re-check it within five working days.
Eskute M100+, M300F, M200F and more: are they legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute M100+ (2025)
£509
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | £509 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W5 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h5 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's UK product page5. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute M300F
$630
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute M200F
$660
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 31 mph24; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 31 mph24; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 31 mph24; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $660 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,500 W peak; rated power not stated24 |
| Top assisted speed | 31 mph24 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated24 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page24. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute M200 Plus
$519
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,200 W peak, rated power not stated27; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph27; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,200 W peak, rated power not stated27; the limit is 750 W49
Specs
| Price | $519 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,200 W peak; rated power not stated27 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph27 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated27 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page27. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute M200
$469
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,200 W peak, rated power not stated30; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph30; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,200 W peak, rated power not stated30; the limit is 750 W49
Specs
| Price | $469 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,200 W peak; rated power not stated30 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph30 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated30 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page30. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Eskute F200, F100: are they legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute F200 Mini
£379
🇬🇧 UK ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | £379 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W6 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h6 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's UK product page6. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute F100 Mini
£369
🇬🇧 UK ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the EU, the US or Australia.
- 🇬🇧 the UK: Top assisted speed not stated7
Specs
| Price | £369 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W7 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's UK product page7. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Eskute V200 Pro, V100 Pro, V200 and more: are they legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute V200 Pro
$849
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 40 mph9; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 40 mph9; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 40 mph9; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $849 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 2,000 W peak; rated power not stated9 |
| Top assisted speed | 40 mph9 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated9 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page9. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute V100 Pro
$599
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 30 mph10; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 30 mph10; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 30 mph10; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $599 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,500 W peak; rated power not stated10 |
| Top assisted speed | 30 mph10 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated10 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page10. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute V200
$750
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 32 mph25; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 32 mph25; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 32 mph25; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $750 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500–1,300 W, not labelled rated or peak25 |
| Top assisted speed | 32 mph25 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated25 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page25. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute V100 Mini
$560
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,500 W, not labelled rated or peak28; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph28; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,500 W, not labelled rated or peak28; the limit is 750 W49
Specs
| Price | $560 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500–1,500 W, not labelled rated or peak28 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph28 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated28 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page28. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute V202
€899
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated35
Specs
| Price | €899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W35 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's EU product page35. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Eskute RT: is it legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute RT 72
$1,699
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 6,500 W peak, rated power not stated11; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated11
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 6,500 W peak, rated power not stated11; the limit is 750 W49
Specs
| Price | $1,699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 6,500 W peak; rated power not stated11 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated11 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page11. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Eskute NOVA (RR, 01, Beast and more): are they legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute NOVA RR
$1,299
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 50 mph12; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 50 mph12; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 50 mph12; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 5,500 W peak; rated power not stated12 |
| Top assisted speed | 50 mph12 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated12 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page12. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute NOVA 01
$1,000
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 37 mph14; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 37 mph14; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 37 mph14; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $1,000 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 2,500 W peak; rated power not stated14 |
| Top assisted speed | 37 mph14 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated14 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page14. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute NOVA Beast
$1,299
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 50 mph16; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 50 mph16; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 50 mph16; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $1,299 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 5,500 W peak16 |
| Top assisted speed | 50 mph16 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page16. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute NOVA
$999
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 38 mph17; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 38 mph17; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 38 mph17; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $999 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 3,500 W peak; rated power not stated17 |
| Top assisted speed | 38 mph17 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page17. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute NOVA X
$899
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 4,000 W peak, rated power not stated22; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated22
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 4,000 W peak, rated power not stated22; the limit is 750 W49
Specs
| Price | $899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 4,000 W peak; rated power not stated22 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page22. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute NOVA Mini
$899
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 38 mph26; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 38 mph26; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 38 mph26; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 3,500 W peak; rated power not stated26 |
| Top assisted speed | 38 mph26 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page26. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Eskute T300 Pro, T300 Max, T300 and more: are they legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute T300 Pro (trike)
$1,099
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 1,200 W peak13; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found13; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here48
Specs
| Price | $1,099 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 1,200 W peak13 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph (listed as “E-Bike Class: Class 2”; Class 2 stops helping at 20 mph by law8)13 |
| Throttle | Yes, to 20 mph13 (Class 2 throttles stop at 20 mph by law8) |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page13. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute T300 Max (trike)
$900
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,200 W peak, rated power not stated15; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found15; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here48
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,200 W peak, rated power not stated15; the limit is 750 W49
Specs
| Price | $900 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,200 W peak; rated power not stated15 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph (listed as “E-Bike Class: Class 2”; Class 2 stops helping at 20 mph by law8)15 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page15. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute T300 (trike)
$600
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 1,200 W peak, rated power not stated31; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: No UL 2849 claim found31; UL 2849 certification is required to sell here48
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 1,200 W peak, rated power not stated31; the limit is 750 W49
Specs
| Price | $600 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,200 W peak; rated power not stated31 |
| Top assisted speed | 18 mph31 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page31. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute T302 Pro (trike)
€1,799
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated34
Specs
| Price | €1,799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W34 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's EU product page34. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Eskute C300R SO, C300R ST, C202 Step-Over and more: are they legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute C300R SO
$899
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Listed at 32 mph19; the limit is 28 mph44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 32 mph19; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Listed at 32 mph19; the limit is 28 mph49
Specs
| Price | $899 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 1,500 W peak; rated power not stated19 |
| Top assisted speed | 32 mph19 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated19 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page19. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute C300R ST
$899
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute C202 Step-Over
€799
🇪🇺 EU ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
- 🇪🇺 the EU: Top assisted speed not stated32
Specs
| Price | €799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W32 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's EU product page32. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute C100 Plus
€699
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
UK regulator record: OPSS product safety report 2610-0010, 13 Oct 2026, recorded as “serious risk of injuries”. It had an unfitted single-action throttle that let it run at up to 24.9 km/h without pedalling, and inadequate welds; the import was rejected at the border38.
Specs
| Price | €699 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W33 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h33 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's EU product page33. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute C202
€799
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €799 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W36 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h36 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's EU product page36. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Eskute D300 Adventurer, D200, D202: are they legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute D300 Adventurer
$639
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute D200
$529
🇺🇸 California ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 NYC ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 Florida ?Can't confirm
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Rated 500 W but listed at 1,200 W peak29; the law sets 750 W without saying rated or peak44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Listed at 28 mph29; NYC shops may not sell e-bikes over 25 mph47
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Has a throttle; its top speed isn't stated29. The throttle limit is 20 mph49
Specs
| Price | $529 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rated, 1,200 W peak29 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph29 |
| Throttle | Yes; top speed not stated29 |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page29. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.

Photo: Eskute
Eskute D202
€854
🇪🇺 EU ✓Legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the US or Australia.
Listed inside the limits everywhere it's sold.
Specs
| Price | €854 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 250 W37 |
| Top assisted speed | 25 km/h37 |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's EU product page37. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Eskute RTX: is it legal?

Photo: Eskute
Eskute RTX
$1,689
🇺🇸 California ✗Not legal as listed 🇺🇸 NYC ?Can't confirm 🇺🇸 Florida ✗Not legal as listed
Not sold in the UK, the EU or Australia.
- 🇺🇸 California: Motor listed at 6,500 W23; the limit is 750 W44
- 🇺🇸 New York City: Top assisted speed not stated23
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Motor listed at 6,500 W23; the limit is less than 750 W49
Specs
| Price | $1,689 |
|---|---|
| Motor | 6500 W23 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated |
| Throttle | Not stated |
| Certification stated | None stated |
From Eskute's US product page23. “Not stated” means Eskute doesn't publish it.
Can you unlock an Eskute e-bike's speed limit?
None of Eskute's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit.
What the law says about a bike that's been unlocked or modified:
- 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
- 🇺🇸 California: Any vehicle the maker intends to be modifiable beyond 20 mph on motor power alone or beyond 750 W can't be sold or labelled as an e-bike44. A bike modified beyond 20 mph on motor alone, beyond 750 W, or with its pedals removed is no longer an e-bike44.
- 🇺🇸 Florida: Not allowed: modified to change its speed without replacing the class label50.
Are Eskute electric bikes safe? Battery fires, recalls and certification
Have Eskute e-bike batteries caught fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Eskute, as of the last check.39, 40
Eskute has 1 other regulator record, none about fire:
- Eskute C100 Plus: UK OPSS product safety report 2610-0010, 13 Oct 2026, recorded as “serious risk of injuries”. It had an unfitted single-action throttle that let it run at up to 24.9 km/h without pedalling, and inadequate welds; the import was rejected at the border38.
Are Eskute batteries certified?
What Eskute's own product pages claim, model by model:
- UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3.
- EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 6; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 6.
- US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 23; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 23.
A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate. Each model's claim is in its Specs, linked to the page it came from.
Charging and battery safety: what the authorities say
- EU product alerts, including e-bike and battery recalls, are published on the European Commission's Safety Gate52.
- California's battery rule only counts a test done by an accredited lab, and the bike must carry that lab's mark and the standard it was tested to45.
- NSW made e-bikes, their lithium batteries and their chargers 'declared electrical articles', which is why sellers now need certificates and a safety mark53.
Eskute e-bike FAQ
Are Eskute e-bikes legal in the UK?
Of the 3 e-bikes on Eskute's UK store, 2 are listed inside the UK limits of 250 W and 15.5 mph2, 1. For 1 more, a figure the law depends on, such as a throttle's top speed or the motor's rated power, isn't published1.
Are Eskute e-bikes UL certified?
None of Eskute's US product pages claim UL 2849 or UL 2271. New York City requires UL 2849 for sale.
Has Eskute had a recall or a safety report?
In the UK, OPSS product safety report 2610-0010 (13 October 2026) recorded “serious risk of injuries”: it had an unfitted single-action throttle that let it run at up to 24.9 km/h without pedalling, and inadequate welds; the import was rejected at the border38.
Can you unlock an Eskute e-bike's speed limit?
None of Eskute's product pages, as read on 25 October 2026, offer a way to raise the speed limit. 🇬🇧 the UK: An unlocked bike that assists above 15.5 mph is no longer an EAPC2. Licence, tax, insurance: Not needed for an EAPC2.
Do Eskute e-bikes catch fire?
Neither the UK (OPSS) nor the US (CPSC) safety database holds a fire-related recall or report for Eskute, as of the last check.39, 40
Are Eskute e-bike batteries certified?
UK models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 3; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 3. EU models: EN 15194 (the e-bike safety standard) on 0 of 6; EN 50604-1 (the battery) on 0 of 6. US models: UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) on 0 of 23; UL 2271 (the battery) on 0 of 23. A standard named on a product page is a claim, not a certificate.
Similar e-bike brands, checked
- Are Engwe e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Fiido e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are ADO e-bikes legal (and safe)?
- Are Heybike e-bikes legal (and safe)?
An analysis of published documents, checked 25 October 2026 (Eskute) and 23 October 2026 (law): not legal advice, and not an opinion on any brand. How I checked, and every source.
How I checked: the full rules, paperwork and sources
Eskute's paperwork, by area
Six checks, each answered by a public document. This counts what Eskute publishes; it isn't a safety rating.
| Check | the UK | the EU | California | New York City | Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published spec inside this area’s legal limits | ◐ partly 2 of 3 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 3 of 6 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 23 models listed inside the limits |
✗ not found 0 of 23 models listed inside the limits |
◐ partly 1 of 23 models listed inside the limits |
| No “unlock”, “off-road mode” or derestriction claims | ✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
✓ None found on the brand’s pages |
| Area safety standard claimed by the brand | ✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found EN 15194 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
✗ not found UL 2849 not claimed on any model |
| Certificate or test report public (lab + number) | ✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
✗ not found No certificate or test report found in public |
| Battery standard claimed | ✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
✗ not found No UL 2271, EN 50604-1 or IEC 62133-2 claim found |
| No recall or regulator safety report here in 3 years | ✗ not found OPSS product safety report 2610-0010, Eskute C100 Plus, 2026-10-13: “serious risk of injuries”38 |
✗ not found Not yet checked against this market’s database |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2540 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2540 |
✓ Nothing on CPSC, checked 2026-10-2540 |
| Total | 1.5 of 6 | 1.5 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2 of 6 | 2.5 of 6 |
What this page is, and isn't
This page is an analysis of published documents: the law and official guidance from each area’s government, and what each brand publishes about its own bikes. It is not legal advice, and it is not an opinion on any brand or bike. Everything was checked on 25 October 2026 (Eskute data) and 23 October 2026 (law), and every fact links to its source.
✓ Legal as listed means the brand's own published specification for that market sits inside the legal limits. It does not mean I have tested the bike or seen its certificates, unless the page says so. ? Can't confirm means a figure the law depends on isn't published, so it can't be confirmed either way. Paperwork counts which documents are public. It is not a safety rating.
Laws change, and cities and councils can add their own rules. Before you ride, check the official source.
Corrections. If you make one of these bikes and something here is wrong, send the document to hello@velorution.com. I'll re-check it within five working days and update the page.
How this site earns. Some “Visit store” buttons are affiliate links. If you buy, Velorution may earn a commission at no cost to you. A brand can't buy a better mark. A store button only appears where a bike is marked ✓, and never on a model with a regulator safety record from the last three years.
Sources
- Eskute, store directory (regional stores checked 25 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Riding an electric bike: the rules
- Eskute US store, e-bikes
- Eskute EU store, e-bikes
- Eskute UK, M100+ (2025) product page
- Eskute UK, F200 Mini product page
- Eskute UK, F100 Mini product page
- California Vehicle Code §312.5: the three classes of e-bike
- Eskute US, V200 Pro product page
- Eskute US, V100 Pro product page
- Eskute US, RT 72 product page
- Eskute US, NOVA RR product page
- Eskute US, T300 Pro (trike) product page
- Eskute US, NOVA 01 product page
- Eskute US, T300 Max (trike) product page
- Eskute US, NOVA Beast product page
- Eskute US, NOVA product page
- Eskute US, M300F product page
- Eskute US, C300R SO product page
- Eskute US, C300R ST product page
- Eskute US, D300 Adventurer product page
- Eskute US, NOVA X product page
- Eskute US, RTX product page
- Eskute US, M200F product page
- Eskute US, V200 product page
- Eskute US, NOVA Mini product page
- Eskute US, M200 Plus product page
- Eskute US, V100 Mini product page
- Eskute US, D200 product page
- Eskute US, M200 product page
- Eskute US, T300 (trike) product page
- Eskute EU, C202 Step-Over product page
- Eskute EU, C100 Plus product page
- Eskute EU, T302 Pro (trike) product page
- Eskute EU, V202 product page
- Eskute EU, C202 product page
- Eskute EU, D202 product page
- OPSS, Product Safety Report: Eskute C100 Plus Electric Bicycle (2610-0010)
- GOV.UK, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls: search for "eskute"
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, Recalls: search for "eskute"
- Regulation (EU) No 168/2013, Article 2(2)(h) and Annex I (EUR-Lex)
- Straßenverkehrsgesetz (StVG) §1(3), Germany
- Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries, Articles 11 and 20 (EUR-Lex)
- California Vehicle Code §312.5 (e-bike definition and classes, as amended by SB 1271)
- California Health and Safety Code §26302 (battery testing for sale, operative 1 Jan 2026)
- California Vehicle Code §21213 (Class 3 age and helmet)
- NYC DOT, Electric Bicycles & More
- City of New York, enforcement of Local Law 39 of 2023 (UL 2849 / UL 2271)
- Florida Statutes §316.003(23), Electric bicycle definition
- Florida Statutes §316.20655, Electric bicycle regulations
- Florida Statutes §316.2065, Bicycle regulations (helmet under 16)
- European Commission, Safety Gate: the rapid alert system for dangerous non-food products
- NSW Government, Selling or renting out e-bikes and other e-micromobility products in NSW